We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camera con vista”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #30 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Camera con vista”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Spent a long week-end with my wife and kid. Location, huge room, nice breakfast and friendly staff made of this Hotel a place I'd recommend if you're travelling to Florence. Price, 200€/night, was perhaps a bit too expensive. But everything else was just fine.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kiitos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    512
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
561
1,150
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island Park Nerw York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Il Guelfo Bianco from July 4-8 and loved it! First of all. the location is just fantastic--within walking distance from many of the sights, and a two-minute walk to the leather market--heaven!! Our room was huge, with a lovely fresco on the ceiling, a sitting area, and large living space. It was typical Florence, which is what we wanted--if you are looking for a Marriott-type hotel, this isn't for you! I want to thank Antonella, one of the concierges, who was always ready with a friendly smile and lots of recommendations and suggestions. The breakfast buffet was good and ample as well. The only complaint I have is that one night my husband and I came in and nobody was at the desk. We had to take our own key, since we waited around fifteen minutes and nobody appeared. Otherwise, we loved Il Guelfo Bianco, and, if we ever get lucky enough to return to Florence, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveBroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early July and the hotel was great. 10 min walk from the train station, 10 min walk from Duomo it was great for sightseeing.
The staff were very helpful, and did all our restaurant bookings for us which was really helpful!
Breakfast is scrummy, and the patio outside is great if you fancy a cold beer after walking around the city
Would highly recommend this hotel.
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was immaculate for our family. The staff was very helpful with recommendations and very attentive to our needs. The breakfast was great and the staff was willing to make made to order entrees. I hightly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murray99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlo.ablaza@gmail.com
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel couldn't have been more ideally located -- a block from David, 4 blocks from Duomo, and a quick, leisurely walk to everything else (Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, and the great shops of Via de Tournaboni). It's got a funky style -- old and new at the same time, and the rooms are spacious and comforable. The staff was quick and helpful with our requests, from making restaurant reservations to having an iron brought to our room. The breakfast was plentiful and had great variety -- and the morning staff at the restaurant was very nice and quick to give us anything we wanted.
It's all the comforts of being in a hotel, but it feels like you're staying in someone's apartment. Don't expect the atmosphere of a chain hotel or a luxury boutique property -- it's more down-to-earth and homey for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cja2k1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a very large room for 4--a nice find! Not the most luxurious, but a very comfortable stay. The hotel itself is interesting with a combination of historic and contemporary. Breakfast was good and a nice outside terrace made each morning lovely. The location is perfect--just blocks from the Duomo and other main Florence attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even arranged parking for our rental car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our experience at Il Guelfo Bianco was very good. Although considered a hotel, it was very cozy and gave the impression of being both historical and sophisticated. The location is perfect, very close to several major sights such as the Duomo and Accademia, and withing walking distance to everything.

Our room (junior suite) was very large, airy and comfortable for the three of us. The bathroom was huge and there were nice amenities such as a magnifier mirror, soap dish and plenty of hand towels in addition to the bath towels. The furniture and drapery really gave the room a feel of individuality. My only complaint would be that the beds were a little too hard for my liking.

Based on our experience, the included breakfast was generous -- various cold meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juices and pastries, coffee and tea. Some mornings an additional waiter would have been helpful as the single waiter was very busy, cleaning tables, serving, and replacing food items. But, we didn't see this as a big deal and didn't feel that the wait for replenishments or cleanup time was terribly long. I noticed that some guest felt that the items weren't replaced in a timely manner, but this was probably due to the fact that the breakfast area was small and many of the guests loaded their plates up or had kids that went back again and again, depleting the supplies fairly quickly.

Lastly, we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. They all spoke English fluently, made reservations for us (both restaurant reservations and ticket reservations for the Accademia and Uffizi), gave helpful advice and directions, and someone was always available at the front desk. I had corresponded by email with questions before we left for our trip and the staff was very prompt and responsive.

I don't quite understand some of the complaints about unfriendly staff or lack of cleanliness. As I mentioned before, the staff was wonderful (and we spoke to many different staff members), even the housekeeper went out of her way to bring us extra pillows and towels. The hotel looks renovated and was very clean and quite lovely. I should mention that I'm very picky and have no qualms about blasting hotels with sub-par conditions!

Based on our family's experience, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,693 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 411 in Florence
3,486 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 411 in Florence
1,921 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,745 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#47 of 411 in Florence
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing