We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - fantastic location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel - fantastic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Arrived at Il Guelfo Bianco in late September by train from Venice. The hotel is located a short walk from the train station (10-12 walk with luggage) and is easy to find. We requested a "quiet room" prior to our arrival, which is exactly what we received - our room overlooked a central courtyard and with the windows and shutters closed we never heard a thing. My guess is that the rooms facing the street would be quiet as well as the street is not that busy. Our room was very clean and included free wireless access to the Internet. There is also a common computer on the main floor if you require. The morning breakfasts were very good and the food was plentiful. We found the front desk staff very helpful prior to our arrival reserving tickets for Academia (Statue of David) and helping us with directions and restaurant recommendations once we arrived. The location of the hotel is fantastic. All of the major sites are very short walks and we never felt unsafe. I cannot recall ever walking the halls of any other hotel I have been in, but that's exactly what we did at Il Guelfo Bianco. The hotel has very interesting art and period furniture throughout. I highly recommend this hotel for your next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbrent_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    490
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
536
1,097
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of a week in Florence and Venice, and we had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Our room, a suite, was beautifully decorated with thoughtful attention to detail - the gloriously frescoed ceiling, the champagne lace curtains covering the shuttered windows, the beautiful carpets and the bed.. it was fabulous.

We loved the art and the decor of the hotel, and were very happy with our breakfast, particularly the delicious bruschetta's topped with a local organic olive oil. We also had a very nice lunch in the attached bistro.. we're vegetarian, and we appreciated that there were several options on the menu that catered for this.

The staff are personally very warm and friendly, and were always willing to help whenever we asked for it.

We'll be back.

Greg & Uri

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gc1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Old-world charm with a contemporary feel, the beautiful accommodations and organic breakfast items were a big hit with the three other women I was traveling with. We are all retired teachers, and we ended our dream Tuscany vacation by spending three nights in Florence at Il Guelfo Bianco. What an unexpected treat! Located in central Florence, within a few blocks of all the main sites and the railway station. Each room is unique, with lovely updated bathrooms with fresh green tile and the latest in plumbing fixtures. Front desk staff arranged for a guide (Simone) to take us to Cinque Terre for the day. We felt safe and well-cared for on this outing and would recommend letting the front desk help you with any arrangements for outings that you may want to take. Hotel is near shopping and quaint restaurants that are easy to find if you step outside and explore the neighborhood. We originally considered staying near the airport for our Florence visit, because we had an early flight home on our last day. We are so glad we opted for staying in the central city. The front desk summoned a taxi for us at at 5:00 a.m. and it appeared almost immediately...and the ride to the airport only took 10 minutes at this early hour. Taxi ride to airport was 28 euros, including our luggage.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoenix1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2010

Our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco was very nice. The room was comfortable and clean. The desk staff helped us make the most of our stay in Florence with excellent and friendly advice on sights to see and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for an Autumn mini break of 3 nights. Found it on internet, and had to change our travel plans a few times. However, the hotel staff responded quickly and helpfully to our emails and nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel very welcome, and we loved our room. The location is perfect. The breakfast and bistro downstairs was lovely too. Would definitely stay there again! It really made our trip! Thanks to the hotel staff once again!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LB6g08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

This lovely historical hotel (I believe it was a 15th Century residence) is well kept, clean and serves one of the best breakfasts (included in the price) anywhere we travelled in Italy. The hotel has a lovely courtyard where you can take your breakfast, weather permitting, and in the afternoon we would get a bottle of wine & sit in the courtyard enjoying it. The hotel is reasonable, clean and the beds and baths are comfortable; free internet is offered as well and the location is excellent. The rooms were a little dated and not decorated to my taste, but it was well kept. Another suggestion is the rooms be equipped with much better lighting. Since the building is very old, the rooms tend to be dark and better lighting might improve the atmosphere of the rooms significantly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, November 13, 2010
Dear Madam,

we are really very happy you appreciate our buffet breakfast becasue we offer evry day fresh and high quaility products to offer a "good breakfast" and not just "a breakfast" to hel people to start the day in the best way possible. We are also very proud of our staff tehre because tehy really care about the customer's satisfaction and they are always ready to listen good advice by the customers and report then to me and to the owner to try to offer a better service.
Our hotel is housed in a late 15th century building completely renewed and either the rooms or the drawing rooms are all equipped with antique fornitures and everywhere you could read information and review about our hotel, you can read about it. I am sorry the decorations you found in your rooms (which have the same antique style of all of them even if they are different each other) dind't repond to your taste.
Thanks to some customer's suggestion we already changed all the bulbs in the lamps in every rooms to offer a lighter atmosphere.
Of course we would love to have always a 5 from a review written by a customer and when we received a three (which is just "sufficient" we are a bit sad, considering we try to offer always "the best" and we like the best score.
The most important thing for us is you had a good memory about Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel and whenever you decide to come back you will choose our house again.
Once again "THANK YOU" to find time to write about our hotel on TRIP.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini (htl mngr)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I recently travelled to Italy with three other girlfriends. The reason for the trip was to see my daughter who was studying abroad in Florence. We went from Florence, to Venice, back to Florence then Rome. On our second stay in Florence during the week, we stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and accommodating to our English language. The hotel was located close to the train station which was a plus. The Galleria dell’Accademia with Michelangelo’s David was also a couple blocks away from this hotel. A very romantic and comfortable hotel with lots of space in our room for four women. Bathroom was large with a fabulous shower. The complimentary breakfast was everything we could have hoped for and more. I truly felt pampered at the Guelfo Bianco and would without a doubt stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcaron1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,395 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#31 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing