We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel and Very Conveniently Located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #79 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is conveniently situated at the south end of the Ponte Vecchio with all attractions and eateries within an easy walk. This is the second time my wife and I have stayed in this hotel. The first time we were on the 3rd floor, with a room facing the buildings at the back of the hotel, but this time we decided on a deluxe room with a view. We ended up on the 4th floor in a room with a “double aspect” view; one towards the Via d’Bardi and the other through a 12” square window towards the Ponte Vecchio.

Although deluxe rooms are supposedly on the 5th floor, our room, on the apparently recently refurbished 4th floor, was also classed as deluxe. My only criticism of the room was in the compact bathroom, although the shower pressure was good, it was impossible to escape the close attraction of the shower curtain within the confines of the narrow bath. As for undue street noise, we stayed for 7 nights and I was only disturbed for an hour or so by noise around 6 – 7 one morning.

Breakfast at the hotel was as one would expect for Italian breakfasts and accompanied by pleasant views over Florence.

I would be happy to stay in this hotel again.

Of the places we ate, 3 stand out. For lunch, in the Piazza de Santa Felicia, on the left, from the hotel, in the direction of the Palazzo Pitti , Pane e Olio for a panini and a little further up the lane, the Trattoria Bordino for an excellent evening meal. On the other side, straight across the Ponte Vecchio, in the opposite direction to the Palazzo Pitti, 2nd left into Borgo Santi Apostoli for Ristorante Toto. Both these places did an excellent Florentine Steak but note the price is per 100g of uncooked meat.'

Room Tip: We had room 409 which had a reasonable dual aspect view over Florence. No actual view of the river...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EJ_0034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
There are newer reviews for Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had booked two double rooms for single use in April, so were dismayed to find that we were offered a triple room and a single room. We were told that this was because someone had been ill and was therefore occupying one of our rooms. Rather unconvincing, as why the offer of two different types of rooms, when only one was involved? We suspected they had overbooked as the world cycle championships were being held in Florence that week. As weren't sure who would take which room we said we would decide when we had seen the rooms, but were pressurised to make a decision at the desk. The triple room didn't really feel like an upgrade, as most of the space was taken up by the three beds. It got the morning light, but otherwise being on the first floor was quite dark. It would have been very cramped if occupied by three people, however it was clean and the bathroom was good. The ominously named single room 101 was however dark and pokey. It was not possible to open the only window. The only good thing about it was the bathroom with its efficient shower.

The location was good, very central, which did mean that it could be noisy, but we expected that in the centre of Florence. There was a sixth floor roof terrace, with a beautiful view over the city, where we had drinks in the evening and breakfast one morning, however space was limited so we had breakfast indoors the following day. Breakfast was good, with excellent cheese, fresh fruit etc., although the fruit juice and coffee, both from machines, were abysmal, so we were reduced to the reliable tea bags and getting our coffee fix from a nearby cafe afterwards. It's a mystery why, in Italy of all places, a hotel can't serve decent coffee. Unlike the hotel, Florence did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Maybe a higher floor would be brighter and less gloomy
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ezra54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, checked-in 3 rooms with friends; the staff was very friendly at the reception.
Rooms are clean, bathroom very well maintained.
The location is incredible; you step out of the hotel right in front of the Ponte Vecchio, shops, supermarket, restaurants, cafes are all a minute walk away! I had no idea there could be a hotel that close to the bridge!
Honestly, this is the perfect hotel to stay-in in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is located basically one block away from the end of the Ponte Vecchio bridge and therefore a great location from which to explore Florence on foot. A parking garage less than one block away also was convenient for dropping off luggage and then retrieving it upon check-out. An included beautiful rooftop breakfast buffet is the best thing about this hotel. A variety of foods are available, w/fresh brewed (by-the-cup) coffee, cappuccino, & espresso served in your choice of a small indoor area or the outside terrace with a stunning view of downtown Florence complete w/pigeons begging for a breakfast handout. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and the bed comfortable. Many little restaurants are in close proximity for mid-day and evening meal choices. The front desk personnel were helpful but not overly so. The one elevator was extremely slow and too small to hold more than one person and their luggage at a time. After waiting for several cycles and the elevator never being empty, we finally were able to put one of us w/the luggage inside while the other waited. After a second trip to retrieve the remainder of the luggage (we had been traveling for 7 weeks so had several bags) one of us chose to walk up the stairs to our 4th floor room. The hotel does offer a free luggage holding service after check-out and offers a comfortable sitting area w/bathroom available on the first floor as well. The location was excellent but the street below was extremely noisy the night we stayed. We were there on a Saturday night and the noise outisde from the people in the street below our window did not stop until after 2am! That was very annoying and the hotel offered no compensation when we made that complaint. This made what would have been an otherwise enjoyable stay, very dissapointing especially considering the more than $200 per night fee that was paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the street outside the entrance.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonworshipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a 3-night stay in Florence at the Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio hotel which was excellent from start to finish! The staff were all polite and friendly - including maids, chefs, etc. - and the rooms were clean and functional, if a little small and lacking tea & coffee making facilities (difficult to drop the old British habits). Our meal on the rooftop restaurant was particularly good and probably the best value of all the meals we had during our trip. The head Waiter was brilliant and thankfully spoke very good English as our Italian is somewhat limited! Location is everything and the Pitti Palace couldn't actually be better, literally a few strides from the Southern side of the Ponte Vecchio. When we come back to Florence we will stay here!... Thank you for a lovely stay.

Thank Badgersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked a two night stay through Secret Escapes. The Hotel was exactly as described with a clean and comfortable room, very helpful and pleasant staff and a location that would be hard to beat. The roof terrace is wonderful and gives panoramic views over the city, although you have to get there early for breakfast if you want a table there. It was excellent value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is situated right at the end of the Ponte Vecchio so you can't pick a better location. The rooms are clean and spacious, with air conditioning. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The breakfast was a beautiful buffet. There were ten of us, stopping for a rest day on a cycling trip over the Alps, and everyone was very pleased with the hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think you can choose a bad room here. Like most city hotels in Europe, there is not muc...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#48 of 411 in Florence
1,550 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 411 in Florence
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#19 of 411 in Florence
394 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#75 of 411 in Florence
614 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#60 of 411 in Florence
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $125 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing