We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel... Walking distance to the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #197 of 421 Hotels in Florence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel... Walking distance to the city center”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I recently returned from Italy with a group of people and I served as the group leader... We stayed at the Hotel Mediterraneo for two nights and it met our expectations. Here are my observations:

Hotel -- The hotel itself was quite decent and presentable; several nice sized conference rooms; it has a nice lobby area for everyone to gather; it was somewhat warm -- I would advice the hotel to turn up the air-condition in the public and restaurant areas, please.

Food/Restaurants -- We ate at the restaurant once and the meal was ok -- the soup and pasta were very good. The staff were very efficient and were on top of things -- especially because there were many other groups checked-in the hotel and were having a meal

The American bar at the lobby area was great! Enjoyed hanging out there -- especially at the outdoor part, with friends during the cool summer evenings.

Breakfast buffet was fine. Typical selection for the Italian's "American breakfast" version -- runny eggs and pale bacon.

Rooms -- it was small (compared to American standard), but quite nice and clean. I had a room overlooking the main road and Arno River with a patio. The room was padded and sound proof -- it was great! It was quiet and I barely heard the traffic from the outside.

Staff -- were very accommodating and helpful; restaurant staff were very friendly

Location -- Not a bad location --- 10 minute, easy walk to Piazza Santa Croce; about 20 minutes to Piazza Vecchio; 30 minutes to the Duomo; about 15 minutes to Ponte Vecchio; otherwise you can catch a cab for about 10 Euros each way.

If you don't mind the walk and away from the center, it's a good place to stay and the hotel is decent; otherwise, you may want to stay at another hotel closer to the center... Also, wi-fi is not too good in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to get a decent signal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors, either at the back (then you can see the Dumo), or the road. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjoncapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    740
    521
    191
    118
See reviews for
453
700
65
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Lovely hotel situated some distance from the heart of Florence, this can be a problem in hot weather when you want to explore the city on foot, Clean comfortable rooms and public area. A nice Bistro adjacent to the hotel, lovely Italian food served there, very convenient after a tiring day exploring.Hotel food was disappointing, kept in hot trays and warm rather than hot.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook a park
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue19402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay at the Grand Hotel Mediterraneo was a pleasant one. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious,quiet and clean.There were several tour groups staying at this hotel but it did not feel or sound like a lot of people were there. The hotel is located in a lovely location with the river just across the street.The lobby is cool and inviting on a hot summer day. It was a bit of a maze to get to our room however. We had to take an elevator then walk down a hall to another to get to our floor. We did get lost a couple of times trying to find our room but not really a big deal. This hotel is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the center of Florence. The complimentary breakfast was fine with the usual European meats, cheese and bread offerings. There were some warm dishes available but we did not try them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rykelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beautiful gardens and hotel but terrible rude and arrogant staff, they all need to take a course in customer relations, as many of us will not stay there again due to the staff, please work on this. Rooms are all different sizes so be careful to ask what type of room you have

Room Tip: don't stay in main building and don't try to get together with others as they do not like wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggiCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good hotel with helpful staff. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast. This hotel was a stay during a organised tour of Italy. Lots of other tours stay here so breakfast and dinner times can be hectic. The dinner staff were particularly attentive and remembered our dietary needs and quick to organise alternative food. We walked to most places and staff were helpful in pointing out non touristy places to visit. Local markets were fantastic to see how the local people live and shop. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is close to fonte vecchio. The room always smells fresh. The breakfast is great too. The personnel are very nice. However the parking is not free. Easy acces to public transportation. It is also pit stop for tours. Some people may find this disturbing but to me its not.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_traveler_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights early july, and everything was fine.
Small room, but perfectly clean and very nice bathroom.
Good breakfastbuffet. People in the reception were very helpfull (e.g. booking a taxi with good price, which was important to us, as we were going more than 50km. to Radda in Chianti) thanks to mr. Tommaso Trallori and mr. Claudio Tanzini.
Be prepared to walk at least 10 minutes to downtown, but nice location next to Arno River.

Mr. & Mrs. Wiborg from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiborg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ambasciatori
Hotel Ambasciatori
#201 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
Palazzo Ricasoli Residence
#234 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Corona D'Italia
Hotel Corona D'Italia
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#101 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Club Florence
Hotel Club Florence
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing