We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem”
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Ranked #30 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We were delighted to find availability here when booking late for a quick 4 -day trip to look over some art schools in Florence. Guilia and Federico could not have been more helpful handling our booking (by email - in English - and with a couple of telephone calls, for the reason described below). We were offered for no extra cost the epicure + glamour package that consisted of some lovely goodies (organic olive oil, balsamic vinegar, preserves) and tickets to a fabulous exhibition on the history of contemporary haute couture in the Palazzo Strozzo. Which was a wonderful way to spend Sunday afternoon. But back to the hotel. We also accepted, 2 days before arriving, an 'upgrade' at no extra charge to the 2 bedroom suite on the 3rd Floor. This suited us, as a couple + single, gave us loads of space, with sitting room, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, etc. It was peaceful: v. little street noise. (Windows are double -or triple glazed, in any case). I guess it helped the hotel's occupancy rate too by freeing up the two rooms we had booked.

The gastronomic tasting on Friday evening was a treat at €7 each including a couple of glasses of wine and some terrific local delicacies. We didn't need a restaurant after that, so we went to a fine little wine bar called Coquinarius in the Via delle Oche. However we succumbed to the temptation of a few crostini and some salad after the first bottle of a delicious red Bolgheri. (No, I hadn't heard of it either). But back to the hotel:

The location is wonderful, very convenient for Duomo and Academia - only 5 minutes walk from the very heart of the city.

Staff were unfailingly helpful, booking taxi's & making reservations for museums, galleries and restaurants cheerfully and efficiently.

We'll definitely come back - If it's just the 2 of us, then we'll ask for a room on the 1st floor, as these are more impressive and seem more luxurious than those on the 2nd and the Suite on the 3rd.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Not_a_Jock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,701 - 1,707 of 2,418 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2007

This is a great little hotel perfectly situated for easy access to touring a bulk of Florence on foot. I spent one morning taking photos of as many of the beautiful ceilings(!) in the hotel as were accessible! Antique furniture, lots and lots of original artwork, fabulous bathrooms (ours had a HUGE round tub) and staff always available to assist with taxis, umbrellas, etc. Try to book a room that is not on the street side since we found it to be noisy with late-night tourists and street maintenance vehicles in the wee hours of the a.m. We thought it was a bargain based upon the ratings and prices of rooms at other hotels. We won't even bother to look for another place when we go back since we were so satisfied here.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2007

This hotel is well positioned in the Centro Storico. It has been artfully (even wittily) created in parts of a former palazzo - presumably once the property of a White Guelph family. It is a delightful combination of antique features and modern style, and staying here is an inspiring experience in itself. Breakfast is generous and imaginative, and served in a pleasant room with high windows - altogether one of the best experiences I have had in an Italian hotel, where breakfasts are all too often dispiriting, and served without benefit of natural light. Ambience and breakfast put a spring in your step as you set out to pound the streets, galleries and churches. Front desk staff can't be faulted on helpfulness, charm and local knowledge. They also have a good shot at starting the evening in convivial fashion with cocktails and crostini, at very reasonable prices. Overall excellent value for central Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dnlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This sweet little hotel was recommended to us by friends who have stayed there several times. The location is perfect -- within walking distance to so many beautiful piazzas and scenic areas. It is clean and very well priced. The staff on the front desk were always so helpful from recommending where to take a drivig tour through the Chianti region of Tuscany to places to eat locally.

We definitely would go back and recommend it to any who travel to Florence!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AnniversaryTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Il Guelfo Bianco was an overall splendid experience. The hotel is in a prime location on Via Cavour in downtown Florence; only minutes from Il Duomo and San Lorenzo. But aside from the surrounding attractions the inside of Il Guelfo Bianco is an attraction in itself. The walls are evenly covered by important pieces of art by contemporary artists. The art works are accompanied by beautiful antique furniture that is pleasing to both the eye and the body. The rooms in the hotel are extremely cozy and were ALWAYS clean and well kept. The bathrooms are spacious and modern. My particular room had a small balcony, which was wonderful for some fresh air. I'm sure everyone is aware; traveling can be a bit stressful. The employees of Il Guelfo Bianco were so helpful my stay was virtually stress free. They were delighted to help with dinner suggestions and book reservations, set-up wine tours, map out directions, call cabs, etc, etc. The list is endless. I was delighted with my stay at Il Guelfo Bianco and will be returning to Florence and this hotel next summer.

AND A SPECIAL THANK YOU TO ANTONELLA, GIULIA, FEDERICO, DANIELE, MATTEO, MARCO AND
DAL FOR THEIR KINDNESS" - Grazie, Grazie!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank valsy625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Il Guelfo Bianco was conveniently located in the center of Florence and the staff was very helpful and friendly! Our trip was a blast - I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

We (spouse and I) stayed at Guelfo Bianco in early October for 4 nights. It was good! The room was spacious and opened into an inner atrium (no roof). Bathroom was fine although my wife found the shower pretty cramped; no fan BTW, the window opens for external venting. The room has a unique feature: you plug your room key into a special sensor slot when entering. This activates the lights and A/C which are all deactivated 60 sec after removing the key and leaving the room. This reduces power consumption and the tendency for guests to keep the A/C going all day. No problem for us but one guest did complain about the A/C while we were there.

Breakfast was fine, good selection and a nice seating area with outdoor tables if you wanted. The hotel was running weekly food/wine tasting receptions which you can go to for 7 euros each. The service staff were really good, courteous (beyond what I would have been, after witnessing one group checking in) and helpful for local restaurant suggestions. Julie and her co-workers are to be commended.

Location was outstanding - 2.5 blocks to Duomo and 1 block to Accademia. McDonald's was 20 feet from the entrance.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CypressVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#45 of 410 in Florence
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Rapallo
Hotel Rapallo
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,096 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#12 of 410 in Florence
3,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Camillo Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $110 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing