We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family week end”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #29 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Placed in the center of Florence, the hotel is in a very particular palace, big rooms very very cozy hosts you putting together classical and modern details.
Crew is very friendly and always available to help you in sightseing the city.
Quality / price rate is very very interest and "the desco" offer you good plate.
Take the opportunity to get here. It will allow to get a fantastic souvenir of florence.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Fabiopitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a week and loved the location and the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again and recommend it to colleauges. We loved walking around Florence and then resting in the covered court-yard.

Room Tip: Looking at the floor plan of the first floor we had a medium sized room and it was smaller than a No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent 5 nights at this hotel in Florence and loved everything about it. The hotel itself has character, beautiful rooms and the best staff ever. We felt like welcome house guests throughout our visit. Our room was spacious with a nicely equipped bathroom. We appreciated the free WI-FI in the room and the television with lots of channels and Sky, if TV is needed in Florence.

The hotel is really striving to provide all that's best from fresh organic foods at breakfast and in the bistro. We also appreciated the mix of historic building and modern art - great stuff.

Finally, the whole staff made us feel genuinely welcome and answered every query we threw at them, even before we arrived. With their help, we found our way to the football stadium, to Fiesole for the day and with their recommendations, had some really great meals in the neighbourhood.

Grazie mille to each and every staff member, from the front desk, to the lady who cleaned our room and to the folks in the breakfast room and bistro. If you want the perfect spot to visit this wonderful city, here it is.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penderepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you’ve decided to go to Florence for your honeymoon, the Il Guelfo Bianco is the accommodation you need to gte. The first reason I had for getting this hotel is because it us just a few minutes walk from the Duomo, where I have always wanted to visit. The rates are very friendly and easy on the pocket. The food is okay, especially the breakfast. They had a sort of complete selection of pastries and beverages good enough for breakfast. I was hoping for more choices though. The rooms where also very good: clean and well organized. I would say that I had a great time during my day here at the Il Guefo Bianco. Good sevice too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaLindaLerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent 4 nights here in this comfortable, centrally situated, hotel. Our spacious room was furnished with antique furniture, a Persian rug and had the most beautiful ceiling. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The little bistro was the perfect place to have an aperitif with local meats and cheeses before an evening out. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ElspethOrkney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here in Feb 2014, lovely hotel would recommend to anybody visiting the beautiful city of Florence. The staff are absolutely fantastic, so helpful and would do anything for you. The room was spacious and very comfortable, we have visited a few places in Italy, Rome, Sorrento and a few others and this was by far the best hotel we have stayed in. We ate in the bistro one lunch time and one evening and the food is absolutely first class. The breakfast, buffet style was really lovely, everything was so fresh. The hotel is only 5 min walk to the Duomo and is the perfect location for all the places you want to visit. Do not hesitate to stay here, brilliant value for money, and the wine from the owners own vine yard is beautiful. We could not fault anything about our stay unless we were being very picky and it wouldn't just apply to this hotel but most hotels in Italy, we just wish they had coffee and tea facilities in the bedrooms!!' Nothing like a morning cuppa in bed when you don't have to rush xx

Room Tip: Very comfortable bed and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonCarolyColinMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for the first weekend in February. It was a relatively easy walk from the train station and just steps from the Duomo. Julia was very helpful and enthusiastic upon check-in and even offered a complimentary upgrade. This was my first time to Florence and I felt immediately welcomed. The room was well-appointed- Towel warmer, Italian soaps and bath products. Loved my room that overlooked the courtyard. With the windows open you can hear the church bells. Truly Charming! Breakfast was wonderful, fresh breads, yogurt, meats, cheeses and fruit. Would recommend to anyone seeking a boutique hotel experience. Hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: I was in 112. Overlooked courtyard. Pink walls and beautiful carved ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#46 of 410 in Florence
2,790 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,544 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#39 of 410 in Florence
2,178 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#76 of 410 in Florence
1,176 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 410 in Florence
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $105 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing