We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and terrace - wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #77 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel was a little dated in decor - but the location just off the Ponte Vecchio was amazing. A couple of paces from the door and you are on the famous bridge looking around at the Jewellery and across the Arno river. The second highlight for me was the 6th floor terrace, where you have your breakfast and evening drinks if you wish, again it's not the most stylish, however it does have a lovely view across Florence. You can relax with a drink in your hotel, yet still feel like you aren't missing anything as you take in the Florence skyline.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane10981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about us, I am glad that you enjoyed our terrace and skyline!
Hope to welcome you again

Regards
SB
Ass mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went for a short holiday to Florence and spent 4 days together with my boyfriend. The hotel is very nice, clean and has a very good location, close to all important touristic objectives. Try to book room 506 or even better 507. They have excellent view. Breakfast is like in Italy, meaning not too many to choose. Italians usually for breakfast have a coffee and a cornetto (meaning something sweet, like a croissant) therefore maybe they are not used to a rich breakfast. :)

Room Tip: room 506 or 507 - belle view: Pallazo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio, Coridorio Vasari
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for writing a review about us, I agree with you that the rooms you mentionned are very nice and have a nice view!
Hope to welcome you again in Florence!
Regards
SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice staff, nice rooms. Lovely view over Florence from the breakfast room/terrace. Very central position. Some rooms is a little disturbed of/by streetnoice and the elevator is sometimes hard to get.

Good information in the tv about what to see in florence and the history of Florence

Room Tip: Try to get a room that don´t is on the streetside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review , I am happy that you appreciated our dvd about the history of Florence available on the first channel of our tv for free.

See you again

SB
Ass Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Single traveller: Great location, agreed. However, as a single traveller I was allocated a small, dingy room with approximately 12 inches of angled hanging wardrobe space. The bathroom was spotless, and looked fairly new which was pleasing. The bed and the room was clean apart from the carpet which was dirty and stained. Lovely views from the pleasant upstairs breakfast room/bar. There are no facilities to charge mobile phone or camera battery which is inconvenient. Electrical appliances are not allowed. It was suprisingly very quiet at night. I would imagine the depressing room was the penalty to pay for being a single traveller, maybe the double rooms are better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I wish to assure you and other single travellers that we do not penalize them, we do have single rooms that are nice and comfortable and offer a reasonable price for those travelling by themselves. If we are in low occupancy we usually upgrade the single guest to a double room with no extra cost, but in high occupancy we have to respect the booking made.
For fire security reason in Italy you may use only the electrical sockets in the rooms.
I hope you enjoyed Florence and hope to welcome you again

SB
Ass mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel is perfect location for exploring the great city of Florence. The hotel staff from front desk to cleaning staff all are friendly and very,very helpful. I can't stress enough how central the hotel is to all points of interest. You can walk easily to all of the major sights. There are several good places to eat nearby. Hotel serves a very good breakfast (included with room charge) ham,cheese,pastry,boiled eggs,juice,coffee,fruit,bread,jam. The breasfast is served on the roof top location of hotel - GREAT VIEWS OF CITY - wine bar,tastings in the evenings. The hotel is very well managed and it really shows. GREAT VALUE. Only one elevator, minor noise level, especially for location. Beds are firm,rooms are clean, shower is fine, however never figured out how to open drain properly, no big deal. All in all this is a great place to stay. Number one is still LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION ! ! !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room they will give you best they have available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSO421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I booked here on Expedia. Upon arrival we were told there was a problem with the rooms and the hotel had made arrangements to re-book us in another hotel a ways to the east (though still in Oltrarno). The alternative hotel had one less star and I am pretty sure was a less flashy room, but we still paid the presumably higher price for the Pitti Palace. The hotel made the gesture of paying for the cab that delivered us to the other hotel and gave us a voucher for a free drink on their rooftop bar. The latter has a nice view but the free drink involves no choice: a request for a glass of wine was met with the explanation that the free drink is orange juice and a few drops of prosecco. I would forgive the crisis of a flooded room (or whatever) and the higher fare had I received a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
4  Thank MisterForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Awesome location at foot of Ponte Vecchio. (Easy walk to almost anywhere). Room was spacious by Italy standards and quiet. very clean room and general facilities. staff was friendly and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants etc. WiFi worked flawlessly throughout stay. Would certainly stay here again on next visit to Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missouri5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, Assistant Manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again
Regards
SB
Ass mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#47 of 410 in Florence
1,567 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#18 of 410 in Florence
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#35 of 410 in Florence
1,539 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#66 of 410 in Florence
622 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#57 of 410 in Florence
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#99 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $120 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing