We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm Plus Comfort”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #27 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel provided the perfect balance of old world charm and new world comfort. Hallways and common areas are nicely decorated with antiques, and our room was very comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly. Location was convenient to all the sites and restaurants. I recommend taking a taxi from the train station to the hotel. It is not too far to walk, but it is easy to get confused in the narrow, twisting streets. It is fun to get "lost" - but not when dragging a suitcase on a hot afternoon! The breakfast buffet was fine, and again the staff was very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested a garden view room and it was quiet. Street side rooms may have been noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 2,390 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's always a bit nerve racking plucking a random hotel off the internet in a place you don't know. Especially when you look on trip advisor and see negative reviews alongside the positive. But we needn't have worried - I honestly think the people given less than excellent scores were staying in a different hotel.

I have long harboured a desire to go to Florence, so wanted to stay somewhere special - and il Guelfo Bianco certainly met the criteria. It had all the charm & intimacy of a small family hotel but with a service ethos to match some of the biggest hotels I have stayed in. The staff were at all times friendly and accommodating, taking real pride in their hotel, the room was comfortable and charming with a great view over the rooftops to the Duomo, the bed was amongst the most comfortable I have slept in and the art work around the hotel made it just that little bit special.

The breakfast buffet was of the finest quality, and plentiful .... again, being laid out by friendly, cheerful staff. And the Bistro - perfect in everyday for a bite to eat later in the day.

And the location - well pretty damn perfect !!! Everywhere we wanted to go was in easy walking distance. We will definitely aim to go back one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneW_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Walked to this hotel from Santa Maria Novella Train station with our luggage. Beware of pick pockets at the station! About a 15 min walk. Shared a room with two others. There was no lift up to our room. Had to take stairs half way..With luggage it was kinda annoying. Room was large, bathroom sufficient. Air con worked fine. Fridge in the room.Free Wifi. Got a free welcome drink for 3 people and a guide book on florence. as we came on the day the bar wasn't operating, the receptionist allowed us to use it and got us some drinks which was nice of her. Again as I've noticed in the hotels i've stayed at, no coffee/tea making facilities and the buffet breakfast was ok , nicer quality than the two other hotels I've stayed at in Italy. Walking distance to sights/shops/restaurants. Small supermarket around the corner walking distance. Pleased with this hotel. Had no problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosee1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel was quite a small establishment but the rooms are beautiful and the location excellent. It's within walking distance of a lot of major tourist spot in Florence and the train station.

One should never miss their breakfast because there are excellent with variety of choices.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celinetravel528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed with our family, which included two children (11,14). The room was beautiful and accommodated us well. The location is excellent, a quick walk with wheeled luggage, from the train station. It is also well located to the Duomo and restaurants. The staff was friendly and assisted us in arranging a day trip with a tour company to Sienna and Chianti. The included breakfast was great as well, including a gluten free selection, if ordered in advance.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank 400melissak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a large room with a beautiful fresco on the ceiling. It is exactly the place I always wanted to stay in an Italian city. The location and the staff were perfect. They also have an amazing Bistro right in the place.We had a fantastic meal there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We typically stay at small boutique hotels while in Europe so when we asked our travel agent (Omnibus Tours, Salt Lake City) to book us a hotel in Firenza, she chose Il Guelfo Bianco. We were not disappointed. The room was large by European standards and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate. The staff was helpful and courteous. And, the location ... what can you say? We were able to get anywhere we wanted by foot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,221 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#31 of 410 in Florence
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
Hotel Loggiato dei Serviti
#82 of 410 in Florence
1,192 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,562 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Pendini
Hotel Pendini
#36 of 410 in Florence
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $103 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing