We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rapallo - Florence”
Review of Hotel Rapallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rapallo
Ranked #24 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

An excellent hotel, within walking distance of the central station. We chose a "deluxe" room, which was on the top floor and had a balcony/patio. There was a lift to the (4th) top floor. Breakfast was included and very nice.

Room Tip: We chose a "deluxe" room, which was on the top floor and had a balcony/patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

good choice on the fourth floor. I told each other a year ago when we opened the labergo, and we knew that that position was by far the most beautiful. where we are is really an interesting place, 800 meters from the cathedral, but with the ability to pull the nose up and see the hills of Fiesole.
good that you enjoyed the show
a greeting, lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

935 - 941 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed two nights. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. We asked for an iron and were told "we don't have an iron". It wasn't until we stayed in Milan that we were told it was illegal for them to have irons, so iron your clothes before you go.
Breakfast was good.
The room had a kettle and tea and coffee (no milk but they gave you some downstairs) - something the 5 star hotel in Milan didn't provide.

It was less than 10 minutes to the train station and in to town. We walked everywhere from the hotel, even late at night and felt perfectly safe.

We had the most amazing pizza just down the road which was recommended by the hotel (Giardino di Barbano).

If returning to Florence we'd stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justlikesgoodhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

dear guest, thanks for your comment.
Milan is always a beautiful city, we florence to be up to try to give the best and maybe every now and then we can also overcome the great Milan. you can not hide a subtle pleasure. I willingly share this pleasure with our guests, who if they need to iron their clothes, close to us there is a laundry service that does this fast and not expensive.
a greeting
Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, up to date and within a ten minute walk of most main sites in Florence. The best part was the service. They will arrange a taxi, give you a map/directions whatever you need. They also have a good breakfast buffet. This is not the most fancy or expensive but for the price is a great quality and value.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast service in particular for which we try to work hard
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rapallo for three nights in May, first thoughts of the hotel were good our final thoughts are slightly indifferent.

In general the hotel is very clean, tidy and modern and the general service staff are good. The location is also very good and is within walking distance to all the major tourist spots and great restaurants: Restaurant Il Ardellino, turn left down Via Aprile then left onto Via San Gallo has some well priced nice food. The Club House Bar on Via San Gallo is also good for some well priced drinks bar food and free wi-fi. Finally Neromo restaurant over the Ponte Santa Trinita, turn right down Via Santo Sprorito has easily the best food I have eaten in a very long time. Great Pasta and a fantastic Steak Florentine.
Back to the Hotel, location aside the hotel does have some minor downsides that could simply be our experiences. As with most Hotels late at night they lock the front doors. Most allow you to swipe in or have a night porter to let you in. Hotel Rapallo has the later but we stood outside (in the rain) for nearly ten minutes using the call buzzer and knocking on the door before anybody opened it. The rooms require you to activate everything via reception (phone, air con ect) which is odd. Also because we were on our honeymoon we booked and pre-paid for the room many months in advance (taxes included) but were still hit with an $18 tax on check out for what I'm unsure but will be following up on.

The gripes aside I think Hotel Rapallo is a good hotel and is worth staying at if not simply for the price and location.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank elwood_lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

dear guests, I am sorry that during the night you had to wait a few minutes our colleague working to solve a problem with another customer and could not serve immediately. the door had been closed for security in his temporary absence. is something that can happen every so often. to us the service is 24 hours, and we have a night porter always present. thanks for your comment
Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent 5 nights at this hotel in May. The hotel is refurbished and everything feels nice and clean. The hotel staff are all polite, friendly and very helpful.

On arrival at the hotel I reminded the receptionist about my need for gluten free food for breakfast he said it was noted but would leave an extra note for staff. He then went on to explain where the nearest restaurant was which had a special menu for coeliacs. Fantastic.

The room was nicely proportioned, it always very well cleaned. Our room was facing a side street which meant it was nice and quiet. The mini bar came with a couple of bottles of water in and had plenty of room for our own drinks etc.

Breakfast: each morning I asked for the gluten free products and each morning I was provided with a basket filled with a selection of gluten free items including cereal, cakes, crispbread. How wonderful. My only comment would be it would be nicer if they could provide some gluten free bread in the basket.

Lorenzo helped organise reservations for us for the some of the museums. What more could you ask for?

Coeliac top tip: do go to starbene which sells fresh gluten free items. It is literally 5 mins away viale spartico 2/r

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LondonGFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

guests, thank you for your long and detailed commentary that helps to know at the hotel well and what we can offer. is for us a great satisfaction when our customers can speak well of us telling their stay at the labergo. we are developing services for all types of customers, and this is very interesting. requests are always new and this makes our work very bright.
a greeting and see you soon
Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

the hotel was everything we expected and more -- (after reading the reviews). the rooms were large and very comfortable. the bathroom was large and exceptionaly clean. we returned every afternoon for the "tea". the day manager recommended two restaurants for dinner and both were excellent. we would definitely return to the Rapallo.

Room Tip: lovely hotel, very quiet, extremely helpful staff we liked everything about the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carole s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

dear guests, I am pleased that you enjoyed our service and our suggestions were always helpful. we look forward with pleasure to florence
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean attractive hotel. Good location for seeing all of the major sites in Florence. The hotel was recently renovated. The room was spacious. Good service. Except limited wifi-connection log-in problems, everything ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

dear friends, too bad for your connection, it may have happened that day some difficulty, but it is a rare thing. thanks for your stay
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#38 of 410 in Florence
2,217 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 410 in Florence
572 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#37 of 410 in Florence
1,845 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,201 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#40 of 410 in Florence
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapallo

Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria,7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapallo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rapallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing