We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #26 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Pickup service and all in the hotel were brilliant! They were always ready to provide assistance/advice! The room was big enough for 5 of us and we had a wonderful stay! Walking distance to colosseum, restaurants and "mini-mart"

Room Tip: Room with balcony way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenray75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,562
    473
    80
    15
    4
See reviews for
521
1,072
74
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calabash, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was my second visit to this small scale hotel, and it proved to be as wonderful as the first.

From arranging car service to and from airport(incredably same driver as 3 years ago) to the very familar faces among the staff.

The very delightful breakafast adds to the feel of coming home.

Spacious room which was nicely appointed and satisfied all our needs,was just as lovley as we remembered from 3 years ago.

this hotel has maintained its charm and quality and value over a three year period.

Quite an accomplishment in these days and times.

its old world charm and central location makes this hotel a winner

we will come back again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We booked this hotel because of the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the hotel is very close to the centre and our room on the first floor was clean, comfortable and looked great. This hotel is excellent value!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alghero
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and i really enjoyed our stay here last week. The staff were very helpfull and friendly and the room was clean and very comfortable. It's close to all the major attractions and there are lots of great resteraunts withing walking distance.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 111 it was really nice with a courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first trip to Italy and was part business, part leisure. I did a lot of research on TripAdvisor and chose Il Guelfo Bianco for it's location, good reviews and description. It turned out to be an excellent choice for many reasons. We were late arriving as we had missed our flight from Manchester due to an accident on the motorway and had to get a later one. On arriving at Florence Airport we found that our luggage had been lost. This did not make for a good start to our trip. However, on arriving at the hotel we were looked after splendidly. We were upgraded to an amazing room which had art work and the most unusual features (look on website). I had stupidly left medication in my luggage which I needed urgently. When I explained to the lovely lady on reception she took me to the nearby pharmacy, explained the situation and they provided me with enough tablets. Brilliant! Breakfast was lovely, with fruit, cereals, boiled eggs, choice of cold cuts/cheeses, juices, cakes and naturally wonderful coffee. Nothing was too much trouble for all of the staff and everyone greeted us with a smile. We were offered a complimentary drink and snack on our last night by the best bar tender. He even took the trouble to explain to me where the gorgeous olives came from! Lastly, the location of this hotel is excellent - only a 5 minute walk to the main town and amazing cathedral but far enough away to be quiet. All in all we could not fault il Guelfo Bianco and would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone visiting Florence. Thank you again to the staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail99Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wow. Great location. Convenient walk from the train station.
The location just require some walking to the duomo and galleria academia to see the statue of David. The hotel staffs are super friendly and will make you feel warm and at ease. Julia is a gem as she really goes out of her way to arrange tours and transport. Thank you!
Rooms are nice and breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Get room 42 with a small view of the duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelllybong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel, superb furnishings, and really friendly staff. We stayed here for the Florence marathon - two couples and a baby - and we were very pleased with our stay. Nice breakfast. Close to the sights. And the bistro downstairs really impressed my wife. Grazie!

Room Tip: Room 116 has a great ceiling:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jv171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#25 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#30 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,494 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#43 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#35 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing