We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hotel a bit removed from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #195 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is a large, modern hotel a good 15 minute walk from Florence's center. As other reviewers have stated, it caters to large tour groups, which is why our 46 member group was booked there. Breakfast was included and had the greatest variety of the places we stayed, though the coffee was terrible. Rooms were very clean and quiet, the beds comfortable The desk staff were helpful with getting us reservations for the Uffizzi at a minimal charge of 2 Euros for the trouble.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marie-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a large hotel which is situated just across the road from the Arno river. It caters for large numbers of tour groups mostly from USA, China and Japan but the others were well represented by British and Italians. The rooms are cleaned daily with a full change of towels and bedding and the bathroom is well appointed. There is a large restaurant that is divided between catering the tours and the others and a smaller restaurant that does a buffet evening meal and a bar that serves a reasonable level of food. The staff are helpful and speak English. The hotel is a little removed from the cultural centre but a walk along the Arno will take you directly to the Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery and just across the river is the climb up to the viewpoint of Piazza Michaelangelo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Part of our 12 day tour was 2 nights at the Mediterraneo. Nothing great but it is a comfortable, clean hotel in the mix of things. Rooms were small by American standards but clean and well decorated. Breakfast was ample for anyone, beverages, pastries, eggs, cereal. Rooms were cleaned well and staff very courteous. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lincolnls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel was fine but after I had read the reviews before our trip, I decided to upgrade our room. Very glad we did because most people on the tour were very disappointed in there rooms. Very Very small. Average staff especially the front desk. Good location. Breakfast was average

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade your room if you are on a tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Trafalgar tour.

The vast majority of the business is tour groups. But it's a perfectly fine hotel. The rooms were not large by American standards, but were fine (for some reason we had both a king and a twin in our room). The bathroom won't win any awards, but it was fine too. We actually had a window looking out onto a lovely courtyard. Overall clean and well maintained, with functioning free internet.

Bar was fine, though service was slow. Breakfast was fine as well.

Nothing extraordinarily good or bad. Main appeal is location... it's literally in the heart of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Klomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Nice hotel and the staff were lovely. Our room was a great size and very spacious. There was three of us in a triple room and we had lots of room to move and spread out. Breakfast was nice and the variety was great. Very busy when we were there so I would recommend getting in early to eat. Would definitely stay again if we were to visit.

Room Tip: Top floors seem to be the more spacious rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms were cramped unlike the size of hotel. Breakfast was very average with no great spread.
We had ordered food on room service for our kids and they took hours to deliver it! When called to check the status, they said there was no such order and when we complained to the staff at the frontdesk, she was rude and argued with us! Left a very bad taste overall....

Room Tip: Stay away from this place. It is full of group travellers coming in bus load....and staff treats as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UshRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 409 in Florence
3,315 reviews
Starhotels Tuscany
#106 of 409 in Florence
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
c-hotels Diplomat
c-hotels Diplomat
#121 of 409 in Florence
263 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel River
Hotel River
#100 of 409 in Florence
939 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo

Address: Lungarno del Tempio 42/44, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $86 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Mediterraneo is situated in a strategic position, just 5 minutes walking to Piazza Santa Croce, 10 minutes to Michelangelo Square, 10 minutes to Uffizi Gallery or to the famous Ponte Vecchio but in the same time outside of the limited traffic zone of Florence;Easy to reach by car from the motorway A1 exit Firenze Sud.The hotel overlooks the Arno River, where it's possible to run or cycling.Services available:331 rooms, with Suite, Junior suite , Panorami Deluxe, superior and classic rooms; Restaurants; Bar terrace; Congress Center; Large and confortable Hall; Wi-fi in all the hotel, private garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your FH Grand Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing