We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cute boutique hotel in non-touristy Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rapallo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rapallo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute boutique hotel in non-touristy Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My fiance and I kicked off our honeymoon in Italy in Florence and did a lot of research on hotels several months in advance. Hotel Rapallo was a very cute hotel, conveniently located in walking distance from the train station but not so close that it's in a touristy neighborhood. The room was somewhat small, but clean, and it had a big balcony (although the sparse table and uncomfortable chairs left something to be desired). The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a room with a tub, which I had requested, and also gave us a nice little surprise of prosecco and fresh cherries.

The complementary breakfast in the morning had a fair amount of variety and you can't beat a fresh, well-made cappuccino to start off your day.

Compared to some of the other hotels where we stayed on our honeymoon, this was one of the best values.

Room Tip: If you want to get a room with a tub, just call and request it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
kind guest, we like the most special occasions, those who make a special trip, and we are always keen to be part of it in a more discreet but attentive. We are pleased, therefore, to read the satisfaction of his stay, ringrazioando you still have us secelto a sprint. it was a pleasure.
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,123
    416
    40
    10
    4
See reviews for
254
896
40
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
irishteacher44
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Everything went pretty well. I enjoyed the fresh fruit at breakfast and the espresso machine was a plus! Our room was nice, but the shower was almost level with the floor and the shower doors did not close enough. The water would flood the floor if you didn't position yourself a certain way in the shower. I have to say I did not like that the people working the reception desk stayed behind closed doors and you felt like you were bothering them. I think it would be much more welcoming if the door was kept open. One reception person advised me on the bus to Piazza Michelangelo. He said it was a nice ride and to buy the tickets at the newspaper. It took one hour from the the time we left the hotel until we got there. It was not a pleasant ride. Walk! The woman at breakfast and the reception at night was the most welcoming and kind of all.

Room Tip: We were put on the first floor right near the staircase. You could hear people going up and down. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishteacher44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your comment and for your suggestions that will help to improve our work. a cordial greeting to all our staff
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in June and we could not fault it. We had a double room with a very large bed, the room had two windows one to the front and one to the side street, we were not disturbed by any noise in the street below. Bathroom was a good size with very large shower and free toiletries. There were also tea and coffee making facilities. Every where in the hotel was spotless and we found there was plenty of choice at breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good location and a short walk to the railway station. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patsijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment short. we hope to again offer our hospitality to a new residence in Florence, the city where always worth going back
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading other reviews and were very glad we did. It was really easy to get to from the train station, just a few minutes walk up Via Nazionale, and nice and central to go exploring from! Every member of staff we came into contact with was really friendly and polite, and made us feel at home instantly. The room was spacious, clean and obviously recently refurbished and looked fantastic. We had a room overlooking a side street which was really quiet, despite the central location. The bed was very comfortable and free wifi was also handy. There are some lovely little finishing touches at this hotel too - like complimentary bottled water in the fridge, and free soft drinks, coffee and tea along with free biscuits in the afternoon and free bar snacks in the evening for a drink before dinner, as well as a very reasonably priced bar. The staff were happy to point us in the direction of dinner venues, and sort taxis for the airport too. The breakfast was lovely too and they offer a packed lunch for 5Euro if you want to take one with you on your travels!
A really fantastic place, not sure why its only 3* to be honest, as its one of the best we've ever stayed in and will recommend to anyone we know who is travelling to Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcbt345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
thanks for your comment, that dear to us. Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our stay in Florence was made by this hotel. On our quite late arrival the staff were waiting and friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Nothing was too much trouble for them at any time, recommending trips and making advanced bookings at the museums for us, giving directions etc. Breakfast, although a simple continental one, and the dining area itself were nice. Our room was very comfortable and the hotel recent renovations were immaculate and the décor elegant. We would recommend Hotel Rapallo and hope we have the chance to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pagey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
thanks for your comment, we are always available to our customers, but in particular we like to suggest paths for our city. live in a somewhat 'more original, which is possible even for a few days without losing its celebrities.
best regards
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very good value for money hotel, rooms are clean and tidy.Rooms have double glazed windows so when they are shut it keeps out most of the noise meaning you get a good nights sleep.
All the staff we spoke to where very friendly and helpful.
Some people would say this hotel is a bit out of the way but it isn't as you can cut thru the side streets and you are within 5-10mins walk from the main attractions, Its only a long walk if you stick to the main road but there is no reason to once you have your bearings.

Breakfast is minimal but my understanding is most italian hotels are the same (i may be wrong?)

If anyone is struggling to pick a hotel to stay in i would recommend Hotel Rapallo without hesitation :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuzbuz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
thanks for this comment. makes a great honor to our work. read these words from one of our clients is the satisfaction of being understood in our work, and a job well done. we must always improve, but this much enthusiasm from us in expressing our service.
friendliness, we hope to have you back soon in florence
Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our recent stay in Florence was made all the better by our stay @ Rapallo Hotel.
On our arrival from day one the staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Nothing was too much trouble for them, recommending restaurants giving directions and
especially handling our luggage. Breakfast, and the dining area itself were perfect.
Our room and the hotel recent renovation were immaculate, the décor elegant.
We would recommend Hotel Rapallo and hope we have the chance to return.

One thing only, when using the room safe ask first, there is a trick to it but no problems afterwards.

John and Mary,
Australia, June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rapallo Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
inglese



italiano








a round of applause every time I leave for our cleaning ladies, I read that they always do a great job. thanks for your comments on the cleanliness of our rooms and attentive care. the fortified house has a trick not to create problems. must be present. I teach but not always caught. good. a greeting
lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#23 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,051 reviews
Hotel David
#3 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,752 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#36 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#45 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#29 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rapallo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rapallo Hotel

Property: Rapallo Hotel
Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria, 7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rapallo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Rapallo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing