We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #345 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location was right in the middle of all sights and very close to the station. Previous comments from others regarding the carpets are accurate, they should be replaced as they are grubby. However this is the only complaint I have. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room itself was a good size. Breakfast was fine and altogether the hotel offers excellent value for money,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megdarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 373 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lifts unsafe and inadequate. Our room small & not v clean, bathroom horrible. Carpets, particularly in corridors, stained and dirty - also frayed and lifted in places. Breakfast facilities a joke for large number of people.

Room Tip: Can only speak of our room but I believe there are nicer rooms. Still does not solve problem with l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B - B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful both times we stayed at Hotel Rex. (2010 and 2012) The breakfast was very good. Room was a good size and clean. Close to the train station and within walking distance of major attractions. People at the front desk are willing to suggest a good place to eat that is not far away where we had one of the best dinners both years we were in Florence and the service was also very good. They will also suggest where to shop.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annamarie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Rex hotel wasd ideally located only a short walk from the station and really central to most of the must see locations in Florence. It was 2 minutes away from the street markets where a great deal was always available and within walking distance to evrything else. The rooms were not huge but were clean and comfortable. A small lift made access to the rooms wiht heavy suitcases very easy. A good number of restaurants very close by and a bar directly opposite if you wanted it. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Smmall, but nice rooms with fireplace and books and dinner room.

good room and good bathroom.

100 m f statzone.....................

4 minuts to catedral-------------

the prices is really favorable.

Wee slipped very good......

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fra-oede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed at! Rooms were so moldy it gave me a respiratory attack! Bed had lice on it big enough to photograph! The worst part was that we left the room after it was cleaned and returned to a bed that was undoubtedly used for sex!! Found hair and spunk on the sheets! They refused to even refund us and we had no choice but to stay there whilst trying not to gag from sheer disgust!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Saadiq_Sayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sangiorgio, Responsabile reception at Hotel Rex, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

We where surprised for your comments regarding our hotel, 12 months later ( one Year ) we suppose maybe that you d'ont remember the Hotel name where you where last year, it is really impossible find our rooms uncleaned our Staff floors change the sheets every day.
We invite you to provide to amend very very soon your recension regarding our hotel
sencerely the management of hotel Rex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Hotel is easy to find, and only about 5-10 mins walk from the main bus station. It is easy to walk around Florence and see all the wonderful sights from the hotel. Clean, tidy rooms with decent bathrooms and breakfast was good value. The downside for me was that the wifi only works downstairs in the lobby areas - but it is free so I couldn't complain too much! I thought the cost was a bit high, but maybe thats what you have to pay for that area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
San Giorgio e Olimpic
San Giorgio e Olimpic
#243 of 410 in Florence
658 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Benci
Hotel Palazzo Benci
#274 of 410 in Florence
224 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#153 of 410 in Florence
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Alinari
Hotel Alinari
#303 of 410 in Florence
319 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
Hotel Il Poeta Dante
#185 of 410 in Florence
315 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Faenza 6, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #345 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $56 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned & managed with modern ensuite facilities; located 200 meters from Santa Maria Novella Rail Station; near the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing