We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for Florence”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We recently spent two very enjoyyable nights at Il Guelfo. The hotel itself is charming. It is located in an old building and the high ceilinged rooms with frescos on the ceiling give you the feeling of a truly authentic Italian expereince.

The location is perfect for touring the city. It is a very short walk (<5 minutes) to the cathedral (il Duomo), the Medici Chapel or the gallery where Michelangelo's David is. Even the main art gallery (the Uffizi) and the Pont Vecchio are just a comfortable 15 minute walk away, on streets that are largely closed to any vehicles.

The buffet breakfast was included and very good - a wide enough range to satisfy North American and Europeran tastes. Food was largely locally sourced and included organic and sustainable ingredients in a number of instances.

I presume the above comments could be made about many hotels in Florence. The thing that most impressed us though was the staff. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Particular credit goes to Antonella who's consistently positive, upbeat nature was infectious. She dealt with requests quickly and effectively, but more importantly, had a special ability to anticipate needs and advise you on things you might want to consider, striking the perfect balance between being caring and helpful, but not intrusive and pushy. She is the real jewel at Il Guelfo.

If you are looking for an authentic boutique hotel with a perfect location, good breakfast and wonderful staff you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenderTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 2,361 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Well situated, clean and good value for a florence hotel. We arrived by rental car and parked up outside the hotel and had the hotel park the car in a nearby garage for 2 nights (€26 per night). They sorted out the the fine we would have received by entering a restricted traffic zone with ease.

Will stay again if ever in Florence

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We just returned from Italy and stay at Il Guelfo Bianco. I would highly recommend the hotel for a true 'Italy" style hotel. It is an older building of course, with high ceilings, and authentic feel. The bathroom was gorgeous with Italian tile, soaking tub and pedestal sink. Our room was surprisingly spacious, furnished with antiques, which again gave it an authentic feel. If you are looking for a traditional american style hotel, this may not meet your expectations.

I loved the fact the windows opened and you could open the shutters to let more light and breeze in the room. They also provided complimentary wireless internet access. The room was always clean. The breakfast was good but the fruit salad cost extra.

The manager Antonella is wonderful. She was more than helpful, making reservations for us at the museums, giving driving directions, the train etc. She certainly helps make this hotel a pleasure. It doesn't surprise me to see her responding to feedback on tripadivsor.

The hotel is 2 minutes from Galleria dell'Academia and 5 minutes from the Duomo.

Thanks Antonella.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The hotel was fabulous with great staff accomodations, food etc. Whenever we needed something the "staff" was always able to come through. Difinately will stay there again when returning. This hotel was one block fromn "The David" and was withing easy walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CCEMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Perfect location near Galleria Academia and Duomo. Convenient for sightseeing and walking to shopping or nightlife. The staff was exceptionally helpful. I would ask for a room NOT on the first floor as it is partially below grade and had a tendency to be damp / musty. The rooms on the upper floors were much better, especially is you have allergies. The artwork made this hotel charming and unique. We can't wait to go back and visit again!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KoncreteKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, General Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Dear Sirs,

As we are always reading the reviews written by our customers and we are trying to keep in mind their suggestions to improve the quality of our rooms and services, I have to say the truth….I have been a bit sorry about the final score you gave us (3 to 5). You wrote very nice things about our hotel and service and you wrote you can’t wait to visit us again but you gave us a “3”. We are doing always our best with our customers and we always hope in a “5” (and luckly we have so many!) and when a customer give us less than 4 we tried to understand where we made a mistake. But this time I really do not understand this 3. However I consider “internet” the best democracy in the world where everybody could have the possibility to write “his/her point of view” and if at the end the impression you had about us is just “adequate” and I have to accept it.

Regarding our rooms I wish to point that we have 4 rooms on ground floor which are executive ones and are lovely with nice wood ceiling and very quiet and rooms on first floor (executive superior de luxe or junior suite) which are really nice. Our hotel is house in a late 15th century building and of course the rooms are antique even if with all modern comforts. If you are looking for an hotel in an moder style we are not the right place and maybe you confuse the “modern style” with the “antique style”. Luckly the most part of our customers are always surprise when they get into the rooms and they found all the antique and original architecture. Just today a couple arrive and maybe they read this review and when I gave them the key and they found out the room was on first floor and didn’t want to go up. I please them to go to look at the room and they came down with a “large smile” just saying “OUTSTANDING!”.

I really hope to come meet you again here and next time and we will do our best to deserve a “5”

Take care  Ciao
Antonella Rocchini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We liked the cozy & rustic decor of our room and the spacious bathroom with deep soaking tub & bidet. The mattress was firm in a typical way, a plush mattress pad would be good.

The hotel is in a perfect location, very close to the museums and palaces that we were there to see.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, thanks for helping us with printing the directions to Amalfi!

The demi glass shower door for the soaking tub was frustrating because water leaked under the shower door no matter how we tried to be careful. I hope the bathroom floor tiles are well sealed so that there is no water damage to the lower floors.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, General Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Dear sirs,

first of all I wish to thank for the review and for the preference. I wish to inform you that we are adding in all the beds in our rooms a cover- bed called “memory my form” to put over the mattress to make it “softer”. As I wrote answering to other reviews we do have all orthopedic mattress which should help to have a better sleep but as we realize many people find them a bit hard we decide to add this kind of cover bed.
I am really sorry you had problems with the shower door. We have rooms with shower boxes and rooms with bathtubs and rooms with bathtub have also a shower glass. We checked all rooms after reading your review (you didn’t mention your room number) but all of them are fixed in the right way.

I really hope to welcome you once again and thanking you once again for your review, I remain with my best regards.
ANTONELLA ROCCHINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

From the friendly greeting upon check in, the speedy way they took care of parking our car to the cleanliness and size of the room, great value indeed! Breakfast in the morning was typical of European Hotel, with freshly made expresso what was needed to start the day.

The location for exploring Florence was ideal, with every place of interest within easy walking distance of the hotel. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants great value stay in the heart of Florence

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellers057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,789 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,543 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,176 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#77 of 410 in Florence
1,176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing