We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent location, nice big room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #24 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice big room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Location couldn't be better right in the center of the high end shopping and close to almost all the attractions. The hotel was nice and the service was friendly. Our room was very large with a nice big bathroom. Breakfast was acceptable, good enough for us to eat there every morning. My only criticism is the it was very loud at night outside on the square. We stayed for 4 nights and it was loud for all of them. You get used to it but perhaps a room facing away from the square might have provided a more restful sleep.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Pquintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    430
    85
    17
    13
See reviews for
282
1,075
70
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December. The hotel itself is gorgeous! Beautiful rooms (we did not upgrade and had a large room) massive bathrooms (!!) and elegant decor, e.g., stenciling in the common areas, stained glass, sweeping staircases. The hotel staff were helpful when asked, but it's the sort of place where you are anonymous unless you need help. The breakfast was elaborate - more so than any other hotel on our trip. We saw a lot of business travelers at breakfast, and just a few couples. It could have been the time of year or cost? Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the streets around the hotel are small. I don't think you'd deal with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeskJobDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are staying at this hotel now as a couple and fully enjoying our time. The location couldn't be better - we are in the middle of everything yet the hotel is quiet and relaxing. The decor is stylish, front desk employees are welcoming and friendly every time you see them. The breakfast isn't lavish (as it's everywhere in Italy) but you will not stay hungry after it for sure.Oh, and we were upgraded to Superior room for free. If you are getting to the hotel by car, the best thing would be to park and walk to the hotel as the whole area is banned for traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladychynska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice hotel very classic.we believe this was one a city palace ??
Nice rooms good location.friendly staff.good breakfast. Nice terrase on the top off the hotel.
Good place to stay not cheap but ok.upstair rooms near elevater and bad smell proberly due to sewage problems we think

Room Tip: Check out the rooms for the bad smell proberly more in the summer we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in a Superior Room for 4 nights. The hotel is a renovated property in an old building. Our room was on the top floor of the building next to the entrance of the "Monalda suite". It was roomy with a large bathroom with a terrific rain shower. Decor is modern classic. The hotel is located in the best part of Florence, tucked away in a quiet area but within walking distance to everything. Great breakfast selection complete with hot foods. Highly recommend this hotel when exploring Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful. The hotel was amazing value for a central location, clean stylish décor and hassle free stay. The breakfast was nice and simple although it's always advisable to try and come down for it before 10 whilst it's freshest.
The girl who seemed to be working at reception the whole time we stayed couldn't have been more helpful and had perfect english. We received a free upgrade when we arrived. The only negative point I would make is that our double bed was two single bed's pushed together on wheels. They were made up separately and moved very easily. In hindsight we should have asked could we change which I'm sure they would have accommodated.

Room Tip: If you are booking a double room over the internet, call the hotel to ask for a double bed rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in December. The location is extremely central and it's good to reach the fashion streets of Florence but also museums and monuments. The rooms are modern and quite small, my room was quite as it was located internally. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was rich and there was a good choice of salty, sweets, gluten free and bio food. One bad note is the lack of room service, that really disappointed me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#19 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing