We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, a respite from the heat and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rapallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rapallo
Ranked #25 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Elegant, a respite from the heat and reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel was well located in Florence and within walking distance from all amenities. Our welcome was genuine and we were given the type of room we requested. (This did not always the case at other hotels.) Staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

The hotel was spotlessly clean and the air conditioning was a welcome respite from the 37 degree temperatures in summer. We would definitely stay at this hotel again because of the excellent sleeps we had, the comfort, the location, the fact that the rooms could be darkened, and the reasonable price.

Our only small recommendation would be that the hotel let people know that when they book an event for us, they charge 3 euros per person on top of the reservation fee. (This was not a problem for us but could be to others.) Our other minor disappointment was the sign in the breakfast room that consumption of food in our rooms was "forbidden". We respected this but it would have been lovely to have had drinks on the beautiful balcony attached to our room. This was only a minor thing and would not prevent us from staying at this elegant residence again. The opportunity of drinks and nibbles at a reasonable cost from 11.00am to 11.00pm in the breakfast room probably compensated for this.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maree5821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for your suggestions, all very relevant and useful for us. motions services and habits are created based on how they are welcomed by nostrio cleinti. there are never fixed laws, let's go, depending on the opportunities and convenience, sometimes on personal taste, or the urgent need. dialogue with our customers is therefore a fundamental tool for us to measure our offer. if we are what we are, we owe to our dialogue, what we can learn and improve, we owe equally to our dialogue with our customers.
a greeting lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,320
    461
    47
    11
    4
See reviews for
303
1,051
48
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

On arrival from Munich we were greeted warmly. Check In was quick less than 2mins. Straight to our room. Fantastic room, spotless. Opposite the bathroom was a 3 door wardrobe with safe and fridge. Better still complimentary water in the fridge, just wanted we needed after walking from the train station. The room was light and airy with large French doors, although it was overlooking the yard. My son was very ill the day we arrived and the staff were very helpful, even though i had to ask for ice at 2am to bring down his temperature. Claudia the lady who mans the breakfast room even made up a tray for my son the following morning.
Breakfast was usual continental selection of meats, cereals and yogurts. The afternoon snacks and drinks served free in the breakfast room was very welcoming after returning from exploring a very hot Florence. All in all an excellent hotel with great staff I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel or to stay again. It is only about 10 mins walk to duomo and other sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
dear lady, thank you for your comment. at this point I think it is fair to say that our tradition, especially for us Florentine, comes from the pilgrimage, before calling the hotel, we were hospitals, places of accolgienza, called to make that virtue exalted among the heathen, and in all religions. accolgienza to the next. we will not ever forget this aspect of primitive, essential that truly ennobles our work. trouble if it was not our natural attitude. glad to have given to you and your son a good stay, I salute you dearly
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms and a very nice breakfast, what more can we say? The hotel is not at the very heart of the city but a 15 minute walk will take you there - and the plus is that the neighbourhood is quiet.
We will for sure take the same hotel next time we visit Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
bravo and thank you. we are waiting for the next time, and you'll see that in less than fifteen minutes you will be in some incredible places which I will show. trovarai you in the heart of rinsacimento seven minutes walking from the hotel. I advise you to look at every so often when we talk about on facebook florence and the things we have around us. a customer once made ​​a bet with me, in three days did not have time to get up to Piazza Duomo, to visit the things around our hotel. san marco, marco, coterie of s. apollonia, Fuligno, academy, Central Market, Hospital of the Innocents, are just some of the closest things that you can visit. then you wait for the next time. thanks and greetings from florence
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel Rapallo Firenze is not only nice renovated hotel with nice modern European style rooms and good location but also a hotel with history. At the front desk there is a guest sign book. This book reflects not only guest names and comments but also their country. A staff member reflected on a postcard picture of Demidoff Monument at Accademia Gallery. He shared with us the history of Nicola Demidoff and the location of Piazza Demidoff. This is why I travel … to learn about history and culture.
~ Maryland

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
dear, thanks paer have remembered this little detail. I think like you. I like to know, know and find those red threads that bind together all over the world, which are made by the traditions, arts, sciences. for this reason we believe that part of our job is to know as much as possible our city and put at the service of travelers our knowledge. directions are physical and mental ones that we offer.
a salute to maryland
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I kicked off our honeymoon in Italy in Florence and did a lot of research on hotels several months in advance. Hotel Rapallo was a very cute hotel, conveniently located in walking distance from the train station but not so close that it's in a touristy neighborhood. The room was somewhat small, but clean, and it had a big balcony (although the sparse table and uncomfortable chairs left something to be desired). The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a room with a tub, which I had requested, and also gave us a nice little surprise of prosecco and fresh cherries.

The complementary breakfast in the morning had a fair amount of variety and you can't beat a fresh, well-made cappuccino to start off your day.

Compared to some of the other hotels where we stayed on our honeymoon, this was one of the best values.

Room Tip: If you want to get a room with a tub, just call and request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
kind guest, we like the most special occasions, those who make a special trip, and we are always keen to be part of it in a more discreet but attentive. We are pleased, therefore, to read the satisfaction of his stay, ringrazioando you still have us secelto a sprint. it was a pleasure.
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irishteacher44
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everything went pretty well. I enjoyed the fresh fruit at breakfast and the espresso machine was a plus! Our room was nice, but the shower was almost level with the floor and the shower doors did not close enough. The water would flood the floor if you didn't position yourself a certain way in the shower. I have to say I did not like that the people working the reception desk stayed behind closed doors and you felt like you were bothering them. I think it would be much more welcoming if the door was kept open. One reception person advised me on the bus to Piazza Michelangelo. He said it was a nice ride and to buy the tickets at the newspaper. It took one hour from the the time we left the hotel until we got there. It was not a pleasant ride. Walk! The woman at breakfast and the reception at night was the most welcoming and kind of all.

Room Tip: We were put on the first floor right near the staircase. You could hear people going up and down. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishteacher44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for your suggestions that will help to improve our work. a cordial greeting to all our staff
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in June and we could not fault it. We had a double room with a very large bed, the room had two windows one to the front and one to the side street, we were not disturbed by any noise in the street below. Bathroom was a good size with very large shower and free toiletries. There were also tea and coffee making facilities. Every where in the hotel was spotless and we found there was plenty of choice at breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location and a short walk to the railway station. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patsijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment short. we hope to again offer our hospitality to a new residence in Florence, the city where always worth going back
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
2,219 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
3,031 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
749 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#50 of 421 in Florence
1,945 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#51 of 421 in Florence
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapallo

Property: Hotel Rapallo
Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapallo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rapallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing