We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #76 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived in Florence by train, and the station is located about 15 minutes away from the hotel. If you don't have a lot of luggage and are feeling adventurous, you can walk to the hotel from the station. Florence is a small and beautiful city where you can just walk and walk and see it all. This hotel is practically located on the Ponte Vecchio, which is a huge bridge in Florence. On the hotel side of the bridge there are a lot of little restaurants and shops, there is also a little market where you can buy drinks and snacks for a very reasonable price. When you cross the bridge, there are more shops, a leather market and you get to all of the action in Florence. This hotel is definitely in a great spot because you can walk anywhere and always find your way back.

The staff was very friendly when we arrived, and quickly gave us our room. The room is pretty modern, but it is small much like all of the other European hotels. There were two twin beds that convert to a queen, and nice size bathroom with shower/tub combo. A well placed flat screen above the bed at an angle, a small fridge, and our room had a balcony with a view of the shops by the bridge down below. The complimentary breakfast offered at the hotel was excellent, and the restaurant where its served has great views of Florence. At night, the restaurant has happy hour where you can enjoy wine and prosciutto on the outdoor terrace with the most beautiful view overlooking Florence.

My husband and I absolutely loved this hotel. It was definitely one of our favorites during our trip to Italy and France. Next time I'm back in Florence I will be staying here again. Florence was actually our favorite city in Italy and I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a secluded room with a view. If you don't mind using the stairs, pick a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Responsabile reception at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear Lynn,
thank you very much for leaving your comments about us. Nothing makes us happier than read how happy are our guests about their experience in beautiful Florence. We definitely hope you will come visit us again!
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location & appeared to be a good selection. However, our bed was broken, the window wouldn't close (very noisy corner), the bath/shower wouldn't drain and the vanity basin didn't hold water!! We were curtly given another room. The staff were clearly under duress & I suspect the establishment is cost cutting by short staffing. The breakfast was also very average & the breakfast room very overcrowded. Florence has better.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your review, I am sorry to read that you had problems with the first room, but on the other hand it was solved immediately by giving you another room that, from what I can remember, was suitable and comfortable for you.
I am surprised to read your conjectures abour our costs cutting. As a matter of fact we are going to invest in the Hotel and in our Staff during the next winter season.
Anyway thank you for letting us know your feelings about the service, we will take them as a motivation to do better
regards

Sabrina Bisconti
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This very nice hotel is located on the south end of the Ponte Vecchio. It is within easy walking distance to all the Florence attractions but it is nice and quiet.
The rooms are very clean and the well serviced. The staff are all very helpful.
The only word of caution is if you are gluten and lactose intolerant, breakfast is very limited.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed Florence and look forward to welcoming you again

regards

SB
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Delighted with the service, menu and charming staff for whom a request was a pleasure. Located within easy walking of most of the "must sees" of Florence and only a short taxi ride [7-8 euro] from Maria Novella Station. Dinner or drinks on the roof-top terrace features a spectacular night-time view of the city. ask for a room on the fifth floor, facing the river or the Ponte Vecchio and you will not be disappointed. The sightseeing advice from the staff made our stay in Florence
most rewarding.

Room Tip: fifth floor, facing the river or Ponte Vecchio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjouyed your sightseeings and look forward to welcome you again

SB
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very convenient location. Staff very friendly and helpful - speak excellent English.
Room compact, but decent - my mother's room had no bedside light so had to read by overhead light, but other than that, very good.
As others have noted, the views from the breakfast bar (also a bar in the evening) are stunning.
Breakfast was very good.
All in all, a great choice.
Only tip - if you are on the first couple of floors, don't wait for the lift - it is slow!

Room Tip: NOte: not all rooms have bath, mine had shower only (not a problem for me, but might be for some?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your comment about your stay with us. All our double rooms have bath except 3 of them. I am glad that you and your mother enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again
regards

SB
Assistant manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We arrived early in Florence and had to wait for our room to be ready so we went sightseeing. I missed some steps and fell outside a church. We returned to the hotel where staff started to help immediately. They put ice on my ankle; called for an ambulance;, had food waiting for us in our room when we returned at 9:30 p.m.; went to the pharmacy to get my medications, wheelchair and crutches. Thus began our love with this this hotel and Italians. The location is ideal, near the Ponte Vecchio, shops, the Duomo, Ufizzi gallery, etc. The room we had needs some sprucing up but we overlooked it. Breakfast, included in the room cost, and the dinner, not included, were delicious and again, the service was personal and friendly. They continued to cater to me until we checked out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

My dear guests

I am so happy to read your review! I hope that everything is fine with you and that you could enjoy the rest of your vacations.
It has been our pleasure to help you, and it is not a question of "beeing kind to a guest", it's about human relations and empaty between people.
We all give you a big hug and thank you for your kindness.

Warmest regards
Sabrina and all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently situated at the south end of the Ponte Vecchio with all attractions and eateries within an easy walk. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed in this hotel. The first time we were on the 3rd floor, with a room facing the buildings at the back of the hotel, but this time we decided on a deluxe room with a view. We ended up on the 4th floor in a room with a “double aspect” view; one towards the Via d’Bardi and the other through a 12” square window towards the Ponte Vecchio.

Although deluxe rooms are supposedly on the 5th floor, our room, on the apparently recently refurbished 4th floor, was also classed as deluxe. My only criticism of the room was in the compact bathroom, although the shower pressure was good, it was impossible to escape the close attraction of the shower curtain within the confines of the narrow bath. As for undue street noise, we stayed for 7 nights and I was only disturbed for an hour or so by noise around 6 – 7 one morning.

Breakfast at the hotel was as one would expect for Italian breakfasts and accompanied by pleasant views over Florence.

I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Of the places we ate, 3 stand out. For lunch, in the Piazza de Santa Felicia, on the left, from the hotel, in the direction of the Palazzo Pitti , Pane e Olio for a panini and a little further up the lane, the Trattoria Bordino for an excellent evening meal. On the other side, straight across the Ponte Vecchio, in the opposite direction to the Palazzo Pitti, 2nd left into Borgo Santi Apostoli for Ristorante Toto. Both these places did an excellent Florentine Steak but note the price is per 100g of uncooked meat.'

Room Tip: We had room 409 which had a reasonable dual aspect view over Florence. No actual view of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJ_0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 411 in Florence
637 reviews
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 411 in Florence
417 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#52 of 411 in Florence
1,466 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#34 of 411 in Florence
1,578 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#74 of 411 in Florence
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#52 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $112 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing