We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location, great value”
Review of Hotel Olimpia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Olimpia
Ranked #302 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed for three nights in July 2012 and please ignore the negatives. Simply put at this price you will not get beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious facilities and five star dining. It really bugs me when people have unrealistic expectations when they are paying very little. Firstly, the bathroom/shower is a wet room so yes it is small but so what? You get clean after all. The room is basically furnished but clean; the ac works nicely and despite those who complained the noise from outside is barely noticeable. It will not keep you awake. The lift works so no problem there and if you have children they will love its old fashioned quaintness. The breakfast is ok, not great but it will fill you up. Look upon it as fuel and then you won't be disappointed. The staff are friendly as well. What makes this place worth four stars is its location on a lovely old square and only five minutes from the Duomo. This is worth the price alone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 306 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

For the price I paid (I think it was around 100 euros), I considered the hotel to be good value. The location is great, the AC worked well, and I thought the staff were friendly. Yes, the shower in the bathroom was unusual, but that is really my only complaint.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed 4 days at the Olimpia Hotel in July 2012. The room is clean and very basic, with a private bathroom. The shower is a little inconvenient as it is right between bidet and toilet and has no separate area, it is like you shower in the whole area. The breakfast is served in the 4th floor next to the reception. The building has an elevator, which many hotels dont have. Breakfast is a nice sweet Italian breakfast with good coffee and bakery. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location in priceless. It is like 5-10 min away from all you need to see in Florence. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayAbdelasim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Negatives: Staff reluctantly helpful, shower was in the middle of the bathroom and had an inadequate shower curtain (this is an understatement - every inch of the bathroom was soaked), powerfull toilet flushing noises from various toilets in the hotel all night long, other noises from area above our room.
Positives: Location was great, AC was great, and size of the room was huge by European standards.
Overall, I would not stay here again. The location was great, but Florence is a small city and other hotels that are further away from the Duomo would be fine.

Room Tip: Bring your ear plugs and your locker room water shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CommonsenseTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room was not very comfortable, and very loud. We were at the end of the hallway from the front desk, but could hear everything going on there. The beds were also very uncomfortable. The bathroom was not situated very well, with the shower in the corner, and water would get all over the toilet and sink. They claim WiFi, but dont mention that it costs extra for 24 Hrs of usage. The location is excellent, right in the middle of the square, and walking distance to everything. But the hotel has a lot to be desired. I will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Remember that WiFi costs extra, I believe it was 5 or 10 Euro for 24 hrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Ok, so the toilet is small, the shower is an experience however the rooms are functional and the views are amazing.

Second time stayed here, and we were again not disappointed. Great lying on the bed listening to the music from the Piazza downstairs. The location is excellant and you would be hard pressed for somewhere more central in Florence.

Breakfast could be improved, but I just stayed in bed instead for this!

Thanks to Maurico again for another pleasent stay. Helpful reception staff at all times.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

You cannot get a better location - so if that is your priority then I would say to go for this!

Hotel is in a main square and you have to go to top florr (4th floor by stairs or lift) to reception

We had a triple room which was big but pretty basic in there.

Bathroom was a bit weird as was very compact but did the job

We didn't spend much time in room due to great location so get out and see Florence instead.

Wi Fi cost a fee and was terrible with very poor connectivity

Breakfast was usual continental and good

I would stay here again for location and price but quality of room was average IMO so if that is a big thing for you then go somewhere else

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Scoti
Hotel Scoti
#201 of 410 in Florence
303 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Villani
Hotel Villani
#228 of 410 in Florence
114 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Maxim
Hotel Maxim
#232 of 410 in Florence
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#347 of 410 in Florence
215 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#218 of 410 in Florence
172 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Benivieni
Hotel Benivieni
#209 of 410 in Florence
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olimpia

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 2, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $74 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olimpia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Olimpia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olimpia Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing