We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel Amazing View & Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #49 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of Florence, my husband and I didn't use any kind of transport at all!! All landmarks are at a walking distance..
When we checked-in they informed us that we have been upgraded to the biggest Suite in the Hotel, it was a great surprise but once we reached the Suite and saw the view.. OMG!! it was just Amazing, you can see from the window the full Piazza Santa Maria Novella and everyday at around 4:00 or 5:00 PM there was a group of very talented musicians who came and played very nice music in the Piazza :)
The staff is wonderful & helpful, the breakfast was good and the room was huge and even included a Jacuzzi..
On top of the terrace there is a very nice swimming pool
In front of the hotel, there a variety of great restaurants.
The below pictures are the view from our Suite :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Minerva
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a great location, the train station behind, a big open square out front, walking distance to everything and a spectacular view of the duomo from the rooftop terrace which has a small pool. A great place for sunset cocktails. The breakfast buffet is also quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonbons57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel three nights early November. The location is fantastic and about 5 minutes walk fro the Termini and bang next to the Basilica Santa Maria Novella. The square outside is beautiful and some very good restaurants are located just across the hotel. The roooms are big, beds too, good quality linen. The bathrooms too were decently sized and the toileteries of good quality. The staff very helpful and all our requests were met with a smile. The breakfast was excellent and had a great variety. The only problem was that AC's are turned off and we had to keep the window open for some air circulation, which meant that mosquitoes came in.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi15000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have stayed at the Grand Minerva 2 times. The location is great the staff is wonderful. This isn't a high end hotel but it is clean and the rooms are a USA normal size hotel room. You have to get over the wall paper on the doors (or at least I do). I choose this hotel for the location to the train station and the ease of walking less than 5 minutes and the old city. Plenty of places around to eat at. I can not say enough about the staff they have always been wonderful.
The views from the roof top great especially at night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank time2flyaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We drove into the above square, and the hotel took up one side, with the church the other. Across from the hotel were several restaurants. A beautiful square! The lobby area was filled with many cushy sofas, very warm. Speaking of warm, the temp was mid 70s, and a bit stuffy. Unfortunately, the Acs are turned off on 1 Oct, so the only option is to open you room window. I killed several mosquitos in our room, and other members of our party were bitten. If you get a room overlooking the square, its a great view, but when the revelers are in the square, it can be quite noisy. Our room was nicely appointed, a good size. The food at this hotel was the best hotel food we had on our trip. If we went back, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want the square/piazza view, get one facing it, if you want quiet, get a side facing room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is truly 4* and although the price was not cheap, the rooms were lovely and the views of the Douma, Uffizi and the S Maria Novella were amazing. The hot breakfast was not very appealing, but the cold buffet was very good quality and plentiful, even for a 4*. The only three issues were that the beds had plastic sheeting and not very good quality sheets (essentially it was a duvet with two bed-sheets badly wrapped around it), there wasn’t any information in the room (usually you get a little folder) and the noise was very difficult to sleep through. I realise that asking for a “room with a view” was going to incur some noise pollution in Florence, but they really could have had better insulation/double glazing, for this price. However the staff were very helpful and professional, the look and feel of the place was kept to a high standard and the views are even better than advertised. One small piece of advice is to avoid heading towards the river for a good meal. The best restaurants were in the opposite direction.

Room Tip: Room 301 was great for the view, if you do not mind the noise.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Grand Minerva Hotel Florence is a very convenient, centrally located hotel, close to historic place, restaurants and shopping. It is beside Santa Maria Novella Church and has a very big plaza. Valet parking service is also available for the convenient of guest w/ car.
The bedroom is very comfortable, very nice with complete toiletries, coffee, variety of tea and snacks.
I would like to extend my THANKS to a great, accommodating staff like Ms. Mhargarita. She is really very nice, friendly and helpful. She really exerted her best effort to make hotel guests feel comfortable in all aspect.
Hotel breakfast is great too and has a lot of choices.

Grand Minerva Hotel is the best hotel we stayed throughout the entire Europe tour.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimby_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#27 of 411 in Florence
1,670 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#44 of 411 in Florence
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,809 reviews
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#56 of 411 in Florence
1,587 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#7 of 411 in Florence
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#39 Family Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $183 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 97 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing