We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heart of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #34 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was wonderful and the price was great. We had four rooms for five days and each was one lovely. The rooms were clean, bright, spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was excellent. Great value & great location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback. I’m delighted you enjoyed your time with us here at The Bernini and I hope you’ll treat yourselves to another stay soon.

With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

A glorious five days spent in Florence at Bernini Palace. We enjoyed it for its location, and great bar! And helpful staff of course. We loved Florence and look forward to returning to this living museum. As mentioned, great location, some wonderful restaurants nearby, plenty of naked statues, and the breakfasts fantastic. We didn't stay on any deal as other reviewers did, sadly, so it's fairly expensive, but I felt it worth it.
Happy days and thanks trip advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and for awarding us five stars. I’m delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us here at The Bernini and I hope you’ll treat yourselves to another stay soon.
kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having stayed in Florence on many ocassions and after much deliberating, we decided on the Bernini for its location. Also we were taking advantage of a 'deal' with British Airways.
Frankly, there is not enough space to do a fully comprehensive report here, and suffice it to say, separate correspondence will be going to BA and to the General Manager direct. The location is the best part about this establishment. The breakfast room ceiling the close second... and that's about it for me I am afraid. We got the distinct impression that as we were part of a deal, we were allocated one of the smallest, cheapest rooms in the hotel. The electrics were hit and miss, the air conditioning had a will of its own, TV also: and the bathroom was bizarre. Three steep steps to get down with the light switch at the bottom of the steps. High gloss tiled floors- highly dangerous, insufficient shelf area and a shower that was incredibly difficult to get in and out of with a shower head that had never been descaled, consequently the water sprayed all over the area instead of downwards. The towels were replaced on an ad hoc basis and our face flannels were never replaced after the first day. Bed linen was great, and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast although plentiful, (and the best cappucino I have had for years,) on three successive mornings a request for a boiled egg of 4 minutes failed to materialise and on one ocassion a wait nearly 15 minutes for a raw egg. Notwithstanding this, a charge was still made for each day for something that was inedible!.
The scrambled eggs were always stone cold, and on this basis we decided that we would be taking a huge chance by eating in the dining room restaurant.
Senior staff were quite rude, (juniors the complete opposite) and seemed unwilling to go the extra inch let alone mile to help out with anything. (Details will be in the letter). For a five star hotel the answers should be to any request, 'yes - we will try, or that is not a problem we will see what we can do' before 'no' ... just because clients are staying on a 'deal' basis I do not see why the service should be compromised, which is how we felt.
The room service was erratic, it was evident that staff were not liaising with each other about anything. One evening we had no 'turn down service' at all.
The hotel is resting on its laurels I feel, the stair carpet looks disgusting in parts and could do with an industrial cleaner on it, the brass hand rails are in need of a clean underneath... yuK!
Despite this, we had a good break, in what is my favourite city ... but would we go there again,probably not, or until at least the management have had some PR training.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel immensely during our 8-night stay in room 314 facing the interior away from the street. High room ceilings, separate rooms for the bath/toilet and the vanity/sink/closet, ultra-fast and free wi-fi, outstanding breakfast (wide selection of food including organic and great service) in a beautifully appointed spacious ballroom, and very helpful front desk staff. Both the C1 (recently re-routed to include the Termini) and C2 small bus lines stop nearby making for easy public transportation to and from the Termini, the Academy/San Marco, the tourist information center on Via Cavour, San Lorenzo, the Duomo complex, and other sights. (Buy the tickets at a Tabac shop nearby for 1.2 euros each). As others have noted, within easy walking distance to many of the major sights.

Room Tip: Rooms that do not face the street will eliminate street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank United2millionmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so convenient. We do hope you will all come and stay with us again soon.

With kind regardsDavid Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

A beautiful character hotel in a wonderful central posistion within walking distance of most of the major sites. A twenty minute taxi ride from Florence airport with a set charge of 20 euros plus one euro for each suitcase.

My wife and I stayed in one of the hotels classic rooms(cheapest), which was tastefully decorated with antique furnishings and a spectacular central chandeller. The bed was king sized and comfortable with pure linen sheets and pillow cases. The en suite shower room was a little on the small side but adequate, with a varied array of complementary quality toiletries. There were no tea or coffee making facilities within the room. A turned down service each night was in operation and used towels were replaced in the shower room and a small casket of chocolates were left on the bed, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was buffet style, served in a large room with a spectacular frescord ceiling. Breakfast itself offered a large and varied menu, suitable for all tastes and was of a good standard. Hot drinks were severed to you table by staff and a replacement pot of tea or coffee was offered if required.

To sum up. This is an excellent hotel with outstanding staff that put their guests first, as nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well-presented including the public areas and corridors. Could not fault anything.

I would wholeheartledly recommend this hotel if visisting Florence.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and choosing to stay with us on your trip to Florence. I’m delighted to hear that you liked your room and enjoyed our breakfast in the historical Sala Del Parlamento. Your compliments on our style and amazing service are really appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
David Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

One could not find a better hotel for location, professional yet friendly staff and comfort. You are steps away from everything in Florence. Enzo will take care of your tour needs. Franco, Bart and Simone will remember your cocktail order and be on hand to greet you at breakfast. I'm not sure which I will miss more - the city of Florence or the hotel and staff. Thanks for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pisces132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Bernini Palace Hotel. Your kind compliments regarding the great service are very much appreciated, and the team can't wait to welcome you back for our return visit!
David Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Bernini was a beautifully appointed hotel, and situated within short walking distance to basically everything! 10 -15 minutes walks to the Duomo, Medici Palace, the market, the Oltrarno neighborhood, the Academia, and 3 minutes to the Ufffizi. Breakfast was excellent with many choices of fresh foods and cooked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your post and choosing to stay with us ft. It was a pleasure to read your review and we hope you’ll visit us again soon.

With kind regards
David Foschi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#15 of 410 in Florence
1,288 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,833 reviews
Duomo
Palazzo Vecchietti Suites and Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#6 of 410 in Florence
620 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#27 of 410 in Florence
1,037 reviews
Hotel Lungarno
#11 of 410 in Florence
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#29 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $271 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing