We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, staff and rooms”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, staff and rooms”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I used to live in Firenze and have been back numerous times. This is the best place I have stayed. The staff is extremely helpful, in particular Daniele. The location is a quick walk and you are right near the Duomo and the San Lorenzo market as well as many other attractions in the center. It's a quick taxi ride as well about 10 euro. We stayed in the apartment since we had our family with us and were getting married. It was very spacious and clean. I would recommend staying here and I would stay again myself.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank misstoscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,643
    502
    81
    15
    5
See reviews for
550
1,129
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was recommended to stay at this hotel through my travel consultant, what a great place. This hotel is central to everything a tourist would like to see while in Florence! We caught the train into florence, once we caught a cab to the hotel we never needed transportation again. The hotel is approximately a 5 minute walk to Accademia di Belle Arti Firenze where michelangelo's the david is kept and from The Duomo. The Uffizi and "leather street vendors" is about a 10-15 minute walk and the Pointe Vecchio about 20 mins. The rooms are very spacious as far as european hotels go. The room I stayed in had a king sized bed and a large sitting area. The breakfast options were good and the hotel also gave us a voucher for their cafe. The service was excellent and the front desk was able to book me tickets into the uffizi to avoid the line and arrange my transportation back to the train station. Would definitely stay here and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuishaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We love this hotel! Spent two weeks in Italy and this was the best hotel. The food is organic ,fresh and delicious We would stay here again and will recommend it to everyone! The staff is friendly and helpful. Walk to everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just returned from a short visit to Firenze and stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco, where we received excellent and friendly service even before we arrived. Corresponding with the staff on various occasions planning our trip was helpful and easeful. On arrival, we were greeted by Julia, who immediately became a friend. We were welcomed with a free drink and appetizers at the hotel's restaurant, which offered quite delicious organic food from their own organic farm in Tuscany. The hotel room itself was so much better than we expected--quite large, beautifully decorated, comfortable and quiet. We didn't want to leave! The hotel itself is delightful to walk through, with lovely artwork and fashion decorating each floor. It would be worth your time to take a stroll on each floor and find the hidden treasures. The breakfast offerings were exceptional and generous and presented in the hotel's delightful breakfast room. The hotel is extremely well located to see all the sights of Firenze. All in all, it was one of our best stays in Europe and made our time in Firenze memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarvaMangalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a great long weekend break staying here. Great rooms, with a very central location (just over five minutes walk to the Duomo) and very friendly and helpful staff. Despite the central location the rooms are quiet. The hotel decor is smartly stylish. We required two rooms and these were helpfully allocated very closely. Good breakfast. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We first stayed here 9 years ago. The travel agency my mother worked for used this hotel for their tour groups with great success and we had a wonderful stay. Our latest stay was as good as the first. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable. Our inside room was quiet and we did not hear and street noise off the busy Via Cavour. The included continental breakfast was a very good and the welcome cocktail in the adjacent cafe bar included a delicious sampling plate.
The location is excellent. We had only light bags so we walked from the Florence train station. The hotel is close enough to the main sites for easy strolling, but far enough away that you are not impacted by the crowds of tourists.

Room Tip: We requested an inside room to avoid any street noise, which they will give you whenever possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This lovely hotel is perfectly situated, close to Duomo, Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. It has a real Italian atmosphere with cosy rooms and very nice staff.
The service is really excellent. Being a celiac, I need to follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free bread and pastries are available at breakfast upon simple request.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aBelgianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,642 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing