We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #28 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Marlow, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I returned to this hotel 30 years after we stayed here during our Honeymoon trip to Italy. Florence is as wonderful as ever, and the Porta Rossa even better. Today it is part of the NH Hotel group and has been beautifully restored bringing out some of the historic features of this 12th century building.

We had a superior room on the first floor at the back of the hotel which was very large and spotless. It looked over the narrow street behind which was very quiet. We arrived by train and decided to walk to the hotel which only took 10 minutes.The location of this hotel is excellent. It's a short walk to Piazza della Signoria and the Ponte Vecchio.

If you are looking for a full service hotel with restaurant then this might not for you. But with so many places to enjoy Italian food nearby that should hardly be a problem to most people. The breakfast buffet is good and the staff always ready to welcome you and take an order for a cappuccino or an espresso. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful too and recommended restaurants and made dinner reservations for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    400
    78
    16
    13
See reviews for
249
980
63
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fantastic location, right in the centre of everything and on the really smart side of town. Staff were all very polite and helpful and the room (mini suite 116) was excellent, really spacious and very stylish.

Wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jslondon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location. The staff are very nice and speak many languages. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a very short walk to many key attractions. Despite being close to many attractions the street itself is very quiet. We stayed for a weekend and wish it could have been longer. We were also surprised by a room upgrade for free. They also serve a free breakfast buffet which is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Due to a medical emergency with my daughter that happened the day before we were to depart the U.S., we had to cancel our 2-week vacation to Europe. We had reservations in 6 hotels and 5 of them generously understood our situation and cancelled our reservations without charge, or with a charge of just $25 per night. Not the NH Porta Rossa, in Florence! They insisted on charging the full USD 2,100. I offered to provide the hospital and doctor contact information and they still refused. Not even a prior stay at the same hotel and numerous stays at other NH hotels was enough loyalty to get any concession. Nor was the low season and low occupancy! I will never stay in a NH hotel again and all should beware that they'll screw you even in the event of a real medical emergency. BTW, the discount I rec'd for prepaying the room was $15 per night. They are a scam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pgartlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have stayed there for 3 nights. Excellent location! 10 mins walk from Firenze SMN station and so close to major attractions, shops and resturants. In arrival we've been told that we have got a free upgrade from superior room to junior suite which is really a suprise for us! Nice staff that speak good english.

it's like an art/design hotel and there's good decoration in lobby, corridor and of course in the room. We've a room on the 1st floor but luckily it's facing the back so we don't have the noise problem. The room is spacious with big comfortable bads. Breakfast is definately of high standard using Italy standard with egg/becon, lots of juice, fruit, bread/cake, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is located right in the center - minutes away from Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria.
If you need to park your car, there's a parking garage (not owned by the hotel) right behind the hotel (you can use the backside entrance) on Via delle Terme. It's a little bit expensive (25 eur/night) but this is the right price for parking in the historical center area.
Please note that you are in ZTL (limited traffic zone), so, unless you drive following the indications of the parking guys, on specific streets, you will pay around 90 EUR every time you smile at the camera!
It's not very complicated, so I encourage anyone to take a car since Florence can be seen in no more than 2-3 days, then Tuscany has much more to offer!

Regarding the hotel - if you look for old Italian style experience - you're at the right place. It belongs to the special NH collection; service and value for money are excellent!
However, if you need more luxury, I recommend to purchase a superior room.
Our room was standard and quite small. I liked it, but if you need more space purchase a bigger one.
Hotel decorations and some well preserved old items created a special, distinguished atmosphere.
Breakfast was decent for 4 stars and restaurant was not too crowded (as in other NH hotels I've been to). They serve excellent Italian espresso or cappuccino!
The only problem was that every morning, around 7, a little street-washing truck was passing by our window and it was making a terrible noise.
Unfortunately it happens all around Florence and, since the buildings are old, I believe they aren't allowed to use noise-proof windows which would damage the architectural design.
A big thank you to the restaurant and reception staff! They were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mircea2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we arrived early and the staff were so helpful, especially the young manager who, whilst we left our bags to start our visit, upgraded us to a suite on the third floor. Unfortunately though, the suite windows were on the same side as the hotels AC outlets. We tried closing the shutters and the heavy curtains but could not block out the noise enough to stay. We were moved to the first floor room 118. Nice enough room and certainly quieter. There was oen thing though - the smell. The maintenance manager was looking into it but Fabreze was used daily (we stayed for three nights) to mask the 'Firenze problem'.
Breakfast choice and standard was superb. There was a lot of choice so you'd have to eat a lot every morning to complain that you'd get bored eating the same.
Espresso or any variation of was quickly got by the amazingly swift waiting staff
Good location made the stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,310 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#18 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#43 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing