We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star for sure!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
Ranked #28 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel! The staff was great and the hotel was super clean! Our room was very spacious with tall ceilings. Very modern in an old quaint building. We stayed in room 101. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Location was great, 15 mins or less to the train station. Close to markets and Duomo. We really enjoyed our and loved Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel did not accomodate a late check out request, despite flight cancelations & changes

Hotel did not have an iron when requested.

Expensive watch was stolen by house keeping from my luggage. My fault for not using the provided safe, however, it is unacceptable that the hotel staff rifle through my personal belongings. It is not expected by a hotel of this calibre. Hotel management did not make formal report nor was police called. I have not been contacted since my departure.

Extremely disappointing stay and never will use NH Hotels again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank raorups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelacamillo, Direttore at NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mrs. Rao,

First and foremost, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the trust you have placed in our chain, NH Hoteles and for having written your comments in order to explain and to apologize for the inconveniences suffered during your last stay at the hotel.

Please note that due to security measures and also by the Italian Law, we cannot supply an iron to be used in the room, therefore we offer a laundry service to iron or clean any clothes that you desire. In reference to the unfortunate incident with your watch, we would like to take advantage to respectfully inform you that despite the inconveniences caused, we regret that the hotel NH Porta Rossa cannot be held responsible for what occurred as we don´t have any type of proof or evidence that the watch was stolen by the staff. We offered you the possibility to file a report at the police and also to help you with this procedure, as the hotel was not stolen, so we cannot file in the name of a guest a report. As clearly stated on our premises, to avoid such incidents, safety boxes located in rooms are provided for our guests at no extra cost.

We hope you appreciate our position, and at the same time, look forward to seeing you again in our hotels, giving us a second chance.

Yours Sincerely,

The manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Were here for 5 nights and were lucky enough to get a room upgrade. We were at the back of the hotel so street noise was minimal--well except for the utility work they were doing one morning. Breakfast was great as was the coffee. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cweselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We very much enjoyed our 5 nights at this hotel. We were upgraded to the suite and were thrilled with the wonderful bathroom. Loved the citrus scented soaps, the front desk crew is super helpful too. A relatively easy walk from the train station (Santa Maria Novella) in 10 minutes or so.

Breakfast buffet is plentiful and tasty. The only weird part is what appears to be an omelette area - peppers, onions, cheese, meat, etc... diced, but no omelettes, only scrambled eggs?

Thanks for the lovely time and hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itchyfeetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

It took us awhile to choose a hotel. We were thrilled with our choice. The location was perfect for us. We were close to shopping, restaurants, and sites. The staff were very helpful with our travel bookings and activities within the city. We also got a room upgrade which was greatly appreciated!!!! Breakfast had healthy options which was a nice change. The room was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

Thank VancouverRealEstate
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Best of the 3 hotels we stayed at on our trip. Modern rooms in a historic building. Stairways/elevators were a little confusing because our room was down a couple of hallways off the beaten track, but we figured it out. Location was ideal - could walk everywhere. We faced the street, and there was some street noise on a Satruday night, but it didn't keep us awake. Breakfast was expansive - eggs, fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, pastries. Wi-fi is free in the room as long as you get the daily code from the front desk. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkps5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Of the five hotels we stayed at on our trip through Italy, this hotel, by far, was our favorite!!! It was located in the perfect spot...we never had to take any transportation to see any of the sites in the city. The hotel is in a beautiful, historic building in Florence and has been wonderfully renovated! Our room was gorgeous, with tall windows that you climbed stairs to get to and we had a partial original fresco on a wall. They managed to keep the historic value of the entire area of the hotel in its renovations. Our room was perfect! I can't say enough about Laurent, the manager. He helped me to recover a jacket left behind at a hotel in Milan - making all the arrangements. He always knew our names and acknowledged us whenever he saw us - the epitome of professionalism! The breakfast room was phenomenal and the selection of breakfast food was delicious. One evening we opted to order a pizza and stay in and the hotel allowed us to use the breakfast area, providing us with plates, etc. Staying at this hotel is one of the main reasons why our 5 days spent in Florence were so enjoyable. Location, location, location, and top quality staff! The only downside was street noise, but that is something the hotel can't control. Florence is quite the active city, even well into the night!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPhelps74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Lungarno
#9 of 410 in Florence
1,291 reviews
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#16 of 410 in Florence
1,339 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Sina Villa Medici
Sina Villa Medici
#84 of 410 in Florence
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,341 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#90 of 410 in Florence
1,134 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa 19 Rosso | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#22 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#23 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $184 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, NHHotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing