We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
Ranked #212 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

If you were planning on getting any sleep in this hotel you will be sadly mistaken! The beds are 2 singles pushed together to make a double and the mattress is terrible! We unfortunately had to stay here for 5 night and it was the worst nights of our lives! My partner and I got barely 3hrs of sleep on the first night and I'm sure as all travelers know after days and hours of traveling to your destination all you want is a good bed to sleep in.

The next day we went to talk to their staff asking if there were better beds or if there was any alternative. The man behind the counter just looked at us and was very rude on saying all beds are the same in a tone like 'what do you want me to do about it' after much convincing he allowed us a couple of extra pillows and blankets so we could 'soften' the bed.

After we attempted to make the beds slightly more comfortable we ventured out about 1pm still trying to catch up on any sleep we could on the concrete hard beds and had a bike your around Florence which was beautiful until I was sick due to the lack of sleep the night before and had to end the tour early. NOT IMPRESSED!

The following nights since then were terrible to say the least! Both of us waking up constantly due to hips and shoulders aching (keep in mind were in our mid 20s) because it actually feels worse then concrete!

So not only are the beds terrible but add on top of that Mosquitos! We had to go out and buy bug spray for the nights.

I've done a lot of traveling in my life and this isn't my idea of a holiday! Having sleepless nights getting bitten all over and rude staff! This isn't what I signed up for!

On the plus side which isn't very big is that it is very well located able to walk to everything which was handy.
There were heaps of hotels in the same location my suggestion if you are looking at this hotel would be to go on google street view and look at the other hotels!

Please avoid hotel Boccaccio at all costs! Not worth it! If you want a good nights sleep don't look here!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mishy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 504 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel is within block of train/bus terminal. Staff at front desk was most helpful. My room was small, but clean and wonderfully air conditioned. Very nice breakfast selection. Only complaint was poor Wi-Fi connection.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Location is perfect-easy walk from train station. Once settled an easy walk in to center of Florence. Staff is friendly and helpful. I love the enclosed terrace great place for a drink and snack before dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a pleasant,clean 3-star hotel, located very close to the main train station and to the Congress Centre. Good points: pleasant, helpful staff, and a good breakfast. The hotel is an easy walk to the Duomo and the main tourist attractions. Less good: small rooms with very basic furnishings (2 single beds joined to make a double). Paid wifi, which only worked in the main lounge. The conference rate we paid for a double was 130 euros (with breakfast) - far higher than the rates we now see advertised. When we returned later in the month when the hotel was nearly fully booked the price was 180 euros/night. Would we return? Yes, but not for those prices.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank crawfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked 2 days in advance, arrived by train, and Boccaccio was only across the street, they gave us the room number 101, that has it's own, lovely, petite outdoors terrace, completely silent, clean and comfortable room, just a couple streets away from all the important destinations, we reached everything walking. The breakfast is simple, but practical, and has all you need to feel satisfied. The front desk staff is absolutely professional, and gently answer all the questions. Very nice and practical hotel. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Small but comfortable. Room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maricarmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel has a good location, walking distance to the centre (p. Signoria etc.). The rooms were good, and some even had their own balconies! Breakfast was very basic, I would rather go to a bar if possible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
Thank Morten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

In the center of the action, just accross santa maria novella main station. All famous squares are walking distance. clean and quiet but you get what you pay for , it was for 75 Eruo with breakfast. It is not the type that you stay in it all day, i ve come here only to sleep, and it has suited me. The internet is not free but the staff offered it for me for free.
I asked for a taxi early morning while i was getting ready , and once i got down i found him waiting. So I appreiciated it

The room is alittle small though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mouk a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#194 of 410 in Florence
711 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#169 of 410 in Florence
400 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#165 of 410 in Florence
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Vasari Palace
Hotel Vasari Palace
#148 of 410 in Florence
514 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
Hotel Palazzo Vecchio
#160 of 410 in Florence
602 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Delle Nazioni Hotel
Delle Nazioni Hotel
#182 of 410 in Florence
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via della Scala 59, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $76 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing