We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey hotel with helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
Ranked #215 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Looks just like the pictures! Very homey and cosy hotel extremly easy to find and near SM Novella station. Clean and tidy. Nice bathrooms. Triple rooms available. Nice, charming and helpful staff. Breakfast is quite simple but gets you through to lunch. Easy booking via homepage if you do not need to change. The hotel staff are good at recommending restaurants and sights. I want to go back at once!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 498 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel has a great location near the train station, and close to sights, restaurants, and the river. However, being central, the street is noisy. The hotel was clean, attractive, and staff was helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, a decent size, but the bathroom shower was the smallest I've ever seen. Don't drop the soap because you have to back out into the room to pick it up. A great little place for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2islandhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Room 103: Dead bug on bathroom ceiling, live one on floor. In general, smells funny. Blankets are hard, as in NOT soft. The sheets and pillowcases are hard too!! Sandpaper! The guys at the front desk have no clue about anything. Slept fine, except on second night. The walls ARE paper thin!! Psycho lady next door on the phone...omg. I had to call reception twice!!! 2am!!!! Location is normal. 15 minute walk to center. I would NOT go back and I do NOT recommend it!! There are about 20 other places on that street, check them out. Parking=25euro per day, wifi is NOT free. Train station: you can see it from the front of the hotel, it's that close.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephaniecls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

I was in this hotel for three nights at the beginning of January and it was a very good experience. The staff was very friendly the position is good because it's near the railway station and the cathedral, value of price..

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stayed with my girlfriend at the hotel Boccaccio. our room (room n° 108) was very spacious and romantic. I spent 3 wonderful days.The hotel is located near the train station and all the museums. Breakfast is plentiful but the only bad thing is that there is no fresh fruit
The staff was wonderful especially Frederico and Ronny made us feel right at home have managed to book museums and tours. recommend it to even go to dinner at their restaurant La Carabaccia. Excellent food great service
Finally a nice hotel and great restaurant

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therussianbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

excellent hotel in a great location for visiting all the major attractions of the city. excellent breakfast and the breakfast lady was very polite and friendly. The rooms are not very large but are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff was very friendly warm welcome at check in and was able to meet all my requests. Federico found me tickets booked tour museums and recommended some good ristoranti.La carabaccia is an excellent restaurant that I recommend to all above board to take the soup carabaccia who advised me Federico. i will definitely come back to this hotel I recommend to all

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spider5429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

My room was a smoking room (I didn't realize it had smoking rooms), there was a funky smell and the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. I requested a non-smoking room and was first told there were no other rooms available and then told I could move to a double room for an extra 60 euro per night. When I checked for room availability on the internet I found there were indeed single rooms available. I told one of the owners I did not appreciate being lied to and nothing was done. In addition, I was told the hotel had CNN only to find out that they in fact, did not.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iu1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#193 of 410 in Florence
701 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Aurora Hotel
Aurora Hotel
#162 of 410 in Florence
396 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#135 of 410 in Florence
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Alba Palace
Hotel Alba Palace
#78 of 410 in Florence
1,487 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ester
Hotel Ester
#167 of 410 in Florence
433 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Gioia
Hotel Gioia
#152 of 410 in Florence
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via della Scala 59, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $84 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing