We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Expedia.com
$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/22
Priceline
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/08/22
Hotels.com$84
Travelocity$84
travelup.com$89
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
118
257
180
96
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
118
257
180
96
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old building duomo europe heart storage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 711 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2018

And if you are headed for Florence, maybe you will not want to. Located about equidistance from the Duomo and the Academie, everything in old Florence is within walking distance. That means too, restaurants, gelotti and leather goods shops. Housed on the 2nd-5th floors of an architect's former 17th century palazzo, its 22 rooms are clean, bed very comfortable, breakfast is Italian adequate, and the view of the Duomo dome from the bar at night is astounding. It does have A/C for those who visit in summer. Desk staff were ultra friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Room windows will open if weather is agreeable. Web site has pictures.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pbrittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

The positive :
It really is in the perfect spot to visit Florence. Right between the Academia museum and the Duomo. You have plenty of places to eat nearby. You can even check the line to the Duomo from your window.

The meh :
The rooms vary greatly in size and comfort for the same price. Don't hesitate to ask for a change.
The breakfast is acceptable but is void of any extra temptation. You can consider this a good thing if you try to mitigate the impact of Italian food on your figure.

The bad :
Phonic insulation is non existent. If you have a street side room, you will wake up at 7 no matter what. If you face the other way, you will still hear the AC or the shower from the other rooms.
Maintenance is substandard for any category of accommodation. We had a shower head taped to the column.
The bathrooms are small, the shower cabins are smaller. I didn't care as I weigh 70 kg. But anyone larger will struggle in these.
The towels belong to the cheapest category, are thin as sheets and will rip your skin off if you scrub too hard.

Overall, this really leaves the feeling that the management will use the great location as the only selling point without caring a second about the costumer's experience. There must be better deals around.

Room tip: Avoid the street at all cost
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginobili
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Hotel California is all about location. You can stay in more expensive places. You can stay in cheaper places. You will have a hard time finding a place for this price one block from The David. A 10 minute stroll to The Uffizi. 12 minute walk to the train station. Less than 15 minutes to The Ponte Vecchio. A decent breakfast comes with your room. The roof top bar...incredible view of The Duomo at night ( 6-12 midnight)...don’t miss this view. It’s an old palace with remodeled touches. Buy from their website for the best deal.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

Just location which is very very convenience. I stayed at room 22A, room size is small but acceptable. Showering part in toilet is too and unreasonable small.
Service is just fair. Breakfast is not much to eat, it is much lower than expectation

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank nisitj2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and 2 boys, 12 and 14. We had 2 rooms very close to each other. A king bed for us and 2 twin beds for the boys. Our view was great, the Duomo was very beautiful lit up at night. The bathroom had a rain shower. Air conditioning was greAt, water was hot, room updated and comfortable bed. The breakfast was decent and started our day of sightseeing right. It was well located to everything we wanted to see, yet was very restful. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Shf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews