We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a really nice time at this hotel. The location was perfect, very central and easy to find. Its about a 15 minute walk from the main train station and about 5 minutes from the Duomo. Upon arrival we were informed that they had given us a free upgrade of our room as it was quite, which we though was a really nice touch. We also were given a free drinks and nibbles voucher at check in, the nibbles actually turned out to be a delicious plate (each!) of various cheeses and cold meets with some lovely balsamic vinegars, bread, olive oil etc. It was very good. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Florence, we wouldn't even think of staying any where else and would definitely recommend this place to any one. Great place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slayerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    451
    72
    15
    3
See reviews for
496
1,012
69
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff were fabulous at this hotel! They were especially helpful when one of us was injured. Very accommodating. Made us feel completely at home. Great value for the location as well. The breakfast was great and again, a great value. Highly recommend this hotel. You will definitely enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverDolphingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thanks to the hosts (Great food, great advice, great room)! We were recommended to this great spot and I would now recommend it to others. I would not stay anywhere else in Florence. We had a great spacious room, decorated well, clean, comfortable. My favorite part was visiting the attached cafe and getting good advice on where else to eat in Florence. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Comfortable beds, hearty breakfast, nice service, spacious room, hot water- all made it a great stay. They gave good recommendations of restaurants. Nice location too. Would stay again when back in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smallwrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed here on three occasions and absolutely love it. It is a small boutique hotel with charming the charm and elegance of only Florence can give. I made reservations there for me and my partner and my brother and his fiancee. and they can't stop saying how great it was!!! I have been to Florence five times and stayed in luxury hoels, but this one is my fsvorite. Don't stay here if you want a big luxury hotel...it is the real Florence!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimFLouisville_Ky_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for my Birthday and had the most amazing room. I cant rate this place highly enough. Had the room that overlooks the courtyard, and has the amazing carved and painted ceiling. This was definately the best room i thought, but all the rooms are very good and the best part of it, its not as expensive as you think. The breakfast is great and typically Italian and has a great courtyard attached. I will definately recommend this place to friends who are looking for a place to stay in Florence. Really helpful staff, recommending places to see and what to do afterwards. I really liked this place and will be back. As a recommendation, please book for the private tour of the Uffizi Gallery and then the private Medicii corriidor accross the Ponto Vechio. It brings you out to the Pitti Palace Grotto. Also a must see is the Four Seasons for dinner. Great price and amazing surrounds. Leather goods a great when you cross over the Ponto Vechio on the way the Pitti Palace. I just wish i had bought some more wallets. Be very careful in regards to what you buy, but they tend to be some very reputable italian leather good stores.

Room Tip: The room with the Carved Ceiling overlooking the courtyard is the one i would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I selected this hotel based on positive Tripadvisor reviews and it exceeded expectations. The room may not have been ideal for travellers with limited mobility, as it was necessary to go up and down some stone stairs to reach it, but this did not present any problems for those with reasonable mobility. The room I got overlooked a small internal courtyard and had a large balcony. As it wasn't on the main road at the front of the hotel, it was very quiet. There was free wifi, good sized bathroom and a comfortable firm bed.
The staff was extremely friendly, welcoming and efficient. Particularly Julia (I think) for whom nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was pretty good.
The hotel was quirkily decorated with quite a lot of modern art.
The location was excellent. About 10-15 minutes walk from the central station and only about 5 minutes walk to the Duomo and Accademia and just a few minutes more to the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio and the other sights of the beautiful city of Florence. It has a bistro/restaurant too, bit I didn't try it as there were so many great restaurants in the city to try out.
I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I return to Florence (which I probably will.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#37 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,339 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#31 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#38 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#26 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,555 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing