We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with terrific location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Minerva
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #62 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with terrific location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here one night on first night of a 2-family vacation to Italy. Hotel gave us adjoining rooms with two separate bedrooms and balconies overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Location couldn't be beat, and valet parking was very helpful (though it was cool but intimidating to drive onto a pedestrian piazza to get to the hotel's front door and drop off luggage). Roof-top pool was a huge treat with terrific views and a decent bar. Staff were also terrific on restaurant recommendations. Hotel is also right behind the main train station, 3 blocks from the Duomo, so super easy to get around on foot. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Piazza Santa Maria Novella, especially those with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    541
    130
    49
    25
See reviews for
457
672
62
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently had 4 nights at this fantastic hotel. We booked two superior rooms (rm 204 & 206) overlooking the beautiful Piazza. We didn't find the noise from outside disturbing. The rooms were very large and in the room with queen bed we had a very large bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. The beds were very comfortable and rooms came with kettle, (unusual for Italy) tea, coffee and biscotti and a fresh bottle of water each morning. The pool on the roof is gorgeous and the view is amazing. To be able to sitting in the pool and look out over the rooftops of Florence and see the The Duomo is magical. And the bar at the pool is great with fab cocktails.

All the staff were so friendly and helpful and it is a perfect location for visiting Florence. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the Duomo. There are plenty of good restaurants on the Piazza and a great gelato shop right on the corner.

We loved our stay and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had rooms 204 and 206 overlooking the piazza. They were both large and very comfortable. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrightnBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We really had a good time at Minerva. Big clean and neat room, well located with the most beautiful view (I could see the dome from my room).
Nice pool upstairs and great breakfast.
The only negative point is the noise at the square. But I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aninha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The rooftop pool really makes this hotel. I was told that they are studying how to extend the elevator to give easier access to the pool and bar. I am handicapped, and it was a struggle. They also need to put a handrail next to the stairs in the pool for handicapped; people were kind enough to help me, but it is dangerous without a "corrimano".

Anyway, I came here to refresh my Italian while my wife is on a tour that I could not do. The staff mostly has English, but they would tolerate my weak Italian. Mi ha piaciuto molto!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your very benevolent review. You are correct: while renovating our rooftop and pool we have prepared the way for the elevator to reach also this level. It will need some further construction works and we hope that it will be available for the next season, although I cannot give an exact deadline. These kind of delays may result difficult to grasp if you are not familiar with very old building and city skylines protected by “Belle Arti”, the government agency that makes sure that arts cities remain true to their past. This means that you cannot simply build a new room on a rooftop, but you have to find a way for the elevator within the pre-existing walls. It is a very good regulation in order to maintain our city as beautiful as it is even if you look at it from the sky, but of course it causes technical difficulties (that we have solved, but it will take longer and much more work than one could imagine).

Regarding the railing to get into the pool itself, we are getting it ready. It should be there in the next couple of weeks. I am sorry that the delay related to this item has caused you some inconvenience.

As you say, most of our staff, and for sure all our staff at reception and at restaurant speak English, but I would like to encourage any of our guest who want to practice their Italian to do so with our staff: we are no teachers but we are very honored when people learn and want to practice our language and nobody will get impatient if you are not fluent with it.

I hope you will visit us in the future to show us your improved Italian if you have had the chance to practice it in the meantime or to refresh it again while sipping a drink on our rooftop.

With my best regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is in a really good location and the staff are first class. However the carpet and walls to the bedroom (we were on the 2nd floor) needed some attention. Also our room was small and you couldn't get past the chair on the way to the bathroom without knocking you legs. Our bedroom also needed a paint job and the voile type curtains in the bedroom and bathroom certainly needed a good clean. The windows also needed a really good painting. BEWARE though there are mosquitoes in the rooms and the mosquito machine is not plugged in until you ask. By then it was too late for us and we were badly bitten. However it was all spotlessly clean throughout.
We enjoyed our first dinner in the outdoor restaurant so much we went back a couple of nights later to have the same again but far from as good as the first one.
The rooftop pool is lovely but small with a fantastic view of the city.
We stayed one week in the hotel but I think 4 nights would be enough.

Room Tip: We had a classic double and I wouldn't recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for having stayed with us and for your very generous praise of our staff. I am sorry that the room you were assigned was not satisfying. We run regular maintenance checks to offer a well kept product but apparently something in our procedures has not been working the way it is supposed to. Please accept my apologies for this. For the benefit of our readers I would like to suggest everybody who is not satisfied with their room to speak as soon as possible with reception. Our staff is well trained assisting in proposing alternative solutions which may not always be available at the same moment of the request, but most likely can be offered for the following day. Considering that you have stayed one week with us, it is a real pity that you have not communicated your dissatisfaction to our front desk: I am sure that a room change would have been possible.
As to the restaurant it would be helpful to have ore details in order to investigate this issue which is really peculiar. So far I have had only very good records regarding our quality standards for our Summer Grand Carte.
A small note about Mosquitos. In Florence there are Mosquitos and especially during humid summer days. We do not activate the mosquito machine if not requested since its tablets are chemical products. They are not dangerous to humans, of course, but still we prefer that they are used only if our customers agree to it.
I hope you will want to give us a second chance if coming back to Florence in the future. I would be very pleased if you would directly contact me so I can organize your stay in the best possible way. Here is my address: fburroni@grandhotelminerva.com.
With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a lovely hotel, that blends the feeling of old and new artfully. It provides modern rooms and services for those who want that ambiance, but it has also paid special attention to its historic location and past. This means that for those interesting in feeling like they're in the heart of one of the world's great historic cities, you're in luck.

The staff was lovely, attentive, and the services were great. The location couldn't be better. It is conveniently located in my favorite part of Florence to stay in. You're close to the main station, the water, and the city's core. Yet, it is also on a large square and just far enough outside the main tourist mash that you're not overwhelmed by shoulder-to-shoulder traffic when you leave the front door during high season.

Room Tip: Decide if you want a view over the square (which is a bit louder, but also provides a lot to see and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtualWayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great Location, Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Roof top pool is absolutely great, after a long day of walking you can go to the roof top pool, and enjoy a nice swim with a beautiful view of the whole city. That alone was worth the price of admission. Hotel is within walking distance to all attraction, and has a good selection of restaurants under in the piazza. Overall a winner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#46 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#5 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#33 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#14 of 422 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Kraft Hotel
Kraft Hotel
#83 of 422 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Property: Grand Hotel Minerva
Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#62 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 102 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing