We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California Florence
Ranked #256 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Ohio
Level Contributor
597 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Florence is a small compact city, so I'm sure lots of hotels have amazing locations. The breakfast was very good and the bed was comfy. The only "problem" I had was trying to leaving at 6:30 in the morning. the front doors were still locked at the street level and there was no light down there. Solid place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    203
    131
    58
    37
See reviews for
112
203
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were allocated a room where there was lot of noise during the night from the street cleaning vehicles!
There was not even a single english language tv channel and even the staff were clueless whether there was one! Breakfast was average,
Otherwise location very convenient for seeing Florence!

Room Tip: Avoid room 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocks26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The location is good, everything is within walking distance. The rooms however, were okay. The beds were uncomfortable and the towels were this weird fabric. Because the hotel is centralized there was a lot of noise coming from the outiside at night. The breakfast was descent but I don't think i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov2travelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location of the hotel was perfect. Easy walking distance to just about anything, including my daughter's college apartment located on the same street. The first room we had was a bit small, especially the bathroom (no storage). However when we upgraded to a larger room the bathroom had double sinks and a bathtub/shower. The breakfast was more than adequate. I don't know why others have complained about the breakfast. Hotel California offers more food than the average European breakfast. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. It is very easy to get a cab at the hotel as the cab stand (and a main bus stop) are just a block away. All in all if you are looking for a good value and a clean place to stay in a great location - I highly recommend the Hotel California.

Room Tip: Upgrade for the larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Well done to California Hotel staff! The rooms and all building areas were very clean, with beautiful, inspiring architecture, the restaurant menu good, .... if I am to add the Italian wines and the central location in the historical heart of Florence, you will probably have the full picture of a place breathing beauty, style, durability, essence as I had.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the 4 star rating/price and move on. I know its just a dollar or 2 more per night compared to a 3.5 star. However what you will quickly learn is that this hotel spent all their money on the facade while skimping on the customer experience. Despite its decent location, I've found the follow unacceptable for a 4 star hotel:

Bad:
Non functioning AC
Non functioning TV
A shower faucet combo that is too small for an average American (180lbs). I ended up constantly bumping into the shower valve when washing resulted in either extremely hot or cold water bursts
A bed that is essentially a table top with a thin mattress and inadequate blankets
Flat pillows
The roughest , I mean roughest, towels I have ever encountered. I'm not even sure if it can be considered a towel. I wouldn't even use it on my car fearing for scratches. One can prob use it to sand some walls. <-- okay may not be that rough but you get the gist

Okay:
Breakfast is okay. Nothing I'd write home about but not terrible
The room is small but adequate for European travels

Good:
Location is nice

Summary: you'll be greeted by a statue of David with paulie d ( Jersey shore) 's face. The place looks nice but you'll soon feel bamboozled by the entire experience. My advice would be to book a 3.5 star in the same area for a better relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sapient007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
339 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Hotel is located few blocks from Duomo on one side and Gallery on other side. Everything in "old" town within 10 minutes of walking. We had a large room 9B with large balcony (could not use because of rain). Shower was kind on a tiny size. Room was spotless. The breakfast was reasonable, but considering that Florence has one of the best food in Italy, could be better. Internet is for fee. Parking for fees is below hotel. Personnel was very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Ginori al Duomo - Italhotels Group
San Lorenzo
B4 Astoria Firenze
B4 Astoria Firenze
#148 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Strozzi Palace Hotel
Strozzi Palace Hotel
#131 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#113 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#83 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California Florence

Property: Hotel California Florence
Address: Via Ricasoli 30, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel California Florence 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing