We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance from David and Restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #194 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a great hotel. Whilst there were some upgrades being carried out in reception for new shops, we found this hotel very nice. Friendly efficient staff on reception and the rooms were immaculately clean and fresh. After a long touring trip with Trafalgar Tours we were delighted when we entered the room after having various hotels and standards throughout Italy. Breakfast choices were excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a lovely 4th floor room at the front of the hotel, with a beautifully fitted bathroom. The foyer was always busy with lots of groups coming and going, but there was always space in the dining room for the buffet breakfast which had a good selection. Staff were friendly and helpful and the only slightly negative comment is that the rooms could be better soundproofed.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wrighty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We really like this hotel. It's in process of being upgraded so it will probably only get better. We were on the 3rd floor. The room was large w/ modern fixtures and the bath was amazing. Had a tub (which my wife loved) and all modern fixtures - looked brand new! The wireless in the room was perfect. Our package included breakfast, which was amazing by Italian standards. My only suggestion would be to cook up pots of coffee for the Americans - the little espresso machine couldn't keep up - otherwise, the food was great. It's a little further out from center, but a nice location - we like walking! Regardless of what we did - at the end of each day/evening it was a nice walk back along the river - even in the rain! If you're coming in by train, or at station, and are using the buses - take #14 - ask the hotel which stops.
Nay Sayers: We've traveled a bit... this is a good hotel for what we paid!

Room Tip: We had perfect wireless in our 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalPoly_SLO-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here on our Gate1 tour of Venice-Florence-Rome. The hotel is within walking distance of the Ponte Vecchio and the Museums. It is about 20 -25 minutes to walk to the old bridge. This hotel had comfortable beds, a decent breakfast, good service, and is adjacent to the Arno River. We had a pleasant stay and have nothing to complain about, however, I'm not sure that I would stay here again. I would probably opt to stay closer to Piazza del Duomo, Giotto's Bell Tower, or the Battistero. Again, this is a nice hotel, in a very good location, but it isn't the best location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europeantraveler0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great hotel! The location was perfect for walking along the Arno River. The rooms are bigger than average and the service is great. We were always greeted with a smile and the staff were very helpful when we asked for directions. There is a restaurant next to the hotel which is a great place to sit down and relax after a long day. The hotel is walking distance to the Uffizi Gallery and to Ponte Vecchio. If you decide to take the bus to Ponte Vecchio, you can purchase your bus ticket at the front desk. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hab02026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am usually a pretty positive guy, but this was the worst hotel on our two week vacation in Italy and I would NOT recommend it.

The lobby has possibilities, but is undergoing renovations at this time.

The rooms are small - very small, as are the bathrooms. At 71 I don't have an abundance of hair, but the hair dryer took forever!

The hotel was not ideally located for the price they charge. It is on the Arno River but is a 9 - 10 euro cab ride (or 20 minute walk) to the San Croce Piazza.

The worst was the restaurant. Our tour had dinner there one evening - a buffet. The food was just okay and our group was given chocolate mousse for dessert. During our meal they brought out some tiramisu and someone at our table went and picked one up. Thinking it was part of the buffet I went to get one also when a surly and very rude waiter put his arms up to stop me and said, "not for your group - for other group". I could understand two deserts for the two groups but his attitude was so boorish it spoiled the meal - and the hotel stay.

Sorry to have to write a bad review.

Room Tip: We had a friend who by lottery had a corner room which was large enough to open a suitcase. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel through expedia.com package and the deal seemed reasonable. The location is not bad, not too far from the attractions but remotely enough to avoid the street noise. We were disappointed with the room, though - quite dark with uncomfortable beds. Very basic breakfast, horrible coffee (we're in Italy, common) and a long wait during checking in/checking out. Overall, we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OksanaM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
835 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,317 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 409 in Florence
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#118 of 409 in Florence
263 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#101 of 409 in Florence
939 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $86 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing