We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel with great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #29 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are staying at this hotel now as a couple and fully enjoying our time. The location couldn't be better - we are in the middle of everything yet the hotel is quiet and relaxing. The decor is stylish, front desk employees are welcoming and friendly every time you see them. The breakfast isn't lavish (as it's everywhere in Italy) but you will not stay hungry after it for sure.Oh, and we were upgraded to Superior room for free. If you are getting to the hotel by car, the best thing would be to park and walk to the hotel as the whole area is banned for traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladychynska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    463
    93
    18
    15
See reviews for
315
1,157
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice hotel very classic.we believe this was one a city palace ??
Nice rooms good location.friendly staff.good breakfast. Nice terrase on the top off the hotel.
Good place to stay not cheap but ok.upstair rooms near elevater and bad smell proberly due to sewage problems we think

Room Tip: Check out the rooms for the bad smell proberly more in the summer we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in a Superior Room for 4 nights. The hotel is a renovated property in an old building. Our room was on the top floor of the building next to the entrance of the "Monalda suite". It was roomy with a large bathroom with a terrific rain shower. Decor is modern classic. The hotel is located in the best part of Florence, tucked away in a quiet area but within walking distance to everything. Great breakfast selection complete with hot foods. Highly recommend this hotel when exploring Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful. The hotel was amazing value for a central location, clean stylish décor and hassle free stay. The breakfast was nice and simple although it's always advisable to try and come down for it before 10 whilst it's freshest.
The girl who seemed to be working at reception the whole time we stayed couldn't have been more helpful and had perfect english. We received a free upgrade when we arrived. The only negative point I would make is that our double bed was two single bed's pushed together on wheels. They were made up separately and moved very easily. In hindsight we should have asked could we change which I'm sure they would have accommodated.

Room Tip: If you are booking a double room over the internet, call the hotel to ask for a double bed rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCLMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in December. The location is extremely central and it's good to reach the fashion streets of Florence but also museums and monuments. The rooms are modern and quite small, my room was quite as it was located internally. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was rich and there was a good choice of salty, sweets, gluten free and bio food. One bad note is the lack of room service, that really disappointed me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu0284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I had a wonderful experience at NH Porta Rossa in Florence, Italy, last week, and would highly recommend staying there.

The hotel was quite comfortable and beautiful - a modern renovation of an ornate, older building. The location is ideal - in the city center, however just off a smaller side street so that the noise of the busy center doesn't bother you at night. I walked everywhere within minutes. The beds were quite comfortable and spacious enough. The bathroom was large and easy to function in. Free WiFi made communications back home easy and accessible. The hotel breakfast, which was included, offered so many options and was quite good. I cannot imagine anyone not being able to find something that would work for them.

Above all, however, I would like to commend the hotel on its superb staff. Every individual behind the front desk was incredibly kind, friendly and helpful. They were patient with me and allowed me to practice my rusty Italian! Prior to check in, I'd had a horrible experience with my airline losing my baggage and the staff was incredibly accommodating in following up with the airline every day for me. They were supportive and cheerful and made a rather frustrating situation more bearable. Whenever I needed anything, they were there to provide it.

I come from a restaurant family, and understand the value of excellent customer service. Clearly NH Porta Rossa does as well. I cannot say enough about them and would happily recommend them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, off of the main street. The street is fairly quite, but I would imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinaas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012, the NH chain of hotels in Italy are pretty nice, very clean and safe. The location of the NH Porta Rossa is amazing, right on the Arno River and a short distance away from the main sites (the Duomo, Accademia, Uffizi Gallery, etc). The NH staff are very helpful and friendly. Stayed in a double superior with windows facing Via Porta Rossa. The room was larger than expected, the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was pretty spacious. Will return!

Room Tip: Rooms on Via Porta Rossa are pretty noisy from the street below. (It wasn't much of a problem th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,418 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#12 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#21 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,663 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Property: NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing