We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Positioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #78 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed at the Pitti Palace for 5 nights last week - would not hesitate to return. This is a well positioned hotel just off the Ponte Vecchio - easy to walk to anywhere in the City. We walked from the station in 10 minutes, having travelled from Pisa. We found the staff welcoming and helpful throughout our stay, that included the Receptionists, Cleaners and Bar/Breakfast staff. The terrace overlooking the City was a bonus for breakfast and for drinks in the evening - we can recommend the Aperol Spritzer!

We ate in various places - loved the incredible lunches at All'Antico Vinario on Via de Neri - HUGE slices of bread and various fillings! We found the prices for 3 courses with a bottle of wine to be very reasonable. Also loved the Gelato place right across from the Hotel - great choice of flavours. We walk everywhere and enjoyed the Uffizi (book ahead in the UK, saves time),The Duomo, Pitti Palace, Boboli Gardens, Piazza Michelangelo plus lots of other sites.

The room was fine, at the back of the hotel on the second floor, which was probably slightly quieter and although we always travel with ear plugs, we didn't have to use them even though we slept with the bathroom window open. There were nice toiletries too, replaced regularly, so everything was in place to make the whole stay very comfortable - probably one of the best situated hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayLynn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we are happy to welcome guests that decide to spend so many days in Florence, it is time well spent and still you leave with so many things still to see!
I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us as well and look forward to welcoming you again

regards

SB
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 1,781 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

We spent about six days in Florence and stayed at the Pitt Palace al Ponte Vecchio and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a superior room and, while a little lacking in character, it was large, clean and more than comfortable, with a large bed that ensured both my partner and I got excellent nights' sleep there. Although we overlooked a narrow road, it was very noisy, but the double glazing certainly shut out all but the loudest noises. The en-suite bathroom was large, with everything we needed.. The staff were helpful and, while the breakfast room, with its fantastic views, seems a bit chaotic to the newcomer - the layout could be better, and there's a lot of criss-crossing the room to get what you need - we thoroughly enjoyed it, with a selection of rolls jams, cold meats and cheeses, as well as croissants and pastries or toast. Certainly, the juice and coffee come from machines, but it was all perfectly acceptable and we never left the room feeling hungry or hard done by.

Most important of all is the location, which is perfect for exploring Florence. Everything was no more than a 15 minute walk away (or a slightly longer amble, because you'll want to take your time) and the Ponte Vecchio is right at your doorstep. We discovered the nearby Santo Spirito area, and the restaurants around there were fantastic and only a five minute walk away, so we never had to settle for tourist traps north of the river (we did stumble into a couple for a lunch-time panini: the nearby Indian/Mediterranean restaurant is worth a miss, that's for sure) and after a day of wondering around the city and taking in the sights we'd stroll back, relax in our room and then wander off to get something to eat in the evening.

All in all, we felt very lucky to have booked ourselves into this hotel, and would definitely consider a return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Senlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us.I am glad you enjoyed Florence and our Terrace! We look forward to welcoming you again

Regards

The staff
Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a wondeful hotel in a great location at the southern end of the Ponte Vecchio. We stayed 4 nights here and walked everywhere. All the staff are helpful, especially the front desk who answered our many questions. The restaurant is good and sundowners on the terrace are something we looked forward to daily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I Hope you enjoyed Florence and hope to welcome you again

Regards

The staff
Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is literally 5 steps from the Ponte Vecchio and therefore near to a lot of the main attractions. The staff could not be more helpful and the room was a good size and beds were comfy. We could hear some traffic noise at times but no more than you would expect with the situation of the hotel. The breakfast while on the scenic terrace was adequate. We ate breakfast one morning but went to the city the next day. All in all would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice review

Hope to welcome you again soon

Regards

The staff
Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel is all about location. The Ponte Vecchio bridge is just steps away and it is a short walk to city center. Our room was small, but it was clean and we had great views of the city with a small balcony. Breakfast was served in the terrace bar overlooking the city, a great way to start the day. The staff was friendly and helpful with great restaurant recommendations. Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel and thought the price was very reasonable compared to other hotels in the same area. If you want a nice hotel that is in the heart of Florence, check this place out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeAnB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us. I Hope you enjoyed Florence and hope to welcome you again

Regards

The staff
Hotel Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Perfect Hotel, excellent location, Great Service from all staff. Fantastic room with views from all windows. We had the recently converted confrence room, 509. The whole of Florence was explored on foot from here. Cant wait to go back.

With regards to getting their. If you travel to Pisa airport, get the coach directly to Florence SMN station. Journey time about 1 hour. If you buy you coach ticket on the RyanAir flight it is cheaper. Then it is a 10-15 taxi ride to the station, or 20-30 min walk, inc the breath taking sights, cafe bars and restaurants you can stop along the way.

If you want to take the train, this is out of service for line renewal. A shuttle bus from the airport to Pisa station then the train to Florence. Great if you want to take in Pisa.

Do not miss out on Central Market (Mercato Centrale) . Ground floor is the tradtional open market with stalls selling goods. Upsatirs is the most amazing restaurants and bar open till 11pm. Great quality food at affordable prices.

Room Tip: room 509 , corner of the hotel with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your detailed review! 509 is one of our best rooms with a beautiful view and I am glad that you enjoyed it!

Hope to welcome you again soon

regards

SB
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I have recently returned from celebrating our wedding in Florence. This hotel was the center of activity for us - we had about 40 of our guests staying here and the two of us spolied ourselves in the hotel's magnificent Queen Suite. Everything was perfect: the staff were friendly and accomodating, the views were breathtaking, the rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the location was unbeatable.
I highly recommend staying in this hotel; you will not be disappointed. If you have the means, try the Queen Suite. You will have your own private terrace, two bathrooms, two closets, and a large sitting room and bedroom. The Suite has views of everything from the Duomo to the Palazzo Vecchio to the Baboli Gardens. It even has an outdoor shower on the terrace for especially hot days! All 40 of our guests had a great experience here, regardless of which type of room they stayed in. My sincerest compliments to the staff - they made our time in Florence so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-in-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

To the beautiful Bride and Groom

It was a pleasure to be part of your wonderful Wedding, you could feel love in the air!!

A big hug and look forward to welcoming you for your anniversary!

Sabrina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#72 of 410 in Florence
628 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,563 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#73 of 410 in Florence
1,664 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo Palace
Hotel San Gallo Palace
#62 of 410 in Florence
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $111 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing