We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #50 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Great location for hotel and very nice room. Lovely breakfast and staff. Disappointed that roof pool not open and we were not informed when booking. Also renovations going on and we were woken up very early with a lot of banging. Very annoyed as we were on vacation. No apologies were made either.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank galwaymaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Guests,
thank you for having chosen our property for your stay in Florence. Please accept my apologies for the closed rooftop terrace. We have completely renovated it and unfortunately the unusual heavy rains of this spring have delayed works quite a bit. The terrace will be open and operating starting from May 17. During some days in April works have actually been quite noisy, and although they did not start before 9 a.m. I am perfectly understand that this may have caused some inconveniences. I also would like to apologize for this.
Regarding the pool, we actually advertised for it to be operating starting from June, and we also informed our travel agents. At this stage I am happy to inform TA users that it will also be operating from May 17.
I hope the inconveniences suffered at our hotel have not impacted too heavily on your travel experience to our beautiful city and that you nevertheless keep nice memories of your trip. I hope you will come back to Florence in the future and, should be the case, I sincerely hope you will contact us: I would be delighted to make you a very nice offer and make sure you have the best possible stay at our hotel. Here is my direct email contact: fburroni@grandhotelminerva.com
With my kindest regards,
Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had made reservations to stay at this hotel for 3 nights, however, after checking in we realized that we needed to get out as soon as possible and thankfully were able to check out the very next morning. The very first impression of the building from outside was that of a run down place, but we thought that it would be OK from inside. However, on entering the room there was a moldy smell and the carpet seemed very dirty and stained. The paint on the wall was peeling off, the wood panels were chipped and the chairs were wobbly. There was a common door between two adjacent rooms and you could get a glimpse of the other room through a small gap!
This hotel does not provide any iron or an ironing board (we were told this was for safety reasons) and they provide ironing services in the hotel which is quite expensive. There are some ambulances parked outside the hotel which will wake you up with their loud sirens at odd hours.
This is not a cheap hotel by any means (the cost of the suite was 380 euros per night) but the room is probably not even worth 80 euros. Even if you are on a tight budget this is not the place to stay and you will likely find better options in Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Unknown28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilippoBurroni, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guests,
I am terribly sorry that our hotel was such a disappointment to you.
I think it is important to say that the room you occupied, which is room 106 (together with adjacent room 107) is a very antique (and unique) room in our hotel: decorations, including its frescoed ceiling, and (most of the) furniture date back to the 19th Century, when the Grand Hotel Minerva opened as such. To my experience all guests occupying this room are thrilled by its spaciousness and decorations, and would like to invite our common readers to check a review published in Spanish on TripAdvisor on 6 January 2014. Guests occupied the same room 106 and the title of the review is “Excelente Hotel”. The room is defined as “bellissima”, which means “wonderful”. This said, if you are looking for something fully new and modern, this actually not your best choice.

I also would like to add that it is for me really sad to learn about your dissatisfaction only now: I have a record of our receptionist Roberta asking you if your early departure was related to our services and apparently you just spoke of changed plans. Of course we do not expect our guests to give us their real reasons for any of their choices, but this prevented us from showing you one of our modern style suites which you maybe you would have appreciated.
I hope that your experience at our hotel did not prevent you to enjoy your stay in Florence and that you nevertheless keep good memories of our city and that maybe you will come visit us one day if only to have a drink at the bar on our rooftop terrace.

With my kindest regards,

Filippo Burroni – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Our room had recently been remodelled and was clean and comfortable. The staff were always extremely helpful and polite. It's a stones throw from the railway station and a short walk from all the sights. A pity the roof terrace and pool were closed for building works during our visit but it didn't spoil our enjoyment at all. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluegarland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay in Florence. It is not too close to anything but only about a ten minute walk from everywhere you want to be. The staff were always helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and, again, nothing was too much trouble for the delightful women who greeted us each morning. It took only two days for them to remember us, our choice of tea or coffee and our room number so it was like having breakfast in a family home.
We loved our stay here and would recommend it to anyone looking for accomodation in Florence.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Although not a trendy location, it was either within walking distance to tourist locations or convenient to transportation. Room was recently renovated-while not what Americans would call spacious; it was very nice with plenty of space to spread out. For a mother and daughter with separate luggage, it was great to have two sturdy luggage racks and a bright bathroom. Staff was very helpful. Although I am not really a person who likes to eat breakfast before 10 a.m., I found the staff in the buffet area to be very nice and anxious to please. The lady with the red hair, sorry don't know her name, did a good job of directing other staff.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We did not upgrade, but found a basic room to be quite adequate. When in Florence, you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlpmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Except for some noise due to hotel construction, I was impressed by the Minerva. It's a short walk from the train station, and in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is a beautiful square. The hotel staff were excellent. I didn't have a room with a view, but with Florence at the doorstep, who cares.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a great hotel right near (walking distance with luggage) the train station right in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Because it is near the train station, it is right near the hop-on hop-off bus stops making it easy to access the main attractions. We had a recently remodeled room that was nice and modern. Breakfast was okay, room was a good size and staff was helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#30 of 411 in Florence
1,714 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 411 in Florence
2,917 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 411 in Florence
1,347 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#53 of 411 in Florence
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $160 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 97 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing