We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$258
$201
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$331
$305
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$523
$481
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$418
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Brunelleschi(Florence)
$357
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$252
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Minerva(Florence)
$340
$332
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lungarno(Florence)
$657
$634
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,858)
Filter reviews
1,858 results
Traveler rating
820
793
176
50
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
793
176
50
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsponte vecchiogreat locationrooftop restaurantfloor terracewine barbreakfast terracestreet noiseboboli gardenspastrieslovely hotelrooms are smallcold meatsnoisy at nightuffizi gallerywithin easy walking distancecentral locationbeautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,858 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had mixed comments about this place.
Firstly our pet picks:

1) The hair drier was pathetic... would take over half an hour for a lady to dry her hair.

2) The hotel offers a paid internet service with the use of their laptop . The 7 days that we stayed there the internet did not work. This was very frustrating. Especially since its very hard to find an internet cafe around these days. Each time we asked about the internet the staff said it was fixed, but this was not the case.

3) Our third pet pick (and the one that brassed us off the most). Through fault of our own we miss timed our stay in terms of leaving dates. We were rung at 6pm (7 hours after check out time) to inform us that we did not have a booking for that night. Even though we had handed in our key when going out several times that day where they could of said that we needed to check out. At the late time of 6pm we were then pretty much forced to book another night here (as opposed to finding somewhere else) at a much higher rate. I guess the point that we are highlighting here is that the staff did not have high quality customer service, when they had the ability to charge us at the rate we had paid all the other 6 nights. We ended up having to pay almost double the rate we had booked at for this final 7th night....The staff had poor communication in letting us know we had not booked for this night until it was very late in the day.

On a more positive note, breakfast was included as part of our rate. The breakfast was enjoyable, with good and varied food and drink...In terms of location, the hotel is central and has a supermarket near..Overall, a nice hotel, with customer service that could be worked on a bit.

(Speaking of the name of the hotel, check out the actual Pitti Palace while your there....amazing gardens to walk through).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BangersAndMash2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations. Unfortunately we had troubles with our internet provider, we made everything that was possible for us to solve the problem but beeing a technical issue we were forced to depend on their technical assistance.
I take the opportunity of your review to inform other possible customers that we also have a couple of haidryers that we can lend to our guests if the one in the bathroom is not enough. I am sorry that we did not inform you about this opportunity.
For the third pick: I apologize that we did not inform you immediately about the check out time, we did not see you handing in your key and so we could inform you only late in the afternoon that check out was overdue. We charged the best available rate of the day, as you booked with an internet portall a special offer, we are unable to know the rate you booked at first.
I apologize for these inconveniences and hope that your stay was not spoilt by them
Sincerely Yours
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We wanted to stay in the center of the ancient part of the city, and this hotel couldn't have been more a more perfect location! When you stepped out the front door of the hotel, you were right at the eastern end of the fabulous Ponte Vecchio Bridge, the only one spanning the Arno River that was NOT destroyed during the war years. The Bridge once was home to meat packers, but the carcasses they tossed into the river became a health problem, so they were moved to the edge of the city and now the Bridge is home to a multitude of shops, mostly jewelry stores. A short walk to the east brought you to the home of the Medici Family and the tour there was just amazing! Walking across the Bridge to the west took you to Florence's Domo and Basilica
(di Santa Maria del Fiore), one of my most favorite places in Italy. Its construction began in the 1296 and is built of beautiful green and white marble. Sit in one of the nearby outdoor cafes around noon time to listen as the bells begin to ring all over the city. Something that you have to experience to believe! The adjoining Baptistry is the site of Ghiberti's magnificent Gates of Paradise which took 27 years to complete.
As for the hotel itself, you won't be able to beat the view of the Domo and the hills in the distance when you sit on the top floor terrace for a wonderful breakfast! The concierge was very helpful too, and let us know where to park our car (garage down the street) so the police would not fine us for driving in the historic part of the city.
We'd encourage you to try this spot....pretty fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandinmyshoes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am glad your stay was enjoyable, we also thank you for encouraging otehr people to visit our city and our Hotel
Regards
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is at one end of the Ponte Vecchio (The Bridge of Gold) that crosses the River Arno into the core of Florence. We could walk to every major sight in 5 - 20 minutes. We spent 7 nights here and enjoyed our stay. We purchased the Frienze Card and and visited all of the museums and sites we wanted to see. The Uffizi gallery, Museum of Galileo, Accademi (David), and the list goes on. We also took the train to Pisa and Lucca one day. Easy to plan on your own, for a little adventure. On another day we booked a tour that went to Pisa (it was good to see it again!) Seina and San Gimgnano. It was all day but quite the tour. We ate at a different restaurant for lunch and dinner everyday. Breakfast was included at the hotel. The spread for breakfast was great but the same every day. Would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to any of our friends who would travel to Italy.

Room Tip: We had room 501. It was close to the elevator and stairs, one flight of up to the restaurant. Great for grabbing a few morning coffees before going up for breakfast. Bring your earplugs, it is in the middle of a busy city, but very tolerable.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobnDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review about us and about Florence, if I were a tourist willing to visit Florence your review is mouthwatering!!
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and than k you for recommending us as well
Hope to welcome you again soon
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wonderful travel guy set us up with this hotel and what a pick this was. The hotel is right down the street from the Ponte Vecchio bridge and just down the street from the Pitti palace. Everything was within a very short distance walk. The roof top restaurant (especially the outside seating area) was great. We arrived late one evening for a wine tasting thing they were having and unfortunately it was over but the staff said no problem and just made us up a plate of cheeses and prosciutto and a bottle of wine just for us. How sweet was that? They also upgraded our room to a junior suite and when I asked why they said "just because it was available and we always do that when possible". That sold me, I'll surely stay again when I return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drsknight86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for the review and for the pictures you posted about us!, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, we do strive to make our guests feel at home and offer the best possible comfort.
We hope to welcome you again
Regards
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing in Florence. It is within waling distance form all the major attractions. It wis clan and well-kept.

We had a little balcony off our room that looked down into the street, it was nice. The room was very spacious compared to some of the other ones that we had in Europe and I was so happy to have a full bath and shower. So many of the showers in Europe are tiny and do not have a bathtub.

The welcome drink up on the terrace wa sreally cool. You can also order other drinks up there too and just relax while overlooking the city. This is also where you have breakfast, which was indoors when we were there in October but the room is nice and there are some good views. The breakfast was decent, self serve cold buffet.

The only thing that we weren't too happy with was their restaurant recomendations. We usually have very good luck asking the front desk but not here. We got lost trying to find one of the places and ended up going somewhere else and the one that we did find the next day was disappointing, the food was very bland and the wine was terrible. Do yourself a favour and find recomendations on Tripadvisor before going to Florence. I suggest the "Circus".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellersAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your room and your stay in Florence. I am sorry if the restaurant suggested did not meet your expectations, we have a range of restaurant we suggest, circus included.
I hope to welcome you again

Sincerely yours
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews