We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minerva
Ranked #50 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Amazing stay and attentive, gorgeous, helpful staff, in one word incredible. Especially the front desk, always ready to satisfy all our requests.
The location is beautiful ( a five minutes walk from the Duomo), rooms views are breathtaking, breakfast is delicious!
And the pool is an amazing surplus. Doubtless the best place to relax after a walking day trough the beautiful Florence.
Probably the highlight of our Italian trip. A real top notch!
If we will return to Florence we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing hotel! Staff, service amenities and don't forget the food! Ate at the restaurant all three nights of our stay. No need to venture out. Watched the activity in the square and had great food. The breakfast room was over the top.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladydidi2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The hotel is in walking distance to the city centre and all the main sights. It is also located right on the Santa Maria Novella Piazza, which is a main sight but at the same time nice and peaceful.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The only thing missing was a gym.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Really enjoyed the stay at Grand Hotel Minerva, great location, fantastic staff and great value.
Breakfast was enjoyable and rooftop is nice although I did not get a seat since it was so crowded.
(Room was small, but did not spend much time in it)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A well located hotel only a few minutes walk from the railway station and convenient for all sightseeing and restaurants. Our car hire depot was also conveniently situated within nearby walking distance. The rooftop pool is ideal for relaxing after a hot and tiring day doing the city's sights and galleries whilst also offering wonderful city views throughout the day and evening. Our front facing 3rd floor room was clean, comfortable and spacious with unimpeded views of the Piazza. The breakfasts were sumptuous and easily set one up for the rest of the day - until lunchtime at least! Our booking for 3 nights was made on the strength of earlier reviews and we were not disappointed. We would happily return.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms offer views over the Piazza and towards the Duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel Grand Minerva is perfectly situated at the peacefully trafficed Piazza Santa Maria Novella, next to the Basilica of the same name. You can reach it from the airport by bus that stops just a five minute walk away. From the hotel you only walk ten minutes through the wonderful old city center to all the major cultural sites: Palazzo Vecchio, Uffizi Galleries, Ponte Vecchio and the many, many glorious piazzas and renaissance buildings and statues. Culture points galore!
Service in the hotel is friendly, good and to the point. At arrival reception expected just me and not my two fellow travellers, but they made no point out of it and set the misunderstanding straight without hesitation.
Our spacious room had all the facilities and amenities you might expect from a four star accommodation. We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet with all kinds of fresh fruits, bread, yoghurts, eggs et cetera. And, not unimportant in Italy, they served us excellent cappuccinos.
The best of the hotel actually might be found on top of it: an outdoor pool area, with bar, and a magnificent view over the entire Florence and its surrounding hills. Breathtaking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yozsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in September, 2013. We chose the hotel based on the location, as it offered good access both from the airport and the railwaystation, both of which we used during our trip. The location was spot on, exactly what we wanted.

When arriving close to the earliest check in time, we got our room immediately without a hassle. This is something one appreciates after travelling all day. It was a nice extra to get a map with some tourist tips to start with. When checking out, this was also handled smoothly, although someone had been dishonest and had given our room number to charge something from the bar. Hope that these guests were honest enought to pay their bills when checking out.

The room was good for us, as it faced the backyard away from the square in front. This was perfect for us, and we were able to sleep tight in this peaceful room. The room had everything that we needed. The only thing that seemed a bit outdated was the bathtub, in which the plug (right word?) did not allow the water to drain fast enough even then showering. The water pressure was okay, but not excellent. Also the faucet was awkwardly positioned as one tempted to kick it with ones knee when showering and turn the water off or change its temperately unintentionally. Otherwise we had everything we needed. The ability to adjust the airconditioning was nice, as it was set too cold for us, as we cannot stand too much of a difference between temperature outside and inside. It is also so unecological to cool the rooms so much while weather is hot.

We enjoyed the breakfast, although in our opinion some of the praises heard were a bit too much to the variety and quality of food. It was good though, and nice atmosphere, too. One morning a young lad (another customer) talking to his mobile out loud and walking back and forth was a little bit of a nuisance, but otherwise we enjoyed the breakfast.

Thanks for a nice stay in Minerva/Florence!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayNeeded63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
Santa Maria Novella Hotel
#32 of 410 in Florence
1,726 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel L'Orologio
Hotel L'Orologio
#43 of 410 in Florence
1,359 reviews
San Lorenzo
Grand Hotel Baglioni Firenze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
Santa Croce
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
Plaza Lucchesi Hotel
#54 of 410 in Florence
1,671 reviews
San Lorenzo
Glance Hotel In Florence
Glance Hotel In Florence
#20 of 410 in Florence
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Santa Maria Novella 16, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#48 Business Hotel in Florence
#61 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $180 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Minerva, renovated in 2015, is a 4-star superior hotel in the heart of Florence's historic center in its illustrious Piazza Santa Maria Novella, which is close to the main railway station. Florence's key tourist attractions are all just five or ten minutes' walk from us as well as the Congress and Fair Center. The hotel boasts 97 rooms, suites and family solutions and a breathtaking rooftop terrace (open all year round) with an open-air swimming pool (open from May to September). It also offers a restaurant with its "al fresco" extension on the Piazza and five meeting rooms with day light. High speed wi-fi is free in all common areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing