We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Delightful Hotel; Center of Everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bernini Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #30 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming and Delightful Hotel; Center of Everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We would definitely go back to this hotel when visiting Florence again. Not only was it within a stone's throw of EVERY major site in Florence, but the service was amazing and the room was exquisite and well appointed. It was definitely priced right.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducklingsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you’ll come and visit us on another occasion.
Kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    258
    54
    28
    13
See reviews for
209
611
40
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here during our recent honeymoon and the hotel wasn't all that great. The best things about the hotel were the location and the wi-fi connection. The location was AWESOME and close to everywhere we needed to go. The wi-fi was fast and you didn't have to log-in more than once. Other than that, the hotel looks as if they started to renovate but then stopped on the first level. Everything is really outdated and needs a face lift. Our bed was two twin beds pushed together with 1 sheet over it which really wasn't comfortable for us to be next to each other. Also the water in our sink and the tub would not drain properly and it was like being in a pool of dirty water with every shower. I went down and complained but it was NEVER fixed. The guy came up and basically brushed it off. I would not stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissafadipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We would highly recommend the Bernini Palace Hotel as it was so luxurious and matched Florence's beauty perfectly. The location could not have been any better and lent itself to a wonderful feel of stepping out right in the middle of all the action.
Our superior room was magnificent with chandeliers and opulent finest Italian linens.The breakfast was generous and served in an impressive room. We enjoyed the splendid bar area and my son loved all the biscuits and Easter eggs that were served complimentary. We had our dinner at La Chiostrina on our last evening and it was one of the best meals we had in Florence.
Aside from the beauty of the hotel itself; the staff were all incredible and helped to make our holiday one to remember for which we thank each and everyone of them for.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and awarding us five stars. It will be a pleasure to share your compliments about our superb hotel with my team and we look forward to welcome you back,
kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My spouse and I stayed here for three nights and have to say it's one of the best locations in Florence. Almost neighbours with the Uffizi Gallery, close to the Duomo, and all the other sites to see in Florence. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. One lovely young lady at the front desk was kind enough to share information for her hometown of Catania, Sicily where we would soon be headed. To top it off...when we arrived at our hotel in Catania there was a note from her wishing us a wonderful time in Sicily. The rooms were clean, comfortable and luxurious. The service in the restaurant was above reproach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOxner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post . I’m delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here at The Bernini and I will be more than pleased to share your compliments with my team. We hope you’ll treat yourselves to another stay soon.

With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was wonderful and the price was great. We had four rooms for five days and each was one lovely. The rooms were clean, bright, spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was excellent. Great value & great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback. I’m delighted you enjoyed your time with us here at The Bernini and I hope you’ll treat yourselves to another stay soon.

With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

A glorious five days spent in Florence at Bernini Palace. We enjoyed it for its location, and great bar! And helpful staff of course. We loved Florence and look forward to returning to this living museum. As mentioned, great location, some wonderful restaurants nearby, plenty of naked statues, and the breakfasts fantastic. We didn't stay on any deal as other reviewers did, sadly, so it's fairly expensive, but I felt it worth it.
Happy days and thanks trip advisor.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and for awarding us five stars. I’m delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here at The Bernini and I hope you’ll treat yourselves to another stay soon.
kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, England
Level Contributor
295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having stayed in Florence on many ocassions and after much deliberating, we decided on the Bernini for its location. Also we were taking advantage of a 'deal' with British Airways.
Frankly, there is not enough space to do a fully comprehensive report here, and suffice it to say, separate correspondence will be going to BA and to the General Manager direct. The location is the best part about this establishment. The breakfast room ceiling the close second... and that's about it for me I am afraid. We got the distinct impression that as we were part of a deal, we were allocated one of the smallest, cheapest rooms in the hotel. The electrics were hit and miss, the air conditioning had a will of its own, TV also: and the bathroom was bizarre. Three steep steps to get down with the light switch at the bottom of the steps. High gloss tiled floors- highly dangerous, insufficient shelf area and a shower that was incredibly difficult to get in and out of with a shower head that had never been descaled, consequently the water sprayed all over the area instead of downwards. The towels were replaced on an ad hoc basis and our face flannels were never replaced after the first day. Bed linen was great, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast although plentiful, (and the best cappucino I have had for years,) on three successive mornings a request for a boiled egg of 4 minutes failed to materialise and on one ocassion a wait nearly 15 minutes for a raw egg. Notwithstanding this, a charge was still made for each day for something that was inedible!.
The scrambled eggs were always stone cold, and on this basis we decided that we would be taking a huge chance by eating in the dining room restaurant.
Senior staff were quite rude, (juniors the complete opposite) and seemed unwilling to go the extra inch let alone mile to help out with anything. (Details will be in the letter). For a five star hotel the answers should be to any request, 'yes - we will try, or that is not a problem we will see what we can do' before 'no' ... just because clients are staying on a 'deal' basis I do not see why the service should be compromised, which is how we felt.
The room service was erratic, it was evident that staff were not liaising with each other about anything. One evening we had no 'turn down service' at all.
The hotel is resting on its laurels I feel, the stair carpet looks disgusting in parts and could do with an industrial cleaner on it, the brass hand rails are in need of a clean underneath... yuK!
Despite this, we had a good break, in what is my favourite city ... but would we go there again,probably not, or until at least the management have had some PR training.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#19 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#10 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#24 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing