We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bus tour central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #180 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

On a bus tour and it shows. Looked like great location next to the river ....but...... Ha was its only great point. That and is newly upgraded foyer. Promise of wifi but let dropping out even in the foyer computers. Beds were close to our worst euoropean experience and 43 others thought so too. Back breaking but at least with dreadful pillows to match.

Breakfast poorly received, cold each day, self service coffee ( worse than airline quality).

Security, well jus wander up to reception and ask for an extra key, just handed over. Find your bags left outside your room. Very poor. Don't open your windows for the wave of mosquitoes but then again it had a lovely reception area.

Drinks at the ground floor bar fair price but you certainly wouldn't eat here after the breakfast experience.

Long walk, but worth it to some good local restaurants. 4/10

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank RogerAliSophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 615 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Like the last reviewer, we stayed as part of the Riviera Florence and Tuscany tour. Beautiful lobby, good bar and rooms to a good standard (at least ours was) with sheets changed daily (despite their assurances that we could leave our towels on the rack and not waste water/energy in daily laundry services). A little strange to have no drawers in the bedroom, just open shelving. Bathroom was modern with both a wall and a rain shower. Food was only available in the 'buffet' and definitely underwhelming in all respects. I would expect the largest 4-star hotel in Florence (according to its own literature) to have a 4-star restaurant, not the self-service cafeteria-style effort, with only a Bistro next door that, in itself, was probably 3-star. To be fair, the key issue was not the staff's fault, and when asked they did provide immediate service to let us into our rooms on the first night/next morning. The hotel is also a very long walk from the city centre when you are at the end of an exhausting day sight-seeing and the temps are in the mid- to upper-30s, particularly when one is not as young as one would prefer. It is definitely a hotel for the bus tours, so very busy and at times quite noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here as 1st part of a Riviera travel Tuscany tour. Hotel was too far away from the centre of Florence. With temperatures in the 30's after a busy morning tour the 30 minute walk to the town centre was too far. In the evening it was too much effort to return to town, there was a restaurant next door "Outside" which was expensive and very poor value. There were no other convenient restaurants. We ended up eating at a snack bar on the banks of the Arno river which was very pleasant, but hardly a gourmet experience.
Room was adequate but plumbing was suspect and due to a computer failure there were no working room keys!! Asking about an upgrade to a room on a high floor with views of the river was quoted as costing 80 euros per night extra. We didn't upgrade.
Now to breakfast. Fruit juice came in 3 colours, orange, red and yellow. All were ghastly, sour and not tasting of fruit and no indications of what they were supposed to be. Cooked breakfast was the same every day and consisted of cold scrambled egg and cold greasy fatty undercooked bacon. Croissants were too sweet and bread did not taste fresh.
AVOID.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdhor2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

All the money for this hotel was spent in the foyer. My daughter and I got to our room and it is tired and dated. You can't shower properly without flooding the bathroom and our bathroom was filled with bugs and insects and we had to have it sprayed before we could use it. The reception staff are also very rude. Will never recommend this place. If I could give it zero stars I would. It certainly isn't the 4 star hotel it says it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a very good hotel. Its location is off the beaten path, maybe a 15-20 minute walk from downtown. This didn't bother us one bit though. It kept us away from most of the tourist areas and tour groups. Around the hotel were a bunch of great places that more locals than tourists visit. This was a big plus for us. We saw that some people complained that the rooms were small. But most of these people were part of tour groups. We came here on our own, no tour. We had a very nice room. Modern double room that was above the European average size at a very reasonable price. They had a hot breakfast which for anyone who has been through most of Europe will know only comes with higher priced hotels. Don't listen to the negatives posted here and come here on your own. Tour groups are not the way to see Florence, along with most of Europe. The staff was great as well. Would definitely stay here again if we found ourselves in Florence.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room, we booked from the U.S. and prices were very reasonable. Ours was very nicely siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAshton625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Somebody I saw writing about eggs in breakfaest, but I saw not only here but around Europa, each time worst, than the last one, but in this hotel, a good service, Near Torre de la Zecca Veccchia, at one side of Arno Florence river, only few minutes walking to Duomo and Museo del Uffizi. I love it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank preciado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is extremely beautiful, with a spacious and modern lobby and classy decor.The rooms were beautiful and extremely clean with very comfortable beds. However they were very small and cramped. Location is good, only about a ten minute walk to town center. Service was decent but could have been friendlier; one employee laughed at me for not being able to speak Italian. Other than that, this hotel was great and I would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#38 of 410 in Florence
856 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
Pitti
Pitti Palace al Ponte Vecchio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
C-Hotels Ambasciatori
#220 of 410 in Florence
210 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#105 of 410 in Florence
957 reviews
B&B Hotel Firenze City Center
#270 of 410 in Florence
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $89 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing