We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Florence”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #31 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of Florence”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here from 20-25 March 2013 as part of our honeymoon. We booked a superior room and got a room on the 4th floor (we requested a high floor). It was a road facing room and had all the space we needed. We could walk comfortably around the room and there was sufficient space to place both our large bags on the low cupboard. The windows had 2 layers of double glazing so noise at night was not a problem.Bed was comfortable and didn't give us any problems. There was a flat screen with satellite tv though we hardly used it. We were too busy enjoying everything that Florence had to offer. The bathroom was sufficiently big and the shower pressure was great. Would have preferred a shower stall but I guess the bathtub comes in handy in summer. It was freezing when we were there so the ready hot water was very much appreciated.

Breakfast was served in the adjoining restaurant owned by the hotel. Food selection was great with a range of bread and pastries, fruits, cured meats, cheese, cereal, salads and juices for breakfast. The jams are excellent as well. Service was excellent and hot drinks come in the form of coffe (cappuccino, espresso, caffe latte etc.), hot chocolate and tea (you select your own tea bags from the container at the buffet). The food was marvelous and much better than the other hotels I stayed in during my Italy trip. All the food and milk is freshly and locally sourced and you can tell the difference. Gave a great start to the day every single day!

Overall, the service was impeccable throughout our stay, from the front desk who was helpful with directions and suggestions, to the room cleaning, to the great breakfast staff who were always looking to get you another hot drink to just about every staff in the hotel. The location leaves nothing to be desired, a short walk to the Duomo, Accademia, just about anywhere in Florence. Took a taxi from S.M.N. Train Station and it cost us less than 10 Euro with 2 bags.

Would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Florence and I would like to thank all the staff for giving us such a wonderful stay in Florence!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj_huat_ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,683
    515
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
566
1,158
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Il Guelfo Bianco for 3 nights (28 - 30 March 2013), as part of our honeymoon.
We decided late in our planning to go to Florence so could only get the Junior Suite. The moment we walked in the room we loved it. It was small but had so much atmosphere. It was clean and comfortable. It had double windows and shutters so at night blocked out all noise other than some traffic noise which wasn't an issue.
The bathroom was clean and tidy, and cleaned well each day. The bed was comfortable and we slept well.
The included breakfast was great, with many pastries, fruit, salads, and breads available. Choice of coffees, teas, and juices available.
The hotel is in the hive of activity and close to most Florence attractions. The hotel also helps with bookings. The statue David is only 2 minutes walk away.
We stayed in room 119 which had good street view but able to close up for quietness and blackout for good morning sleep ins.

Room Tip: Room 119 is Junior Suite but perfect for budget conscious travelers. 1st floor with lift and stair a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCzech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. The rooms vary in size from reasonable to large. Bathrooms are large. When I read that it was a traditionally furnished hotel I feared that it might mean a little worn, but it is not. The rooms are clean and well maintained, the bathrooms are very clean. The staff were all helpful, breakfast was much better than I have experienced before in Italy. It is situated about a five minute walk from the tourist areas. I would stay again if in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarvelousM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Being on a tight budget, I booked the cheapest room available (advanced booking) so expected to get the equivalent of a broom cupboard for my 84€ but how wrong was I?!? Instead we were given a lovely room on the 4th floor at the front of the building; the room was large, the decor was tasteful and the bed was comfortable. Street noise wasn't a problem as there are no less than 4 separate shutters which renders even the noisiest of teenagers (and there are a lot of them in Florence!), mute. Much to my surprise there was even English Sky TV available. The bathroom is old fashion but everything worked well and the shower was pretty decent.
The hotel's location couldn't be better, just a short stroll from the Duomo and the Academia. It is about a 10 minute walk from the Firenze SMN train station.
As advertised, we were given a free welcome drink and snack - very tasty and was served up with flair and a smile. Breakfast was fantastic, the pastries were amazing and the jams are simply out of this world!
What really stood out for us however, was how friendly they were at the hotel! Everyone we came in contact with seemed genuinely pleased to see you and they always made you feel welcome.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I thought my wife was going to pass out when we entered our room. We had the family room and it was simply enormous. The largest room we have ever had in Europe. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The welcome drink for the entire family was a great touch. I cannot imaging a better place to stay in all of Florence, especially at the reasonable prices.

You are a 3 minute walk to David or the Duomo and another 5 minutes to Palazzo Vecchio.

We can't say thank you enough!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kent1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

After reading the great reviews, we booked direct on the hotel's website and got a great deal. The hotel was easy to find as it has a very central location between the Duomo and the Accademia. Our room on the first floor was decorated in a traditional Italian style and was very quiet, however there was a shortage of power sockets. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had the best hotel hair dryer ever! The buffet breakfast was served from 7.30 till 10.00 and during our 4 day stay was never too busy. There was selection of fresh breads, pastries, meat, cheese and cereals and lovely tomato bruschetta. The staff served coffee and constantly refreshed the food so that even latecomers had the full selection. During our stay, the staff were all very pleasant and overall the whole trip totally stress free.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melliemeltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Everyone at the hotel were very helpful. Our welcome drink was delivered with great charm by Sharms our waiter which made us come back for lunch another day. Our room was spotless and well appointed. The hotel is very central to a lot of attractions which allowed us to stroll to the duomo and ponte vecchio. Darius and Daniel on the front desk helped out with dinner suggestions and tour bookings. Wonderful place to stay and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firsttiimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,945 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#44 of 412 in Florence
2,088 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#39 of 412 in Florence
1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing