We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern, cosy and comfortable apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
163 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 163 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Korean first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Scott-sel...
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern, cosy and comfortable apartment”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Paolo's apartment is clean, modern and comfortable all at the same time. He was really nice to pick us at the station and walked us to the apartment and gave a few good recommendations on where to eat and visit. We were glad to heed his recommendations! Apart from that, the street where we stay isn't touristy so we get to experience a bit of local lifestyle. It was fun sitting by the window with a cup of coffee/tea and people watch! Definitely recommend this apartment. Our only regrets was not staying longer in Florence!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrvlFam09
The Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect home base for a wonderful visit to Firenze!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My husband, three-year-old son, and I traveled to Firenze in March and stayed in Paolo's San Giovanni apartment. We loved the apartment. The location is perfect for walking anywhere in Firenze and very close to the train station for getting in and out of town. There are plenty of places to eat, markets and everything you need nearby. It is a wonderful home base for touring the city. It is not especially large, but it was the perfect size for our little family. It is also in really great condition (i.e. recently remodeled and taken care of). There are several steep flights of stairs up to the flat, so make sure you're prepared to walk. Otherwise, I would recommend the place to anyone.

Plus, Paolo was the perfect host! He met us at the train station and helped us to the apartment. He made recommendations of places to eat nearby. The pizzeria and trattoria he suggested were both fantastic! He also offered to help us arrange city tours, but we opted to explore by ourselves. You can't go wrong renting from Paolo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katieparr...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant - such a gem”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

A lovely little apartment 10minutes from city centre. Lovely to walk into town through all the cobbled streets and see the shops of Florence. Well equipped apartment with modern finishing and a lovely feather duvet and pillows! We were so happy with our stay and Paolo went out of his way to make us feel comfortable - he met us from the station and gave us tips for our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: NOthing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitlynn...
London, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed in Casa Santa Maria Novella and it was such a perfect little apartment. It was so cute and had everything we needed. It was very clean and looked just like the pictures. There's no wifi, but there's an internet cafe right next door, I think it's one euro for an hour or something really cheap. The apartment was in a great location, 5 minutes walking from the train station and close to all the attractions like the Palazzo Vecchio and Uffizi Gallery. Paolo was very nice and met us at the train station and gave us restaurant recommendations. We went to both restaurants and they were amazing. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and coziness of the apartment
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chitterch...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“perfection”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We were recommended Florence Holiday Homes by a friend that had stayed here and we were SO glad that we took the recommendation. Stefano (Paolo's brother) met us at the train station which was only a 5 minute walk from the apartment. We stayed in the studio apartment which is perfect for a couple. Beautifully maintained, it had all the basics there to pull together a simple meal but really why would you when you had such amazing restaurants nearby! Heavy security doors meant you felt safe at night and air-con kept the place cool in the heat. The bed is a sofa bed which was fine for a few nights, we wanted to book the 1BR but it wasn't available. You are so tired from exploring and full of great food you sleep well anyway!
Be aware there are some pretty narrow steps to go up to reach the apartment! I think it's on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
Stefano gave us a great map and some fantastic recommendations for local restaurants and gelati. We walked everywhere, the neighbourhood felt very safe and getting to all the main sites and attractions was super easy.
Can't recommend Stefano and Paolo's hospitality enough. They could not have been more friendly and helpful. From the booking process, meet and greet to leaving the keys was fuss-free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of apt and location
Liked least: Sofa bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina...
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and perfectly situated”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The appartment is very nice, big enough for 2 people, little kitchenette fully sufficient for making breakfast or some simple cooking (as you usually eat in awsome tratorias nebo ristorantes in the city). Bedroom is quiet big and there's planty of room for your stuff and also a beautiful library :)
It is situated in the ground floor of a very old building and so it remains cold in the hot summer days. On the other hand it is little bit dark and you have to go out to find out the weather and what to wear that day :)
There were some troubles with cold/hot water (be careful, when you take a bath) and the darkness of the appartment, that's why I rate 4 out of 5, but the location is absolutely superb and I defenitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, homeyness
Liked least: Not enough day light.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex47474...
private
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Pros: A very good location right next to Ponte Vecchio, convenient, clean, cheap
Cons: Bank transfer to pay deposit, no cell service inside and no internet

Conclusion: very good I would use it again, but using bank transfer to pay deposit cost some noticeable money and very inconvenient

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: no network connection of any kind include cell phone
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing