We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was so sad to leave . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #26 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Was so sad to leave . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Il guelfo Bianco was the highpoint of our stay in Italy. The location is amazing - two blocks from the Uffizi, three from the Mercato Centrale, maybe 6 from the Duomo. The hotel itself is lovely. Our two rooms were beautiful with beamed ceilings and the best bathroom I have ever had in Europe. The staff could not have been better - friendly, helpful and with a sense of humor about what Americans just don't know about Italy. The breakfast buffet was so good that we hated to leave and begin our day. Excellent cappucino. I am only sorry that we didn't stay longer in Florence but I will definitely return. This is a must stay place - indulge yourself, it is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomfieldtravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    498
    81
    15
    4
See reviews for
545
1,117
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the sights. and the staff at the hotel were so friendly and accommodating. Antonella was excellent--such a huge help in our trip planning. We came to Florence as part of our honeymoon and found the hotel very last minute. Antonella got us a great room even though the hotel was booking up, and was flexible in finding us a room for an extra night. And to top it off, the rooms were gorgeous! If you are tired of small European hotel rooms, treat yourself to the apartment suite on the top floor. Wow! Wonderfully decorated, spacious, and even has a laundry room. Such a treat! We hope to return to this wonderful hotel soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sona08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Sona08,

so happy to read your review. I am glad you had a nice stay with us and really hope to welcome you back whenever you decide to come back to Florence. I would like to wish an Happy New Year to all of our customers and me and my staff we really thanks all the people who have choosen our hotel and who will choose it for their holidays. We try to do our best to take a good care of all of you and we do appreciate a lot yoru reviews. A big hug to you and to everybody.
Take care ciao

Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I had a tough time leaving the hotel because I enjoyed my room so much. Very friendly staff and a great atmosphere. The Bistro was great and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone and everyone!!!!!

Room Tip: There are a ton of different options: rooms with jacuzzis, views of the duomo, balconies, fresco cei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NFerreiro9893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

As superb as the facility and
location are, (which everyone has noted), the exemplary
attitude and competence of the staff are perhaps the
greatest recommendation for this hotel. My wife and I
stayed for several days in late November, and our experience of
Florence was greatly enriched by the hotel staff. Two urgent travel
situations (one medical) which we regrettably encountered were
solved by the them with expertise and empathy. We cannot
recommend this hotel with more enthusiasm.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My family and I loved staying in this hotel. The rooms are gorgeous, roomy, and comfortable. The beds were very comfy. Great location. Incredibly delicious, and huge, breakfast buffet! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

My daughter and I went on a mother daughter trip to Italy this past summer and our first stay was at Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco in Florence. I was celebrating being over 4 years cancer free and my daughter's senior year in college. The people at the front desk went out of their way to help us with booking a tour, dinner recommendations, and even with mailing a post card back to the states (not as easy as you would think-try finding a post office let alone a post card stamp). The room was quite literally a work of art (my daughter is an art major and was in heaven). The room we had in Rome was barely big enough for two people to walk in but the room here was HUGE plus it was decorated with a gorgeous painted picture on the ceiling and the room was filled with antiques. For the price we paid in Florence, Venice, and Rome this was definitely the best value. The breakfast was delightful. Plus we could walk everywhere we went. Would highly recommend staying here and if we ever go back this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the patio in the main building. Just delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancerfree2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfs, israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

i don't think there is much to add to the previous good reviews.
- location is absolutely perfect
- the attentiveness and warmth of the staff is amassing
- the room is comfortable, beautiful, indulging
- the bathroom - I wish mine at home was as comfortable (and clean)
- the breakfast is very tasty, very high quality and with a fair variety (hey, that's Italy, not Norway)
- the restaurant (mainly for lunch) is very special, and again, very tasty and high quality (with the same attentive warm staff you already know)

I do hope I'll have the opportunity to stay again.

Room Tip: despite double glazing, that ensure a comparatively quiet night, people who are very sensitive to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everfreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,843 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#38 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,620 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing