We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, but nothing more.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Ranked #126 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed in Corona D'Italia in August 2012 with my girlfriend and found it to be acceptable, but nothing more. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk from the train station and minutes from most attractions. There is a number of good restaurants and cafes around too. The room was slightly bigger than a lot of rooms in Italy, but the decor was dated. The elevators seemed incredibly dodgy and it managed to close on both myself and my girlfriend. The air conditioning unit also seemed slow and possibly broken. WiFi worked sporadically and should have been a lot better given you have to pay for it. Hotels need to realise WiFi is no longer a luxury, it is a necessity. Breakfast was adequate, but as with a lot of Italian hotel, hot food is not included.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ComKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 862 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our room was fairly small, but common for a European room. We were over an air shaft with an elevator. At the bottom was a dumpster which was used day and night with sounds like the screech of brakes and the thump of a fender hitting a wall; fortunately, it was not used during the late night or early morning. Service was decent and breakfast was better than average, more typical American than European. WiFi was available only with pay, even in the lobby. Newspapers were offered in a lounge each morning, including one in English. A bar opened in the evening on the ground floor as well. A bell man was very helpful, permitting us to leave our bags in storage during our last day. However, baggage was never taken up to a room by the bell man. We had to haul them ourselves up an elevator that could hold only two people and four bags; it was slightly better than expected by having two elevators near each other. We had learned that there was no air conditioning in October in Tuscany hotels, and our room was hot or warm at all times as there was no good flow of outside air. A small cold refrigerator in the room was a bonus. Location was adjacent to the central market and convenient, about half a mile from the older center of the main sites of Florence. Overall, the hotel was decent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in June in a family room. The water pressure (cold water) was so llow that once the toilet was flushed, we could not use the shower for about 5 minutes as there was only boiling hot water coming out of the shower.
The room did not have a bottle opener or iron. When we asked the reception, we were told that the entire hotel does not have an iron but we could borrow a bottle opener from the bar.
When we went to the bar, the bar tender was extremely unfriendly (asked us to wait for a few minutes until he completed wiping the table) and then said he has only one opener and could not lend it to us, even for a couple of minutes. So we were forced to bring the beer bottles down to the bar to open them which was very embarassing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayamaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

With so much choice in Florence it can be hard to pick a good 3 star hotel. I spend ages and this is certainly a good 3 star hotel. All that you need for a short trip to Florence. Close to the train station (5 minute walk), easy check in and check out and happy to look after your bags on your last day. Close the the centre and walking distance to Duomo, markets and a selection of eating places. Clean hotel, clean room, although quite small (116) but fine for a base. As others have noted it is quite noisy if your room overlooks via Nazionale as well as road noise a few late bars are on this road.
Simple breakfast, cheese, two meats, salads and plenty of pastries was also included, which at some places comes as an extra. The hotel also had a small bar which was nice to return to after hard days walk, its not open v late into the night so dont expect a "one for the road" before bed time (that's around midnight for us)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surreypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Everything is nearby. Perfectly located. 3 mins walk from station. Market is situated just next to the hotel.
We stayed there for 1 night. And covered all the sight seeing spots by foot only.
Staff is very nice and very helpful.
Breakfast would good.
Would always recommend.

Rooms were clean, but could have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivani_bhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with the last night being Wednesday, October 10, 2012. The location was great because it was within walking distance to so many attractions; however it was very noisy because of its location. The air conditioning pretty much did not work so we tried to keep the windows open in the evening to let the wonderful cool air in; but couldn't do that because of the street noise which resulted in us not getting a good nights sleep for any of the 4 evenings! The bath couldn't be any smaller. My husband commented on being able to cross off his bucket list "taking a shower in a phone booth!" Our safe did not work; even though the staff tried to fix it so we had to keep our passports with us at all times. I would only consider staying there again if the A/C worked the way it should!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CherylFNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from Saturday, 29 Sept and left on Tuesday, 2 October. Part of holiday with Riviera Travel. Hotel was fine. Nothing fancy but right in the middle of Florence. Lots of good restaurants close by and just beside a great street market (gorgeous bags, scarves, belts etc) which was on each day. Room and bathroom were all that we needed. It was very dark though and overlooked small area of flats. Clean though. Breakfast the usual. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScotlandCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#63 of 409 in Florence
812 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Caravaggio
Hotel Caravaggio
#111 of 409 in Florence
809 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#83 of 409 in Florence
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Fortezza
#65 of 409 in Florence
377 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 409 in Florence
514 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#100 of 409 in Florence
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Corona D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Corona D'Italia

Address: Via Nazionale 14, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $77 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Corona D'Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Corona d’Italia 3 stars in Florence is set in a three-level, 19th-century palazzo, which features sober and harmonious design, bright and spacious interiors, detailed with marble from Carrara and elegant stucco trim.The hotel staff is available to help guests organize their visit, offering museum reservations, restaurant's suggestions, tours, and guided visits of the city and the Chianti region.The American Bar is ideal for relaxing and planning a visit to the Florence monuments over an espresso or a cocktail, prepared to perfection by our barman.If you desire internet access, the interior of the Hotel Corona d’Italia boasts an efficient Wi-Fi Internet service.Our Breakfast features a delicious buffet, including an extensive variety of cheese, cold cuts, yoghurt, seasonal fruit, fresh pastries and delicious cakes.The hotel also includes the Meeting Hall (max 35 people) for business meetings and work sessions. Upon request, state-of-the-art technical support may be added to the hall's standard devices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Splitty, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Corona D'Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Corona d Italia
Corona d Italia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing