We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a 4 Star. Actually about a 3.5.”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #32 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not quite a 4 Star. Actually about a 3.5.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was a nice little place to stay in Florence. The prices weren't too bad and the rooms were a decent size. It was pretty clean and the location is really quite good.
I can't say it'll blow you away, but it's certainly a solid place. The breakfast bar was really good. Pastries, fruit, juice, cheeses, eggs...can't complain a bit. In fact, they had this jelly for the croissants that I couldn't get enough of. The woman and guy who served the tables were very sweet people and took great care of the guests.
My main complaint is safety. Personally, I can take pretty good care of myself. As long as my wife's with me, she had good protection. However, if my wife were traveling alone or with other women, I would not recommend staying here.
When you leave this hotel to go exploring, you typically leave your key. It hangs behind the front desk and when you come back, they hand it to you. This sounds great, but there are issues that should be addressed. At night, when we'd come back, more often than not, the person at the front desk would be gone and I'd have to go looking for them to get my key. At times, they're sitting in the cafe, on a computer or smoking somewhere. The reason this is such a huge issue is because I could have easily grabbed a few keys myself, ransacked some rooms and been gone before anyone had known. This is unsafe. If you're traveling alone, consider this and make liberal use of the safes.

Room Tip: Interior room seemed to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Brainard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
I am quite happy that you really like our breakfast and you found people who served the tables were sweet and they took a good care of the guests. Regarding the room you wrote they do have a “decent size” I would like to remember to all the customers rooms are all different here in size that why we have executive superior de luxe and junior suite. The executive rooms have a standard size, superior are larger, the deluxe and junior suites are very large rooms with a sitting area. We start from a min. of 14 square meters for the executive rooms up to 40 square meters for the largest de luxe and junior suites.
Everybody who works here try to do his/her best every day helping the guests with all their needs even before their arrivals and sometimes even after their departures. Many many people who stayed here once became a friend for us and we are in touch with many guests even thanks to Facebook. You are right our hotel is a solid place and I have to point out something about the safety here: I can guarantee to everybody that our hotel is a safety place: our front desk is monitored 24 hours a day. It’s possible that sometimes people of our staff who are on duty at the front desk have to move for a short time but not because someone is going to sit in the café’ (we can have a café’ anytime in our small bar just 10 meters far from the desk ). Everybody here is working hard to guarantee a pleasant stay to the customers and luckily reading all the nice reviews people leave here we can say they do appreciate our job. We have many many solo travelers especially women who are enthusiastic about us because we are always available for every kind of problems and we had many people who suggest our hotels to some friends who decide to travel alone because its’ a safe place and the staff is friendly and helpful and always ready to give good advices. I do not think at all it could be any kind of danger here either if you travel with a companion or if you travel alone. During the night sometimes the night auditor is moving in the breakfast room to finish to settle the tables and the buffet but we have always a way to check our front desk. I am sorry you had this bad feeling it seems we do not care enough about the guests and our job ….trust me this is a kind of job you can do if you really like it especially in an hotel like Il Guelfo Bianco with a family atmosphere. However I feel to say sorry if we did something wrong with our behavior and you draw a wrong conclusion. The hotel is right in the city center in a quite area and it’s very safe to walk around even late night. I really hope I gave you enough info to change your mind about the safety here at our hotel. Thanks to all the great reviews we received by our marvelous guests we have a ranking of 4,70 on TripAdvisor and every day with every single customer we do our best to earn this great ranking and believe me we have to work hard to keep it so high!
Well, I really hope to welcome you once again in the future even to show you how we slave away to be one of the top hotels in Florence but we do always with a smile 
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,678
    513
    83
    17
    5
See reviews for
564
1,155
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved this hotel! The hotel was very clean, the rooms were very large and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff was very helpful with train reservations and tickets to the museums. We would highly recommend this hotel and definitely would stay here again. And we choose this hotel from our research on Trip Advisor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennysoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We spent three nights at the hotel. It is very conveniently located to the attractions in Florence. The staff at the front desk provides great directions to all the sites and services. Taxis showed up within minutes of their calling them. They have a plentiful supply of umbrellas at the door - they came in very handy. The breakfast is not large but the food is incredibly fresh. Rooms are a good size especially considering it is a three star downtown hotel. The attached bar/café which is only open in the afternoons services great drinks and antipasto type snacks with a smile. We stayed here at the recommendation of my niece who had stayed here and it more than met here recommendation.

Room Tip: higher floor or no street view to avoid street noise, which is not excessive but I prefer avoiding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leysin, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A welcoming staff, large, clean rooms, and a great location for visiting the historic center of Florence. Breakfast was also very good and staff were helpful. We were traveling with our 8 month old son and we had a great baby bed and the breakfast staff were ready with a child's chair every morning. Desk staff warm and knowledgeable. A great place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdb4906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wonderful hotel - family feeling - good food - very helpful - large room with wood-framed archway and wood beam decorative ceiling. Easy walk 15 min to train station and centrally located to all attractions. Il Desco is the attached restaurant and we were provided a free welcoming drink - the restaurant owner asked us to choose any wine and provided us a selection of cheese and fruit. Clean and immaculate with an efficient, friendly staff. Only issue for us was the street side room - the hotel is close to a hospital and only one very late evening multiple times ambulances with sirens disturbed our sleep - so if that bothers you ask for a courtside room

Room Tip: Court side room to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryBaldEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Hotel il Guelfo Bianco is a charming, friendly place, an easy walk to all Florence sites. We stayed in the apartment which was very large and comfortable, perfect for a family or larger group. The staff was helpful and friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. An excellent choice for a trip to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceMR_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 8 nights recently on our second trip to Florence - we returned to this hotel because of its central location, helpful staff, lovely accomodations and great included breakfast run by the attached restaurant Il Desco. Shams and Sara who run the restaurant throughout the day are very personable and make each meal a unique and special Tuscan experience as all the food is freshly cooked each day. We highly recommend both the hotel and Il Desco restaurant.
Christine and Sean, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineH155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,719 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 412 in Florence
3,499 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#25 of 412 in Florence
1,944 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#43 of 412 in Florence
2,085 reviews
Hotel David
#2 of 412 in Florence
3,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Property: Il Guelfo Bianco
Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing