We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sincere, Considerate and Professional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #29 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2014

I stayed there from 23th to 24th August with my daughter. During these two days, the staff showed me their positive attitude to each guest - helpful, knowledgeable and passionate. To a pure Hong Konger, the Italian language is rather difficult and cannot be easily understood. The staff taught me a few Italian greeting words. To my 13-yr-old daughter, she learnt where could buy a cup of valued-for-money gelato and rent a segway from a beautiful young lady called Anna Ezia there. As for the morning breakfast moment, we did enjoy the interaction with those staff in the breakfast room. They would not interrupt my dialogues with daughter but indicated their caring say simply asked "one more expresso for you, but how about your baby?.." A kind lady called Evelyn came across my mind right now...
As for the environment and facilities, I think it is extremely valued-for-money in terms of the price. Modern outlook and spacious toilet plus bathroom. If I will visit Florence again, I will definitely consider NH Porta Rossa as a "must" hotel for either personal or business trips.
Grazie Mille.....every smiling face in NH Porta Rossa.
Shirley Woo.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldassare S, Responsabile reception at NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for the trust you have placed in our chain NH Hotel Group first of all and for having shared your experience with us regarding your stay at the NH Collection Porta Rossa.

We care a lot about our guest’s experience and want you to know that we hope to have you back again in our hotel soon. For this reason please contact us directly and we will take care about you personally.

All the Team at NH Collection Porta Rossa is willing to assist and make sure you will get great experience during your stay.

Just for your information the NH Porta Rossa seems to be one of the oldest hotel in Italy and it is under the care of the Fine Arts.The hotel was re-opened in March 2010 after two years of renovation works.As you could see many frescos were recovered from the past.

The Hotel is recently part of Preferred Boutique and since April 2014 has become NH COLLECTION hotel, so many new amenities and attractive services.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you and kind regards,

Baldassare Schembri
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2014

I have stayed in many major cities and towns in Europe & always check in with limited expectations. For a city break, NH Porta Rossa is perfect... No it doesn't have the pool of some other hotels but in this price range you can't go wrong. 95 of us descended in Florence for a wedding, so I have a considered view & wouldn't hesitate to recommend.... If your budget is considerably higher, please see my other review of Villa Cora.

Concierge / reception couldn't do enough for us - booking restaurants, booking attractions, suggesting things & just generally having a smile on their face regardless of who was on shift. My wife wanted to have a nail appointment, we required a printer - NH went out of their way to find them for us. (Particular thanks to Anna & Baldo).

Location is a 5 min stroll from palazzo vecchio, therefore meaning that you are in the centre of town. You don't need a car if you are in Porta Rossa nor do you need to really use a taxi.

If it's not too much extra, add the breakfast to your room - egg station, fresh bakery, salads, cereals - I couldn't have asked for more... We even decided to have some prosecco as part of the breakfast on our last day.

There is a cool little cafe directly outside the front door... Just be careful if you sit in to have a drink... €10 for a beer (but this is nothing to do with the hotel). La Bussola, however, does a fantastic Tuscan pizza - also v close to the hotel! The hotel recommendations are good... But, there is only one which I would personally recommend - il parione (see separate review).

If NH Porta Rossa is on your list then do not hesitate to book - but if someone from the hotel is reading - you need to do something about that guy who hangs round outside.

Be careful of your bags in florence... We lost a bag at Moyo bar & a wallet at Palazzo Vecchio - but this didn't spoil what is one of my favourite cities in Europe.

Room Tip: All rooms have an espresso machine but you get more room in a junior suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sully_Caffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The hotel is very central. The staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.
The decor is superb, it looked a bit like a museum, and they have artwork and antiques on display, in the rooms and common areas. The breakfast was really good. The rooms are larger then normal, and modern.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupesh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

When you stay at NH Porta Rossa, you're not just an observer of Florentine history, you're part of it. As the oldest hotel in Florence, with parts of the building dating back 1000 years, this beautiful hotel effortlessly blends the modern with the past. There's interesting architectural features and pieces dotted throughout the hotel which add to the charm and interest.

We stayed in a deluxe room which featured a large, stylish bathroom, a modern take on the four-poster bed, a high ceiling with elaborate, focal-piece chandelier and original stone steps leading up to the windows. It really was a beautiful room.

The breakfast was first-rate as was the overall service, the staff being friendly, helpful and attentive throughout.

Following a jaunt around Tuscany we came back to Florence, but had pre-booked the Gallery Hotel Art. To be honest, I wish we'd gone back to NH Porta Rossa.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are in a different league from the standard ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkAnnaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

It's always such a luxury to have a courtesy tray (complimentary coffee & tea facilities) in a European hotel as it's not always the norm. Located near the river Arno, NH Porta Rossa is close enough to all the landmarks on either side of the bridge.

We had no issues with noise. Our only fault with the hotel was that our room did have a dank smell that kept emanating coming from the drains in the shower which made it unpleasant if the windows were closed for too long.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. Location is great and easy access to all popular places of interests. Front desk recommends great restaurants. We stayed on higher floor so no noise issue. Rooms are clean and neat.

Room Tip: Higher floor less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lcyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014. As mentioned in the other reviews here, the location is very good and the rooms are well-appointed. Service was friendly but not effusively so. Breakfast was average with a fair selection, but they would frequently run out of fruit.

There were a couple of minor drawbacks… First, the street noise can get a bit loud due to the thin windows. We were on the 2nd floor and it would get quite noisy. Ask for a room on a higher floor so as to avoid this scenario. Second, the wifi is pretty atrocious. The service went completely down for 2 nights of our stay. I have read other reviews here that also mention the poor wifi service. This seems to be a pervasive problem at this hotel and it makes me wonder why action hasn’t been taken to put in a long-term fix. In this day and age, this should be a relatively easy solution that can only enhance the experience of future guests.

Overall, a good hotel but just shy of meeting expectations of a “luxury” stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor or away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank demonpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,337 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#89 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 410 in Florence
1,132 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 410 in Florence
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa 19 Rosso | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $184 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, NHHotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing