We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Meridiana”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Meridiana
Ranked #277 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay at Hotel Meridiana”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We traveled to Florence via the 'bullet train' from Venice and upon getting into the train station, we took a bus to the hotel --- bus number 1 to the Cionfo Binlecure stop (it should appear within the bus on a sign) and then walk in the opposite direction you came from and it will be on the right hand side. You could also take bus number 17, but you would have to walk much farther -- if you have not been here before, take bus number 1.

Upon walking in, you will notice that it is not new, but not an older hotel either. It has an updated foyer and there is more than one elevator. Note that you will be required to pay a VAT (city tax or value added tax) for each night you stay there.

The room we stayed in was on the third floor, which mean it is actually on the fourth floor... We had a nice few from the back of the hotel and it was very quiet.

It was mentioned before that the breakfast was lacking any type of meat(s), but this is typical for Italy, bread with some cheese or butter spread is the norm. If you want a significant breakfast, lunch or dinner, I suggest going somewhere outside of the hotel.

Here are a couple of recommendations when traveling to this hotel:

1) Bring your own bar of soap as the soap provided is a packet of liquid.
2) Bring your own shampoo and/or conditioner, what the hotel provides is not enough.
3) Understand that this is an older hotel and it may or may not have a bath tub -- our room did not have a tub, but it did have a wonderful shower and the bathroom was quite large.
4) Bring water back with you at the end of the day or you can purchase water from a vending machine.
5) There is wifi access in the lobby only and it is quite expensive, I would look for a cafe for free wifi.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a cheap, affordable hotel. It was easy to get to, the staff was friendly and it was relatively close to everything or you could take a bus from a nearby bus stop.

Lastly, I stayed there December 1st - 2nd and the weather in Florence was very comfortable (cool at night) and it was not crowded at all...

Room Tip: Upon checking into the hotel, ask if you can have a room that doesn't face the street and is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SysCntrSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    126
    135
    34
    18
See reviews for
63
121
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Stayed at this Hotel as part of a Cosmos Tour. The rooms were very poor needing a update the shower was quite small the dinner was average and the breakfast below par. If I went back to Florence I would never stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clifford1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Hotel Meridiana was excellent. It was located in a good area, close to convenient transportation and superb dining. It was also a pleasant walk to the city center, again through beautiful neighborhoods. The Hotel was extremely quiet, even when facing a busy street. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Wifi was fast and always available. There were always umbrellas available at the front door, which was great considering the rain. The rooms were very clean. We would definelly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miky275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

for the price the hotel was good, we had a room which had a window situated to the main st. so it was noisy, the airconditioning didint work, but we were too tired...so no prob. to fall asleep, other friends had a window to a garden which was lovely....the rooms were tidy etc...the main prob. i had with a bold man at breakfast i came at 9:30 am no ham on the table i asked him to put on the table some and he brought me some on the plate!!!! my friend asked for a tee and he just rolled his eyes - terrible, later on my firends came and there was no bread..., so my only problem was with this man....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luisika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This place was just nasty. The rooms were tiny, with the kind of dirt that's clearly been there for a long time - stained walls, carpets, etc. The walls are paper thin so you can hear everything - especially any noise in the hallway. The shower is so small that you hit your elbows on the stall doors every time you move. The free breakfast is so disgusting that the only thing I could bring myself to eat was the packaged yogurt. It's also a good 20-25 minute walk to the downtown area where all the sights are. And the first part of the walk is really frustrating because you have to cross a giant traffic circle and the only way to safely get across is to detour around it where there are crosswalks. I truly can't believe this has a 3-star rating. Doesn't deserve it.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelcritic50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My wife and 2 teenage children stayed here for 1 night at the end of our 2 week trip. Located on a busy road going into and out of Florence. So, if you have a room on the street side, don't plan on sleeping. You will need to take a bus or Taxi to get into Historic Florence. Very clean. Modern bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the street side of the Hotel. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MElchinoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Had the mispleasure of staying in this run down Hotel. Rooms falling apart and received injuries from failing equipment and the management were mostly concerned with not upsetting their day rather than if we were OK.
Had other people also complain about the lack of maintenenance in their rooms, plugs falling out of the walls etc. Avoid staying here if you can.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driver032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#247 of 421 in Florence
506 reviews
Hotel Annalena
#217 of 421 in Florence
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#286 of 421 in Florence
542 reviews
Hotel Panama
#241 of 421 in Florence
402 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#104 of 421 in Florence
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meridiana

Property: Hotel Meridiana
Address: Viale Don Giovanni Minzoni 25, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Meridiana 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Meridiana is a modern hotel in Florence. It has recently been restructured and is excellent for those travelling for leisure or business, and offers a perfect combination of comfort and convenience. Being situated near the historic centre, everything is within easy reach: the Piazza della Libertà, the Fine Arts Academy, the Duomo (Cathedral), the Uffizi Gallery, the trade fair complex with the Florence Congress Centre and the Fortezza da Basso. The Hotel offers a pleasant environment, with relaxing colours, modern furniture and friendly service which, together with the excellent quality-price ratio, make the Hotel Meridiana the perfect place to stay in Florence, whether for pleasure or business. An attractive restaurant with Tuscan and Italian cuisine is also available. The Hotel has a meeting hall for up to 30 people, as well as an Internet Point service and Wi-Fi coverage. There is also an attended car park reserved for Guests. The Hotel Meridiana belongs to the Panorama group of independently owned hotels. The group was founded in Florence in 1990 with the intention of creating a "panorama" of different options to answer the needs of all types of guest who wish to stay in a prestigious hotel in Florence for either pleasure or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meridiana Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing