We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #198 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and spacious ”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days when doing a 7 days tour around Italy.
Our room was spacious and the bathroom was big(bathtub and standing shower each separately)
Food was very average and with most of the tour groups eating together for breakfast and dinner it was chaotic.
Receptionist was welcoming and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    741
    524
    191
    118
See reviews for
454
701
65
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Italy. Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Rooms were nice, clean and spacious. Breakfast was good. I picked this hotel because we were traveling by car and it was conveniently located and had parking. Everything was within walking distance and the restaurants nearby were good,not to expensive and not many tourists.
It was nice at the end of the day to get away from the crowded tourist area and dine in a local restaurant .

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vinbo2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a brief visit to Florence. The hotel is adequate, the room and bathroom were clean.Although the hotel itself is not in a central location, it was an easy walk to the sites we were interested in visiting. The hotels caters to many tour groups, and it was downright overwhelming when many tour groups and buses converged at the same time; particularly during breakfast time which was the least relaxing and enjoyable meal of the day in this hotel-too many people, too much noise and the breakfast was nothing to write home about. The breakfast area seemed untidy; even the coffee was not particularly good and that is a huge statement for Italy -bad coffee in Italy! Mama mia! All in all, just a place to stay for a clean room and bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerryGoWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a road trip through Italy. The room and bathroom were quite small, but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom, however, lacked enough towels.
The location of the hotel is slightly outside the centre of Florence and it takes a 15-20 minute walk to get there. I only stayed at this hotel one night, so the distance to the city centre was not a problem. However, if I had to talk to the centre every day, I would definitely choose a hotel closest to the centre of Florence. Even though you go along the Arno river and it is a pleasant and beautiful walk, it´s hard, specially with a 35º temperature and no shadows to shelter.
The hotel has parking space, which is great if you are traveling with car.
Breakfast was standard, but with a variety of foods to choose from.
Staff at the reception was unhelpful and very unpleasant. We asked some questions to the lady on the reception and she treated us with indifference and was very rude. She had an air of mockery when we asked her some questions – it were obvious questions for her but not for us, since we had just arrived at florence! She was extremely rude and unwelcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pipa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Room was a decent size. Our bathroom was huge. Room could do with being updated. Walls were dirty. Bed was very uncomfortable. Staff at reception were very unhelpful. Our last day we checked out, they said they would let us leave luggage in a secure room. We came back to find our hand luggage & suitcases in an unlocked room with the door wide open. Not what I would expect of a hotel when they say they will keep your belongings safe & secure! Breakfast was were good! Nothing spectacular. Average hotel in our opinion

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 1donnyrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

I enjoyed staying at this hotel for 5 nights. The location of the hotel is slightly outside the heart of Florence, but the walk to the hotel is beautiful along the Arno river. Although it takes about 10-15 minutes to reach the Duomo, the location of this hotel because we were able to take in the city along the river each day. The hotel is also close to Piazza Michelango, which was beautiful at every time of the day. The breakfast included with the hotel is filling and has a variety of foods to choose from. They even offer complimentary espresso! My only complaint about the hotel is that the walls of the rooms are extremely thin and you can hear your neighbors clearly. The bathroom was nice and housekeeping was amazing. If on a budget, I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We were on a group tour of Italy. So the hotel was not our choice, but it was a good one nevertheless. Relatively modern with a spacious attractive lobby. The elevators (as ws the case throughout Italy) were very, very small. Fortunately we were not responsible for navigating our own luggage as it probably would have meant separate trips for spouse and self. Room was smallish but adequate and featured hardwood floors. Fridge and safe were there. Mattress was quite hard. Bathroom amenities were only tiny bar of soap & hand lotion. Shampoo/body gel in pump dispenser of tub area. Shower was awkward and featured no shower curtain - another pattern from city to city. Desk staff was neither courteous nor rude. Perfunctory is the operative word here. Groups were fed breakfast in separate buffet area. I would say this was above average. Located at end of historic district, hotel was not too bad a walk to major sights.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank upthehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#200 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#96 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#232 of 420 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#129 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#100 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#136 of 420 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing