We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Florence with a parking garage right next door!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Florence
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel in a real hurry working on patchy wifi in Pisa - you get the picture.

Google maps got us there perfectly without any trouble and the bonus of having a parking garage literally right next door to the hotel was great. On the same street as the Academia that houses Michaelangelo's David and the Cathedral at the end of the street - location is perfect.

Staff were really friendly and helpful - we extended the booking (from one night) on a very good rate and they helped us locate another hotel for the final night of our stay when they were fully booked.

Rooms were clean and bathrooms better standard than most - although it did appear that our bath leaked it was fine with a bathmat and we were too busy exploring Florence to remember to tell them.

Breakfast was fine but wifi is extra and extremely patchy we ended up doing most of our planning at restaurants over meals, which wasn't ideal.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Contentnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 557 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in October. The hotel has an excellent location, Is very clean, has very helpful staff and is quiet . Beds are comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is good and plenty of coffee and expresso is available.Hotel will call you a taxi , if needed, and it will show within 5 minutes. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herbbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Very nice place to stay, clean, tidy, well maintained. Handy to everything including David and the Ponte Vecchio. Great restaurant,loved the food morning and evening, great staff, very helpful and obliging....room well set out and very comfy, would have liked in room coffee and tea making but cant have everything I suppose. Our second time there and it is still a good one.

Room Tip: Anyone will be good...stay there, its a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Our room was nice, clean and comfortable bed and pillows. The ac worked well. The breakfast is very good and always fresh. Nice little space to eat in the garden. The terrace has a partial view to the Duomo and its almost in the corner! The only thing I didnt care for was the safe, too small...
The wifi is not free, an inconvenience for anyone.
The front desk is corteous and helpfull.
Will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinghappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Nikolaj G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our only night in Florence. Well located, walking distance to the train and the duomo and historical sites. We stayed in what I believe must be the best room in the place, with high ceilings, crown molding, terrace and the best view of the duomo. The front desk staff was nice but lack technological support. The hotel overall seems to be haphazardly run, with random rooms being used for storage, poor Internet wifi service (additional charge), a small rooftop "bar" that is underutilized, and breakfast too that is poorly stocked and unappetizing. All in all the room was so good we would stay here again and just skip the breakfast and local bar. There's so much to do in Florence anyway that all you need is a good bed and good bathroom and both were perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located near the heart of Renaissance Florence. My companions and I found it easy to walk to any of the sites we wished to see, including Il Duomo, the Uffizzi, and the Ponte Vecchio.

The hotel itself is attractive enough inside. The rooms are a little small by North American standards. My bathroom included a non-functioning jacuzzi tub, while my companions' room had a shower. There was air conditioning with an electronic control panel in the room. You must pay 10E per day for WiFi. I found it strange that a 3-Star hotel would not include free WiFi.

The included breakfast was adequate. There were somewhat stale cornetti, jam, hot cereal, some fruit, ham, and the worst coffee that I had during my month in Italy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Costantini
Costantini
#348 of 409 in Florence
215 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#87 of 409 in Florence
1,853 reviews
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#117 of 409 in Florence
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
Hotel Tornabuoni Beacci
#130 of 409 in Florence
816 reviews
Duomo
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
#146 of 409 in Florence
823 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#99 of 409 in Florence
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Florence

Address: Via Ricasoli 30, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $88 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel California Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing