We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location & good option for budget travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Ranked #70 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location & good option for budget travelers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The location is second to none and the prices are reasonable, which is why we picked this hotel. If you are on a tight budget, it's a great option. However, you get what you pay for. In looking at some of the user photos, I can definitely see there is a wide range of room styles and finishes. Our room looked nothing like some of the other travelers' photos. Maybe they are in the process of updating and we just got an older room?

While the location is fantastic, the rooms are TINY, very outdated (circa 1970s) and not very clean/fresh. Thankfully they provided disposable slippers. Otherwise, I would not have walked on the carpet without shoes. I'd liken this hotel to an older Motel 6 in the US.

We never went upstairs for breakfast but from the other reviews, it looks like we missed out! Bummer!

Next time we go to Florence, I think we'll splurge to stay at a nicer hotel that is more authentic/European. When we travel, we like to be in the hotel as little as possible. However, it would have been great to have somewhere a little nicer to come "home" to after a long day of walking.

The highlight of our trip to Florence was a cooking class we took. I know there are tons out there, but we found this one to be very fun, interactive and affordable- http://www.florencetown.com/eng/florence-tours/single-day-tours/49/cooking-class-in-florence.html

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Elisabeth

thank you for leaving a comment about us, you are right, we have many typology of rooms and in the last year we finished renovating two of our 5 floors. It was a big effort we happly made for our dear guests. Of course we are planning more renovations but we also have 87 rooms so it may take a bit of time!, in all the website we have pictures of all our category of rooms. It is a real pity that you did not go on the sixth floor to have breakfast, you lost the highlight of our hotel, the view from the terrace is beautiful expecially in the afternoon with a nice glass of red wine in one hand and a pice of parmigiano in the other one!
Hope to welcome you again soon
Sabrina Bisconti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    709
    166
    47
    14
See reviews for
268
906
67
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Statyed there for 10 days. The breakfast here every morning on the topo fteh hotel overlookng the city was fabulous. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel for a great place to stay near teh Ponte Vecchio. Good restaurants and a quick walk to all the sites in Florence

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barmecid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Barmecid

I thank you for your comment, and most of all for staying such a long period with us!, you are the perfect example that it is not true that tourist just pass by in Florence, there are still people like you that think that Florence deserve many days and you always wished you could have stayed more!
See you again
Sabrina Bisconti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This hotel was right at the end of Ponte Vecchio. Short walk to everything. A little noisy at night but nothing too disturbing if you are use to a city. We got the triple room (3 singles). Nothing too special about the actual room, it was clean and was a decent size. The view from the rooftop was wonderful, although, it's only open during certain hours which sucks because sometimes you might want to go up there and enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. Breakfast was more than adequate but watch out for birds, they will swoop down and take your food haha. There was an elevator and free internet. They were able to hold our luggage on the day we left so we could continue to sightsee before our next train. We used our points for this hotel so I can't comment on the value but I saw what the rate was for the triple and I'm not sure it's really worth that. The view is probably the best thing going for this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking a bit of your time to leave a comment about us, it is vital for us to know our guest's feelings about their stay in order to improve our services
We hope to welcome you again

Sabrina Bisconti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Not only the fantastic location, but also their hospitality, facility and also lovely breakfast can not let me choose other hotels! I am a regular visitor of Florence for the last several years and I always choose this hotel. Especially my latest stay became unforgettable... I accidentally dropped my jewelry into the pipe hole of the sink. I was almost giving up to get it back.. However, they somehow managed to take it from the pipe hole and returned it to me. I can recommend this hotel with 100% confidence.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank JapaneseInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Friend of the Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Thank you n1: for writing such a nice comment about us
Thank you n2: for beeing a loyal guest of ours, it is very important for us
Thank you n3: for your 100% confidence in us!
I am glad to hear that your jewellery war relieved from the pipes!
See you next time

Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

This hotel was Brilliant! One of the best we stayed in while on our honeymoon. They gave us a free drink in their bar to celebrate our honeymoon. Great breakfast each morning that was included.

We found one guy on the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and a lovely lady in the bar, Justyna was fantastic.

The hotel's location was perfect, right at the end of the Ponte Vecchio.

There was a lift. The room was huge and so was the bathroom, and very clean. The bed was little hard and was 2 mattress joined together (which we found most hotels had beds like this).

The view at breakfast was great! Definitely stay here again. Also free internet in the room.

Brilliant hotel!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuki2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Yuki

Thank you for your nice comment about us!, apparently this time we did not forget your Honeymoon as we did with another one of our guests (see previous review...) I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, expecially in this important occasion!
Should you decide to spend your anniversary in Florence we are here waiting for you!
Congratulations!
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We chose Pitti Palace because our daughter was living in Florence for the semester and her apartment was nearby. Upon arrival, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was immediately ready for our arrival and our check-in went swiftly. I booked a Superior room. It was spacious and modern, with a large bathroom (for European standards). The room was immaculate and the air-conditioning was well up to American standards. While the hotel had an elevator, we chose to use the stairs most of the time for a bit of exercise. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was very good, served on their roof top level with outdoor dining available. The view from the roof is lovely. We returned to the rooftop in the evenings for a cocktail and another look at the city from above. The staff was very accomodating and even invited our daughter for breakfast and provided a last minute roll away bed for her on our last night. The hotel has internet service (which they charge for) and is excellent at arranging for transportation to the Rome airport. It is located at the base of the Ponte Vechio, so you can walk over the bridge and be at a large outdoor market as well as designer shopping in five minutes. It is walking distance to just about any place you would like to visit. The only time we took a taxi was when we arrived by train. All in all, a delightful, intimate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Mercedesbenz10

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family in our Hotel, I am glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and that you used our "Fitness Stairs"!, thank you for writing a comment about us, I hope to welcome you and your daughter again

Regards
Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

Pitti Palace is in a GREAT location. That's about all I can say for it. No air conditioning, very small rooms, and very noisy with the windows open (due to the central location). We loved being on the Ponte Vechio, but I'd try to stay someplace else next time. Particularly in the summer months.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandala006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaPittiPalace, assistant manager at Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Mandala

Thank you for taking your time to write a comment about us, I am sorry to read that you felt uncomfortable because of the heat. We switchen on the AC in May, to be honest I cannot recall the exact date, it could be that you staied just the days before this. I can assure you that our rooms in the summer are nice and fresh, as you probably know we have different typologies from which you may choose the category of room more adequate for your needs. And then, of course, in the summer you can fully enjoy the beauty of our terrace!

Thank you for your visit

Sabrina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#69 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Berchielli
Hotel Berchielli
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#33 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pitti
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
Ponte Vecchio Suites & SPA
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#64 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio

Property: Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Address: Borgo San Jacopo 3, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#80 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#98 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Cancelon, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitti Palace Al Ponte Vecchio Hotel Florence
Viva Hotel Florence
Pitti Palace Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing