We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #278 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Mahopac, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and compared to our hotels in Rome and Venice this was paradise. Hotel is
very nice, staff was great!!! There's a huge supermarket around the corner to buy food and wine and a great coffee bar on the corner. My father had a fever and I bought some soup and staff heated it up for
me in a microwave and gave me a big serving tray too. It's in a quiet part of the city but near a square to
pick up buses or taxis to other parts of the city. I could not say anything negative about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamrock207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    125
    134
    33
    17
See reviews for
61
120
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Were overbooked at the Villa Ulivi ( already sent in comments) so we were sent to the Meridiana..................what a lovely, clean. and friendly place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Perhaps my wife and I are easily pleased, but given our professional backgrounds as 911 first Responders ( police and ER nurse), we do not criticize easily and simply loved this hotel. We walked everywhere and found all that we had hoped for. We are about to book another longer stay in May and enjoy a second round of Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent here 3 nights and unfortunately we did not enjoy our stay as well because of the constant noise from traffic in the street and the bad sleeping quality.
We booked at HRS double bed, but we receive two single beds, so we came back to reception and the receptionist gave us the double bed room in the 5th floor sited on the street. We thought that it is more busy than it could be, but we try to overslept one night, unfortunately the traffic was permanent during whole night. My boyfriend did not sleep anymore, I woke up many times during whole night. So in the morning we call to reception and the same receptionist told me (not as willingly) that we can change to other side of the building but there are only rooms with two beds which as he remember we don´t want. I work at 4* hotel in Prague, so I know that this situation can happend, but usually there is some possibility (especially when you have more than 50 rooms. If not for that day maybe for the next one (we stayed 3 nights), but I have to talk with the guest and try to explain. So we stayed in the same room and the next night were completely the same.
Room is decorated nice, bed is comfy, cleaning service is working properly. Just the bathroom... Extremely small shower, sometimes changing of hot and cold water, obsolete hairdryer still falling down the holder.
Breakfast was relatively good, replenished till the end. There is no minibar at the room so we please for some ice at reception, it was always given without any problem.
Receptionist try to be helpful, are polite, but no extra value. One day we asked for possibility to swim somewhere (good compensation of long walking in the city centre). The young man advised some kind of aquapark and wenn we come to the entrance we read that the season already finish (open till end of August). So we came back to hotel, and two other receptionist did not found any other possibility where to swim within whole Firenze. Can´t understand that...
All in all, hotel is not placed well, it´s like 20-30 minutes walking distance from the Duome and the main square. Service at reception is average, cleaning ok and rooms nice.
For potential guest I will not reccomend to stay here as I wrote above.

Room Tip: Avoid to street situated rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanka_Praha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiraz, Iran
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

the hotel was nive,great breakfast service
the hotel staffs where really nice and polite,the room was clean and neat,the only problem about the hotel was it's position
it was alittle far from the sightseeings,so we had to take a taxi
there was not any public transport stations near the hotel
we had to walk around 20 min to get to Dumo
but entirly all the other things about the hotel were good

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghazaaal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The rooms were okay but for some reason we could not get the air to feel cold enough while we were there. The bathroom was interesting; tiny shower and odd hair dryer. The breakfast was pretty bad too. Not a lot of selection; also, when we went down the second day there was hardly any food left (we went down at 7:30am and breakfast starts at 7am). The best thing about the hotel was that the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location isn't too bad but I definitely would want to look elsewhere the next time I go to Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel was average. Stayed here as part of an organized tour, so cannot comment on the price/value. The hotel rooms are average - good sized. Seems that each room (for double occupancy) have one single bed and one double bed - so roommates beware, you'll have to call dibs on the larger bed! The bathroom is average size with just a shower stall (seems shower stalls are the norm in Italian hotels.) The elevators were a bit slow, but ok. Breakfast was ok, just cereals, yogurt and breads. The location is not near any transportation, so you'd need to either hire a taxi to get to centre of town, or walk. Walking is not too far - 20 minute walk or so. Staff was ok - no one special, but no rude people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky_charm2300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel Meridiana offers average accomodation at a fair price in a city where you can pay much, much more. Compared to a Northern European Hotel at the same price it rates very poorly in terms of amenities, but this isn't Northern Europe.

The staff are excellent and friendly and this counts for a lot. As does the excellent air conditioning in the rooms when you've been standing around in 35 degree heat all day.

Breakfast is very basic unless you like cured meats (which I don't) but the coffee is up to true Italian standards (including the decaf).

The restaurant opposite and 100 yards down the road towards Piazza del Liberta, called Perseus, is very good for a typical experience of the region.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up and facing away from the road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MXE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#245 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#233 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#284 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Select Hotel
#307 of 421 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Property: Hotel Meridiana
Address: Viale Don Giovanni Minzoni 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana is a modern hotel in Florence. It has recently been restructured and is excellent for those travelling for leisure or business, and offers a perfect combination of comfort and convenience. Being situated near the historic centre, everything is within easy reach: the Piazza della Libertà, the Fine Arts Academy, the Duomo (Cathedral), the Uffizi Gallery, the trade fair complex with the Florence Congress Centre and the Fortezza da Basso. The Hotel offers a pleasant environment, with relaxing colours, modern furniture and friendly service which, together with the excellent quality-price ratio, make the Hotel Meridiana the perfect place to stay in Florence, whether for pleasure or business. An attractive restaurant with Tuscan and Italian cuisine is also available. The Hotel has a meeting hall for up to 30 people, as well as an Internet Point service and Wi-Fi coverage. There is also an attended car park reserved for Guests. The Hotel Meridiana belongs to the Panorama group of independently owned hotels. The group was founded in Florence in 1990 with the intention of creating a "panorama" of different options to answer the needs of all types of guest who wish to stay in a prestigious hotel in Florence for either pleasure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing