We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bernini Palace Hotel
Ranked #32 of 420 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best...”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

If you want to stay in the centre of Florence and you crave great service in beautiful surroundings, then the Hotel Bernini is the one to choose. A 15th century palace, minutes’ walk away from many major attractions, such as the Uffizi, the Duomo and the Ponte Vecchio.
The hotel is kept in immaculate condition by a charming, warm and friendly team of cleaning staff, who always acknowledge guests and cannot be more helpful.
The Breakfast room is the most amazing setting, beautifully decorated with a frescoed ceiling and historically a meeting place for members of the Italian Parliament. The Breakfast staff lives up to the splendour of the surroundings and provide an exceptional service. Attentive but not intrusive, they are a quiet presence that is a delight. That service carries to the bar, where the elegant barman, Franco, is on hand to cater for all requests. Yet again, a seamless and seemingly effortless service that sums up the whole culture of the hotel.
Reception staff are charming and there is that lovely Italian chaotic activity that ebbs and flows.
In summary, a most excellent hotel, the only thing to change is the printer in the guest area, which is far from efficient. Sorry if this sounds like an official travel review but the hotel deserves the recognition from the guests.
Recommended days out from the hotel, that can be arranged at reception if you pay in cash, are the Cinque Terre (5 fishing villages perched on the rugged coastline) and a taste of Tuscany - Sienna, Pisa and lunch and wine tasting at a winery). Two full days out at a reasonable cost with experienced guides such as Amadeus and Fabrizio, with pick up from the hotel in the morning and drop off at the bus station.
Please stay in this hotel – it is FAB!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post which I really enjoyed reading. We are proud of the service and standards we offer here at The Bernini and I will certainly pass on your compliments to our team I’m delighted we are your hotel of choice for Florence, sorry for the inconvenience of the printer.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    265
    54
    29
    14
See reviews for
212
632
45
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

First of all, this hotel has perhaps the best location of any hotel in Florence. We've been to florence twice before and being in the center of everything fundamentally changes the experience.

The hotel itself is very nice as well -- rooms are reasonable and very well decorated. Breakfast is good. What really sets the hotel apart, though, is its service.

In the course of a three-day stay, we had probably half a dozen complicated requests, including weird checkout arrangements, getting extra keys and special keys, and more. They reasonably could have said no to any of them.

The service -- in particular, Massimo at the front desk -- was absolutely spectacular. Bent over backwards to work with us and accommodate our needs. We've traveled a fair bit and rarely if ever encountered service as good as this. We're big fans and we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klonimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay, you appreciated our central location and our services.
Our staff has been more than pleased to assist you.
We look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for three night me, my wife and my two kids.
The 1st moment you got in, you feel how important you are to tho hotel staff, it was really an amazing attitude, the receptionist went with us to the rooms to make sure we like :)
The location was beyond perfect, you are in the middle of the beautiful Florence, make you feels the love in every corner
Rooms are so nice
For a 4 Starr hotel, it worth an excellent review

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SALEISSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Madame,
thank you very much for your nice words.
We are proud of our precious Palace so we are really pleased to learn that you appreciated it.
Our Staff has been more than pleased to assist you,
We look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We found this hotel via tripadvisor itself so thank you. Our trip to Florence was one of rest and recuperation after a difficult time and we wanted everything to be as easy as possible. This hotel is in a great location and easy to get to from the train station. It's near to the Duomo and the Uffizi and only a short walk to the river and the beautiful covered bridge. The rate included breakfast and we were very happy with what was offered in the inclusive rate. The pastries and the hot bacon and cold meats are all lovely and there are various juices and cereals as well. It made life a lot easier than finding an open cafe early in the morning every day.
The only thing that worried me slightly when we arrived at the hotel was that we were then informed that the restaurant was closed for 2 weeks. I'd have really liked to have been told about this when we booked. I realise we went off season but we weren't really up to any hassle and it took the shine off a little. On the plus side though the barman at the hotel bar was really good at suggesting places nearby to go for dinner though and this helped a lot.
I've read the reviews that say there were no tea and coffee facilities in the rooms or water but in my experience that’s normal for European hotels. The tea/coffee thing seems to be a very British thing I think. The staff were so nice I suspect that if you ask for this they would try to arrange it. There are a few little supermarkets nearby where you can pick up water.
The room we had was near the back of the hotel on the 4th floor and overlooked a small courtyard. It was quiet and was really spacious, the bed was comfy and everything was very clean with a lovely tiled floor. The bathroom was big and the shower was over the bath but did what it said on the tin although there was a small leak from the shower door onto the floor which I'm glad we spotted otherwise we'd have slipped. The only other thing was the air conditioning doesn't really work and the room we had was very warm even in February when the temperature outside didn't get above 14 degrees c. One tip I would give if you are anything like us and think oh well we'll just leave the window open - don't. We forgot that midgies are around all year round and ended up with a few bites. Our own fault though. Although, if we were to go back I'd check about air conditioning.
The best thing about this hotel is the staff, who are very welcoming and friendly. On check in the receptionist sorted everything out with my husband and then showed us to our room herself and made sure we were happy and a porter brought our bags up for us. The barman at the hotel bar was particularly lovely and willing to chat and point out the best places to go and things to see. He's an absolute star. The bar area is beautifully set out with comfy chairs and low tables and we succumbed to the lure of a night cap a couple of times, mostly due to the service and welcome we received. I was also tempted into the hot chocolate which arrived in a large silver jug and is served with various shorbread biscuits. It tasted exactly like molten chocolate - just the thing to salve a girl's wounds.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms towards the back of the hotel on a floor that's above street level as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Bernini Palace Hotel.
We are happy to learn that you appreciated our location and our breakfast in the amazing Sala del Parlamento.
Unfortunately during your stay the restaurant has been closed for some maintenance, we re-opened it in one week. We hope you will have the opportunity to try our menu as soon as possible.
Our Staff has been more than pleased to assist you,
we look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were expecting more from the Bernini Palace Hotel.

The good points are location, location, location.

However, small things let it down, like charging extras for breakfast for squeezed orange juice, porridge, eggs, I mean come on, it is breakfast and the room rate includes breakfast which should encompass all breakfast items and not be penny pinching charging extra. However the breakfast food quality was below par, so would not have paid extra for these items.

We got the impression that the management of the hotel were penny pinchers, so it didn't exude the luxury we expected from a 4* hotel.

The internet code had to be re-entered which is annoying. No tea or coffee facilities or water in the room.

Recommend rooms away from street level as the noise outside does reach the hotel and can be annoying.

Not sure if we would go back to the Bernini we were expecting luxury and it didn't deliver.

However, the staff are super friendly at the hotel and cannot make any negatives regarding the staff.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from street level and at the back of the hotel, the noise does carry and seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blink99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A colleague suggested this hotel and he was right. its in the center of everything very walkable, clean with a great breakfast, helpful staff and well kept. we were able to walk to all the great sites, from duomo to uffizzi, and the hotel was able to make our reservations for us. couldn't have been easier.....

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front for the view but make sure you dont mind a little street noise until 10...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice words.
We are happy to learn you appreciated our central location, our rooms and our services.
We look forward to welcome you again,

David Foschi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We drove from Rome to Florence on December 26th without a reservation and plugged the US Consulate into the GPS. That ended up being a great random point to start in Florence because it put us right in front of the Bernini Palace Hotel. They had rooms available and we spent three of the best night you could have imagined in Florence. The Hotel was right near the Uffizi Museum and Piazza della Signoria. It was walking distance to all of the major points in the city and had great service. The staff was courteous and helpful. The consigner was thorough, knowledgeable, helpful and detail oriented. They truly made our stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishpat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluadvance, Direttore at Bernini Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your precious feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you again at the Bernini Palace Hotel we remain,

With best regards,

David Foschi - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
Golden Tower Hotel & Spa
#14 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
#21 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#22 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
The St. Regis Florence
The St. Regis Florence
#9 of 420 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#26 of 420 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernini Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernini Palace Hotel

Property: Bernini Palace Hotel
Address: Piazza di San Firenze 29, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bernini Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 15th century “Palazzo”, the Hotel Bernini is built according to the Classic Florentine architectural style, with string-course cornices along the walls and wooden shutters giving it a charming antique flavor. The Bernini Palace is located in Florence’s historic center, right behind Piazza della Signoria - just a stone’s throw from the Uffizi and Florence’s main historical attractions. The rooms are 74, Classic, Superior, Deluxe, Junior Suite and Suite, all are fitted out with the best, most up-to-date mod-cons and still preserve the charm of the past. The Tuscan Floor is reminiscent of old world Tuscan colours and themes, very warm and inviting. The new restaurant La Chiostrina is located in a historical courtyard of the hotel, it is the ideal place for delicious gastronimic specialities in Florence, its versatility makes it an excellent restaurant offering an innovative menu. A full breakfast is served in the magnificent Sala Parlamento (complete with a splendid frescoed ceiling) formerly a meeting place for members of Parliament and Senators of the Kingdom of Italy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bernini Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernini Palace By Baglioni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing