We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent hotel"”
Review of Hotel Rapallo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rapallo
Ranked #23 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean attractive hotel. Good location for seeing all of the major sites in Florence. The hotel was recently renovated. The room was spacious. Good service. Except limited wifi-connection log-in problems, everything ok.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

dear friends, too bad for your connection, it may have happened that day some difficulty, but it is a rare thing. thanks for your stay
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 2,021 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

The service at this hotel is excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful? They provide breakfast and complimentary afternoon tea which is great after a hard days exploring the area. The room is spacious and very comfortable. There is also free wi-fi available. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear friends, thank you for commenting on your stay, aspettermo and receive the vostrio gratitutidine with friends and family, to give to them a pleasant experience in florence
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed in a triple on the third floor, street side. It was difficult to keep the windows open due to street noise, but this is my only complaint about this great property. The windows were very high quality and blocked the noise when closed. The rooms seemed basically newly remodeled, and were super clean. The tub was exceptional for two tried women at the end of a long couple of days in Florence. Upon check in the night manager (can't remember name, but he was a bigger gentleman with a polished Italiano schtick for Americano visitors) recommended a lovely dinner place. Can't remember the this place either, but it was on a side street just south of the mercato - great Tuscan t-bone.

The first morning we decided to cab it to the Santa Croce Basillica then work our way back to the hotel during the day. The Rapallo is just outside of the main area of Florence so the walk to the Duomo could get tiring both ways. Lorenzo, the super professional and helpful day manager had us a cab in less than five minutes - cost 9 Euro. Breakfast was fine, maybe a little light, but not by Italian standards. The second day we had reservations for the Uffizi at 8:15 and did the same cab thing again. We left at 7:30 - could have left the hotel at 8:00 no worries. Highly recommend an early entry to the museum. Saw the David and climbed the Duomo on a previous trip to Florence. Great stay at the Rapallo!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventurebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

thanks for your comment praise is the best satisfaction for our service. greetings
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very close to the train station and a good location for seeing all of the major sites in Florence. The hotel looks very new and everything was clean and spacious.

Breakfast was included and had a great selection of cereals, pastries, yogurt and coffee.

They do a 'happy hour' type experience in the breakfast room for a few hours in the evening. My only (small) complaint was that it was explained as being free but ultimately wasn't. We went in to the room around 6:00 and it was stocked with coffee, juice, and wine but there was no one on staff in sight. We each had a coffee and a wine. As we were about to leave, a staff member came in and told us we owed 6 euro for the wine (even though I only had about a half of a glass). It would have been nice to have the cost more clearly communicated so that we could have made an informed choice.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_Eliza112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

dear customer I did not understand what happened. but I am sorry that you dovutio pay for the wine if it was offered. definitely something was not clear, and we need to better organize in this service, loved by our customers, where we put care to choose good deals, pleasant, and always new. we have chosen the policy of free, because we like to have the opportunity to spend time with our customers. is like an invitation at home. thanks for your comment, you've done very well to tell me this. an affectionate greeting. I owe you a bottle of wine when rehearse to visit
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I came into Florence for a one night stay before flying home. This was a delightful place to stay with easy access to the sights. It was small and personal--very attentive staff. I had to leave early and they gave me some gluten free foods to take with me for breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint was that I needed to make a Skype call from my room at night. I could not access the wifi (had successfully done so earlier). The staff re booted the system and said that sometimes it gets overloaded with the demand. There was no issue after this; they were certainly most responsive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isla302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in early May. We had room 405. It was large and well furnished with a large terrace with table and chairs. With the windows closed at night the room was very quiet. The only odd thing was the shower was very small in a rather large bathroom.
The breakfast included a broad selection in a nice room on the ground floor also used for afternoon tea and cocktails.
The best aspect was excellent service by all staff. Lorenzo has exceptional knowledge of "his" city and its history - thank you for the nice conversation and reserving our tickets to the Uffizi and Acadamia. As well Lewis was very helpful during our stay.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

dear friends, it was an important trip for you, and I'm happy to have been able to serve in the best way. unfortunate that little time has not allowed to visit our city even better. I will look again in florence
a greeting
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked this through TA recommendation and werent left disappointed. Rooms are exactly as in hotel publicity - no surprises. Staff were lovely and helpful. Apparently refurbished last year and everywhere was very clean, modern and lovely.

The hotel is definitely 10mins walk from station - with luggage- we were unsure and booked a taxi - got 'taken for a ride' - in more ways than one!! We walked to station when leaving - lol.

Breakfast was a little ordinary - yoghurt, fruit, croissant etc - cooked breakfasts cost extra... Looked ok but we didn't bother. The breakfast area was a little cramped and often lacked atmosphere.

In terms of help for Florence - there are no brochures on display in the hotel - you will need to have planned beforehand or to go to tourist information on arrival. The staff would be happy to recommend restaurants etc...

Good location for most things - within 10 mins walking distance to main attractions - Duomo etc.

We had day trip to Tuscany leaving from station - would recommend thoroughly.

If returning to Florence would def stay here again....

Room Tip: Rooms apparently noisy with road noise on lower floors - but we were on third floor so can't con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorenzo c, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Rapallo, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

you say wonderful things about the hotel, that I can just add a thank you for you. let me only a notice. it is true that there are no hotels in brochures. but we prefer not to give general tourist information. we try to study well our city, have qualified personnel and stay informed. I say taking advantage of your comment. ask the hotel all the information will always be a pleasure for us to spend our time for your tour and special visits in the city according to your interests.
Salutoni
lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#41 of 409 in Florence
2,195 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Art Hotel Villa Agape
#13 of 409 in Florence
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Perseo
Hotel Perseo
#38 of 409 in Florence
1,831 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
830 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 409 in Florence
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapallo

Address: Via Santa Caterina d'Alessandria,7, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $97 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapallo 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rapallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing